We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the perfect get away …….” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlovers Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waterlovers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waterlovers Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Eindhoven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Still the perfect get away …….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Still the perfect get away …….
Our memories did not disappoint us and it felt (if possible) even better than the first time last July, a bit like coming home. We travel a lot and like to try different places, but for Waterlovers we made an exception and visited it for the second time. With thanks to Valentina and Riccardo who managed to give us that special feeling again.
Like I said before : “a little paradise”: a quite, romantic and intimate place where staying is a privilege. Beautiful furnished rooms, good food and a friendly local staff, always ready to help but never being pushy. In a scenery with the white beach, the deep blue ocean, palm trees and colorful local Kenyans.
We will be back!
Jet & Jack
Eindhoven - Nederland

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks a lot for this wonderfull feedback,
next time we'll try hard to make it better!
All the best.
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We had a great time here as a family and were wonderfully looked after by Riccardo & Valentina. They helped out with every aspect of planning this trip and made it very special. My children 7 & 8 were constantly in the lovely pool as we relaxed in the beautiful little areas that are thoughtfully placed among this extremely charming resort. There was plenty of space for everyone and the rooms are very comfortable with pretty and thoughtful touches everywhere you go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Thanks a lot for this beautifull feed back,
it was very nice to meet you and be able to host your fantastic family.
It's beautifull to see people enjoying the emotions coming out from this side specila side of Africa.
All the best from
Riccardo and Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A perfect beach resort. Staff, rooms, food and drinks are all just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thanks a million for this really nice comment!! We'll remember of you as one of our best guest!
hope to see you soon again. Riccardo Valentina Sara and little Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We went for one week to Waterlovers resort and we enjoyed it A LOT! We have been traveling a lot, so we saw many hotels already... But this one is really exeptional...
I can not say one negative thing...
The rooms are big and clean, airco, supercomfortable bed, big bathroom, good shower,...
The food is great!!! Never had such a good food in a hotel... They bake their own bread, make their own pasta...
The resort itself is also amazing, it is right on the beach so actually you don't even need shoes! Even for dinner in the evening we went without shoes, wich I think was soooo nice!
The waiters are putting the tables on the beach every evenening, or one night they made our table in the tower upon the bar, where we were whole alone, so romantic :)
The service also is great, if you need something you just ask it, and they'll make sure you get it...

I'll recommend this hotel to everyone who likes small hotels and nice and calm holidays.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
This is definitely one of the most amazing reviews we got!!!
Thanks a lot for your kindness taking your time to post it!!
We keep good memories about you too.
Good life!
Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Everything is good about Waterlovers , a beautiful build with good eye for detail . great location , wonderful owners that truly make you feel special , Food is out of this world , a big thanks to chef , not only did everything taste great it also looked amazing on the table .I am sure they have the most comfortable beach sofas !! swings and beds in the world , I slept ,read , and relaxed all day with my bad back this is usually only possible for about an hour . Waterlovers has many good reviews I truly believe they deserve them all , If you are thinking of booking do it with confidence , and have fun .

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Proprietario at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Really thanks a lot for this beautyfull feedback from you!!!
It was really nice to meet you and we hope to have the honour to host you again.
With guest (and friends now) like you we can only get better!
Greetings from Riccardo Valentina Sara and Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We work in Sudan and needed to pamper ourself for a holiday break . Waterlovers was the perfect place to do so.
Riccardo and Valentina are lovely hosts. All the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. The location is superb, the hotel is just beautiful. The owners carefully decorated the hotel themself and you can tell that a lot of care and passion has been put into the design of the whole place. The result is just delightful. Just sitting at the restaurant and watching the blue of the sea you feel in heaven.
perfect place to relax and get away from all!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it. Have a nice Christmas.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Water Lovers was fabulous! Valentina and Riccardo have built a beautiful retreat on the beach. It is a small resort, which is what we prefer. We stayed in the villa, so had plenty of room. We didn't use the kitchen at all, however, as the food prepared by the chef was delicious. Each evening there was a seafood option and always something with an Italian flair. The kids, ages 9 and 12, were thrilled that they could order pizza or pasta whenever they liked. A short walk up to the main street there was a large grocery store, high-end to low-end craft sellers, and a pharmacy. Water Lovers is situated next to Asha Cottage on the beach; however, Water Lovers has a much better beachfront - we were thrilled in the end that Asha Cottage had been unable to accommodate us. There is an artisan area just on the other side of the hotel on the beach, and we were able to buy some very nice wooden handicrafts from nice local artisans. The beach-boys were always out in force, but weren't too much of a bother; everyone needs to make a living. The lady selling scarves on the beach arranged to have our daughter's hair braided, which was very convenient. We took the WaterLovers kayak out one day, but mainly spent many hours in the pool and on the beach. The water was warm, clear, and calm. Diani Beach (and especially WaterLovers) is an amazing place!

We also took a dolphin safari on the Pilli Pipa Dhow Safari (which I've reviewed as well) that Riccardo booked for us. Great day out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricfort5, Owner at Waterlovers Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thanks a lot for your support on TripAdvisor, It was very precious for us,
and many guest are inquiring because of it. Have a nice Christmas.
Riccardo, Valentina, Sara and Sole (new arrival in the family!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterlovers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterlovers Beach Resort

Address: P O Box 5444, Diani Beach | South Coast - Kenya, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterlovers Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterlovers is a small eco-friendly resort in the centre of Diani, directly on the beach. All our rooms (only 8 suites and 1 Villa) are ocean front and luxury equipped, with air conditioning, king size Swahili bed, double washbasin, stone shower, private veranda, complimentary wi-fi, I-Pod, I-Phone and Mp3 docking station, complimentary I-Pads available on request, with pre-loaded music, movies and apps, complimentary cellphone and local line, private security 24/7 etc... Come as a client...Leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Waterlovers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterlovers Beach Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlovers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.