We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10%Discount April to June
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wow what to say about this place... My new husband summed it up nicely when he said if he was shooting a movie called Paradise then the opening scene would be Waterlovers! We just had a three night stay after a weeks safari in Kenya and have now come on to mauritios. Where we are staying now is a very luxury 5 star resort with an incredible huge suite however I sit here missing Waterlovers and wish we were still there, especially for Christmas! The place is so comfortable and homely, you are made to feel that nothing is too much to ask, it is intimate and perfect. The view from our sitting area outside our cottage was breathtaking. The beach is so clean with gorgeous sand and clear waters.

I loved our room, the whole place is proper luxury but with the rustic feel that I love. It is beautiful without being pretentious. A lot of time and care has been taken by Riccardo and Valentina the wonderful owners who live in one of the villas there. They are very welcoming and the personal touches were very much appreciated. The staff were all wonderful and the overall experience was as perfect as it could be.

I see other reviews mention not having a lot to do. Yes you can very easily stare into the ocean all day but there is lots on offer to do and information in the room shows you the options if you want them. There is a fabulous lady in the hotel next door who does massages and beauty treatments in her salon hut where you hear the ocean whilst being pampered!

People also have put in their reviews about the beach boys hassling them. This is not at fault of Waterlovers and should be written in reviews of Diani beach rather than of the hotel! A very firm 'no we are not looking to buy today' will get rid of them but if you let them they will follow you down the beach making conversation before then showing you what they are selling. Having dinner at the Alibaba is a must do when staying here it is a gorgeous cave restaurant!

I can write all day about how much I loved this hotel but stay for yourself and see it for yourself and you will understand!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Wowowooooo!
This is by far one of the best comments we ever had!
Cannot find the words to thank you enough for your appreciation,
....and for taking the time to write it down in such a nice way and in detail.
We wish you all the best for your new life together.
We'll always keep a special place for you at Waterlovers and...
Happy new year too!
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Waterlovers and were sad to leave. The small boutique feel is quite nice, making it a private romantic place to unwind. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, and the beach has a variety of chairs and hanging beds to swing from. This is a great place to relax and enjoy time with your loved ones. The food was also excellent, all freshly made daily with local ingredients. They have some water sports options, but we stuck to the swinging chairs!!

Room Tip: We had the Lion, which was upstairs and had a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
we're also heppy we had the chance to meet you.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic place to wind down and relax. The rooms were fantastic and when I asked them if they could turn the mattress they did more than that and changed it!
Staff, especially in the restaurant were really friendly and the ground staff were always working to keep the the place spotless. They would run and help you move a sun bed.....
There is plenty to do if you wish to and also different places to sit and relax and just watch the activities on the beach. These were quite amusing.... A bit annoying when you go onto the beach, but a clear 'no' is usually all it takes. But i would say this was the only negative for us....If you do decide to purchase, then bargain, at least half the original cost. A visit to the market passage at the side of the hotel is worth a visit, if you do want some artifacts, but again, bargain! The hotel can organise various trips to the sand bank and beyond and it is great to have kayaks and snorkelling equipment freely available. All in all, a super relaxing end to our 'honeymoon'. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for these very beautifull words,
it makes us love our job everyday.
We'll try to improve our hospitality more and more,
hoping to be able to host you again.

All the best from
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is simply paradise. The hotel is small and luxurious, and the service it top quality in every aspect of the hotel from porter to management - even to the extent that they anticipate what the guests may want/wish for and provide it.
Everybody at Waterlovers went that much further to make over stay there memorable and unique.
Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved having the lower room in the bungalows, but really all rooms are fab. All have see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
We're really happy to read your nice feedback,
it gives us the energy to improve more and more!
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and spent 6 nights at Water Lovers after safaring in the Masai Mara and we are so glad we did! This is something I would highly recommend, any Safari trip should be accompanied by some r&r at the beach. From the moment we walked into the Water Lovers resort we fell in love with it, the setting and environment is perfect. There is tremendous attention to detail in the rooms with hand craved ornaments, door nobs and statues in every room. We thought the food was delicious and pass this onto the pass and on our last day they presented us with a beautiful recipe book. One of the aspects we loved the most was the intimate feel of the place, making it a perfect getaway for couples. Even though it was fully occupied throughout most of our stay it never felt crowed, in fact most of the time it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. To add to this the owners and the staff were all lovely.
My only word of warning would be to watch out for the monkeys, they can smell a banana from a mile away so don't leave any fruits unattended :)

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put this great comment,
we really enjoyed to meet you (also the monkeys did!)
Hope to see you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after attending a 3 day wedding in Nairobi ie just what the doctor ordered. Super relaxing and stress free. Lots of r +r - Very lazy days with no guilt!
Stunning setting. Attention to detail throughout was amazing especially with all the bespoke furniture. Run by a lovely couple who had the right balance of friendliness without being in any way intrusive. Staff were also so friendly and v professional.You can borrow the kayaks and go snorkelling out at the sand banks only 10min rowing!! Then back for some well deserved tuskers! We found the food to be excellent so we didn't bother leaving water lovers as nothing nicer than wandering down for dinner barefoot! Most of all we loved the size of this resort....small and intimate!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave this beautifull feedback,
it's been nice to meet you, and hope to see you again.
You'll always be welcome here
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After 3 nights in Nairobi followed by 10 nights in tented camps, we were extremely happy to find ourselves at one of the most beautiful locations on earth - Waterlovers Beach Resort. The rooms are lovely, the view is unbeatable, but most important the staff and owners are attentive and helpful. Put all of this together and you have an ideal beach resort. We ate breakfast and lunch at the resort but ventured out for dinner every night. The owners gave us dinner recommendations while the manager made reservations and ordered a taxi for our group of 6. I gave the resort 5 stars but I would increase the rating to 7 stars if the rooms had a small frig and a hot pot for coffee/tea.

TIP: Get up early and enjoy the sunrise - it was stunning.

I want to address a couple of the concerns that other reviewers have voiced. One reviewer said that there was "nothing to do". We found lots to do - people watching, reading a great novel, kayaking, swimming, long walks, talking to other guests from around the world, cocktails by the pool, and wonderful meals.

Regarding the beach boys and venders - we did not have any problems. We went for long walks every morning starting at sunrise. We saw a few venders on the beach at that hour but most just said Jambo. One morning I walked by myself and was approached by a couple of beach boys. I said hello, told them I was exercising and that I wanted to walk alone. Everybody was friendly and everyone let me walk alone without any harassment. We were friendly and courteous to the venders but told them that we aren't shoppers and didn't intend to buy anything. They said hello as we went to the beach but nothing more. We spend time at many beaches in developing countries and beach venders are everywhere - Diani Beach actually had relatively few venders.

Good job Ricardo and Valentina - you have a wonderful resort with fabulous staff and we hope we have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Well, don't know what to say, your comment is just beautifull!
Thanks a lot. It was really a pleasure to meet you.
This is the first time that somebody takes also the time to read and to answer to the other feedbacks.
We really appreciate it. Hope to be able to host you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and Mp3 docking station, complimentary I-Pads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone and local line, private security 24/7 etc... The boutique hotel fitures also a Spa, a small artcraft shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...Leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.