We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay here in Aug 2013.
Top things I liked :
1. The location, lovely beach front property. Could hear the waves throughout the day even in our room.
2. Good shopping nearby for curios, good supermarket nearby all at walking distance
3. Comfortable rooms, decorated with good taste
4. Lots of trees
5. Not crowded
6. Good service. One slight suggestion - the wait for some of the meals could have been shorter, but overall a very positive experience.
7. The staff was very polite and made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Thank you Waterlovers for a wonderful experience !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback and for your precious suggestion too.
It was really nice meeting you.
Hope to see you again.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
147
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights but wanted more... Perfect quiet location on the white sands of Diani beach, spacious and Swahili-style decorated rooms, good food, very helpful staff and plenty of nice little touches that make the difference when you are on holiday!

Would definitely go back again - Christian & Anna

Room Tip: We stayed in "Elephant Room" with lovely view of the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind feedback,
it was nice meeting you.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again,
since you'll always be welcome here!
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Waterlovers for 5 nights on a B&B basis to round off our honeymoon in Kenya. The private beach area is fantastic to really relax (which we appreciated as there are a significant number of hawkers on the main beach itself). There is a small pool to cool off in, and plenty of loungers and swing chairs to take your pick from. We ate lunch here every day, enjoying really fresh salads and smoothies. We also had dinner at the resort a couple of times, and it was excellent quality in a beautiful setting. The resort had a nice feel, particularly helped by Richard being so cheerful and helpful, particularly if you wanted to go kayaking, and the managers booking meals out and organising taxis for us. A fantastic way to end our honeymoon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks a lot to you for choosing us for your honeymoon,
we're really honoured to see that you enjoyed your special trip here with us.
We wish you all the best for your new life.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our 5th visit and again it was outstanding!! It still feels like a little paradise for us :-)
What more can you want then a quite, romantic and intimate place with a beautiful furnished room, good food and a very friendly staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. With views of a white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colourful local Kenyans. What more could you wish for………………like I said before: “a little paradise”. We really are able to completely relax and unwind while staying here.
Thanks Riccardo, Valentina and the rest of WL staff, we really enjoyed our stay!!!
See you ....Jet&Jack

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
The fact that you came back to stay with us again is already the biggest privilege for someone working in the hospitality. A deep thanks to our bigger supporters of all time.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WLovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited here late May and its in a lovely location on the beach. The rooms are well positioned and we had a gorgeous view of the sea. The sand is used for floor covering between the bar, restaurant and rooms, with only one wooden walkway, so you do feel as if you're on the beach. The room was a decent size with a good balcony and a good sized en-suite. The decor is very rustic and I would have preferred smoother floor tiles in the rooms that could be washed more easily, from a practical point. The staff were helpful and brought drinks to the room if asked. The manager was very nice and she made herself available by working in the dining area. It was nice to see and hear the owners young children playing as it gave the place a family feel.
There was access to snorkling equipment and a kayak and possibly more, free, so it was fun to go out to the coral reef and watch the fish, (my first time snorkelling). The staff also arranged for someone responsible, to take us out to the reef as we were beginners, in a hollowed out mango tree canoe their grandfather had made, to be recommended.
If there was anything that I didn't like it was the waterlovers branding on the bed, chairs, towels etc. and I would have liked more seafood, simple, without too many sauces. Otherwise go and have a lovely relaxing time, but watch out for the mozzies as eating is in the openair.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and for the precious advice on what to improve.
For the food the only thing we can add to your feedback is that we offer (on request),
to cook custom special meals. So to prepare something like a simple grilled fish or beef fillet, or anything simple if requested, is not a problem for us.
Hope to have the chance to host you again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simferopol, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice Hotel, beautiful designed room, excellent restaurant & food, very good service & excellent location- ocean view everywhere! Its only few steps to ocean! Its a quiet place for couples or people who would like to be face to face with Ocean. It was no animation when we were there. So its preferably for quiet rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time ti write this review.
It was really a pleasure to meet you, hope to have the priviledge to host you again in the future.
All the best.
Riccardo, Valentina and the rest of our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A good-choice place to relax fully due to limited guests capacity, which is what we liked. So, no much noise by other tourists.. you feel as if you were at home.. The food is fantastic. Having dinner at the beach, on the white sands, not bothered by anyone around was great. Beautiful premisses. Very kind local personnel. A minibar in the room would be fine. Prices could be improved -it is a bit expensive. Thank you, Valentina and Ricardo! We did have a GREAT TIME!!!
We did the correct choice - to have our holiday in Kenya and to stay at your gorgeous boutique hotel! Hope to be your guests again and soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was really nice to meet you and to have you here with us.
Your review is a great reward for our day to day work,
and we really appreciate your feedback for all the services and the rooms,
also we keep in mind your suggestions, even more appreciated since will use them to improve.
We wish you all the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and Mp3 docking station, complimentary I-Pads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone and local line, private security 24/7 etc... Come as a client...Leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.