We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still feels like a little paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10%Discount April to June
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Eindhoven
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Still feels like a little paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our 5th visit and again it was outstanding!! It still feels like a little paradise for us :-)
What more can you want then a quite, romantic and intimate place with a beautiful furnished room, good food and a very friendly staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. With views of a white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colourful local Kenyans. What more could you wish for………………like I said before: “a little paradise”. We really are able to completely relax and unwind while staying here.
Thanks Riccardo, Valentina and the rest of WL staff, we really enjoyed our stay!!!
See you ....Jet&Jack

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
The fact that you came back to stay with us again is already the biggest privilege for someone working in the hospitality. A deep thanks to our bigger supporters of all time.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WLovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited here late May and its in a lovely location on the beach. The rooms are well positioned and we had a gorgeous view of the sea. The sand is used for floor covering between the bar, restaurant and rooms, with only one wooden walkway, so you do feel as if you're on the beach. The room was a decent size with a good balcony and a good sized en-suite. The decor is very rustic and I would have preferred smoother floor tiles in the rooms that could be washed more easily, from a practical point. The staff were helpful and brought drinks to the room if asked. The manager was very nice and she made herself available by working in the dining area. It was nice to see and hear the owners young children playing as it gave the place a family feel.
There was access to snorkling equipment and a kayak and possibly more, free, so it was fun to go out to the coral reef and watch the fish, (my first time snorkelling). The staff also arranged for someone responsible, to take us out to the reef as we were beginners, in a hollowed out mango tree canoe their grandfather had made, to be recommended.
If there was anything that I didn't like it was the waterlovers branding on the bed, chairs, towels etc. and I would have liked more seafood, simple, without too many sauces. Otherwise go and have a lovely relaxing time, but watch out for the mozzies as eating is in the openair.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and for the precious advice on what to improve.
For the food the only thing we can add to your feedback is that we offer (on request),
to cook custom special meals. So to prepare something like a simple grilled fish or beef fillet, or anything simple if requested, is not a problem for us.
Hope to have the chance to host you again.
All the best
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simferopol, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very nice Hotel, beautiful designed room, excellent restaurant & food, very good service & excellent location- ocean view everywhere! Its only few steps to ocean! Its a quiet place for couples or people who would like to be face to face with Ocean. It was no animation when we were there. So its preferably for quiet rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time ti write this review.
It was really a pleasure to meet you, hope to have the priviledge to host you again in the future.
All the best.
Riccardo, Valentina and the rest of our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A good-choice place to relax fully due to limited guests capacity, which is what we liked. So, no much noise by other tourists.. you feel as if you were at home.. The food is fantastic. Having dinner at the beach, on the white sands, not bothered by anyone around was great. Beautiful premisses. Very kind local personnel. A minibar in the room would be fine. Prices could be improved -it is a bit expensive. Thank you, Valentina and Ricardo! We did have a GREAT TIME!!!
We did the correct choice - to have our holiday in Kenya and to stay at your gorgeous boutique hotel! Hope to be your guests again and soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was really nice to meet you and to have you here with us.
Your review is a great reward for our day to day work,
and we really appreciate your feedback for all the services and the rooms,
also we keep in mind your suggestions, even more appreciated since will use them to improve.
We wish you all the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the WL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just came back from that corner of the paradise, It was our second time in Waterlovers, and we had the best time ever in an hotel.
Very friendly staff and the food was excellent. Can't get tired of watching the sea from the veranda of my ocean front room, very well decorated too.
Wish these two italians a very prosperous future, since they, and all the staff, really deserve it.
Can wait to come back there...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks a lot for these fantastic words!
They give us the right energy to stay focused, and keep improving.
You'll always be welcome here.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina Sara Sole and the rest of the Waterlovers Tribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

hotel and the location is very nice but not the sevices. Rooms are not insectproof You should have everything with yourself. you will receive no help when your toothpaste of shaving cream is finished or even when you need a soap

Room Tip: hotel and the location is very nice but not the sevices. Rooms are not insectproof You should have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to write a review on TA.
Thanks also for letting us know that you like the hotel and the location.
I'll try to express our opinion about your concerns for the services.
In your email you complain that the rooms are not "insectproof".
Now nature is one of the most amazing feature here, and we're only two degrees below the equator, so we're in the middle of the subequatorial forest area.
The rooms are equipped with mosquito nets on the windows plus an extra mosquito net on all the beds (normally you don't do this at other latitudes). Still one or two insect could follow you when you open the door or when the housekeeper does. On the other side, to take care of this few cases, we clean the room twice a day, once in the morning and one in the evening when we turn down the mosquito nets and we set the room for the night. We also provide in the rooms a mosquito spray, a mosquito coil, and on your request the housekeepers can spray the room for you (some guest don't like that for their health). I'm not sure I've ever seen insect proof rooms in my life, and I'm not sure what you mean, but I can assure you that at least we care.
Thanks also for the suggestion of the thoothpaste. Infact we don't provide it in our rooms yet.
We'll think about it. It's a very good suggestion indeed.
Regarding your suggestion to the readers: "You should have everything with yourself", we just would like to make a list of few of the things that we provide in all our rooms:
we have big dispensers with liquid soap, liquid bathfoam, shampoo, body lotion, cotton buds, a jug of drinking water with 2 glasses, a bottle of mineral water (sealed), towels, beach towels, bath rubs, hairdryer, kleenex white tissues, socket adapters, and I-phone and I-pod docking station, a cellphone with a local sim card, wi-fi internet connection, an umbrella, a combination safe, a beach bag, loundry service basket, garbage bin, booklets about the enviroment (animals, plants, fishes, birds) and how to preserve it, booklets about Diani and travel in Kenya, escursions booklets, deep sea fishing brochure, insects spray, mosquito coils, a torch, a box of matches, an ashtray (smoking is possible anyway only outside in the veranda), and on departure we give as a present a recepies booklet (in case you liked our food and wish to cook it at home).
The rest unfortunately (like the shaving foam) the guest has to bring it , but for who likes to travel light, we have the luck to be just on the other side of the road from a big supermarket (Chandarana), with all the european brands for toilet or other needs, plus a well equipped farmacy just next to it. In case it's requested, we can also send one of our staff to buy it for you,
billing it in your room.
Then from the beginning of July we're opening a small shop inside the resort, were we'll try to keep other usefull travel items (like memory cards, suntan lotions, small artcraft for the souvenirs, and some nice antic from East Africa).
Hope to be able to fulfill your expectations even better at your next visit.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the rest of the Waterlovers staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Highly recommended. Went with my boyfriend for some R&R. Wonderful. Beautiful setting, well-accommodated rooms, intimate, small hotel that is very well taken care of. Right on the beautiful beach. Fun bars and restaurants in walking distance, or cheap, short taxi ride. The staff was super friendly and managers were very helpful in assisting with day trip plans and meals (and cabs to get there) elsewhere.

Restaurant at hotel was inconsistent and generally not worth the high price, especially for lunch and dinner. Bar closes very early.


Tip: the guys on the beach who are based next to the hotel selling their crafts will leave you alone once you buy something. We waited a couple days, but would suggest you buy something right away for peace during the rest of your stay when you go to and from the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo V, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this beautifull review,
your suggestions are also welcome to improve our services.
All the best.
Riccardo Valentina and the WL staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and Mp3 docking station, complimentary I-Pads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone and local line, private security 24/7 etc... The boutique hotel fitures also a Spa, a small artcraft shop, and a beach house for the watersports. Come as a client...Leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.