We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambani Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shambani Cottages
Save
You added Shambani Cottages to your Saves list
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great beach vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We absolutely loved this place and would recommend it to anyone with kids.
It's not directly on the beach, but it takes five minutes to walk on a sandy path to a very idyllic place away from big hotels. However, if you want, you can also get a bite to eat and a drink at the little beach bar at the end of the path.
The cottage we had, Colobus, was absolutely out of a dream vacation. It was perfectly breezy, with two terraces on the first floor on which you can relax in the evenings. The only problem with the hammock was that you can easily fall asleep into it. During the day a family of monkeys enjoyed playing in it for hours!
The big swimming pool is nice addition when you had enough of the breezy beach. When we were there (December 2011) they were building a swimming pool right in front of the cottage - maybe it's ready already.
The staff is super nice, and always ready to help - they found us a car to rent, arranged for the laundry, arranged for a taxi...
I can't say enough good things about Paolo, who we bothered in Italy in the evenings to arrange for our reservation! In the end he saved our New Year's vacation!
The only thing I can suggest is to have bicycles for rent. Nothing fancy... just some plain bicycles that you can take for a ride!

Room Tip: Colobus is absolutely SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed here in August 2011..It really was one of the most beautifull experience of my life..Cottages clean..everyone takes care of you and we had an extraordinary cook..His name is KASSIM and he cooked for us great plates every day!!!The beach is far 5 minutes walking and it is very beutifull and quite..there are some beach boys but they are no boring!! Please go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My mom, my husband, our little son (1 year 10 months) and I have just been back from our 2 weeks unforgettable holidays in Kenya, Diani Beach, Shambani. We stayed in the Simba cottage. Everything was perfect! Starting from the organization of our trip through Paolo via the internet, following with our pick up in the airport done by Salim and ending with the beauty and comfort of the place itself how we had found it.
Our private cook Ali was just simply the best! Our house keeper Emilie who had cleaned the cottage daily was very attentive and polite. All the staff of Shambani including the managers Binti and Salim, the laundry keeper Nadiya, the swimming pool and garden keeper Shabani were so friendly and helpful that we'd felt like at home.
Shambani has a huge and beautiful garden giving you a real feeling of a jungle! The cottages are very cozy, well-equipped, clean and full of fresh air. The atmosphere is very private and quite.
And for sure it's just an ideal place for children! Our son was 24 hours outside. The ground floor of the villa was perfect opened to supervise him while he's playing with Shambani's dogs and it's pappies or exploring the garden or watching the monkeys on the trees and the cottages' roofs!
The wonderful Diani Beach is just 3 minutes walk from Shambani.
Would recommend this place for everybody!
Kenya is a very beautiful, picturesque, extremely interesting and friendly orientated country with a great potential! It is worth to be visited and explored again and again!
We're looking forward already for our next Kenyan holidays and for sure it'll be in Shambani!

Room Tip: Simba Cottage is a perfect place for a family up to 4/5 members or for 2 families with 1/2 kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

a little late in writing this as there were 13 in our party, 7 adults and 6 teenagers from age 14 and all waiting for each other to write the review. We stayed at shambani for nearly 3 wks at the beginning of August 2011. It was a superb location and set in a fantastic tropical shamba. We stayed at the Baobab villa and 2 villas by the pool, the whole party using the baobab as a base. Salim was our driver for the holiday and organised a brilliant 2 lodge safari in tsavo, the highlight being we saw a leopard at such close quarters we could almost touch it. For my sister and I it was a return to Kenya after 40 years, having lived in Mombasa as children. Salim took us around all our old haunts it was a remarkable day. Said and Johnson were our cooks and kept us well nourished with fantastic food, fish and shellfish as fresh as anyone could want. We loved the dogs, felt safe and secure walking to the beach and exploring the local area getting rides in the matatus. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Baobab is a lovely villa with large dining area and verandah, space for all. The visiting monkey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent one week in December 2011 at the Shambani in the Baobab villa. To our surprise the villa was bigger and better than we had imagined. We booked and paid through the internet and the owner Paolo kept his end of the deal. The staff were friendly and service minded. Salim our driver was already waiting at the airport when we arrived. The fridge was already filled up with what we needed for the first days and prawn for the dinner was already ordered by Said our cook who was very professional in making local tasteful dishes. Binti our housekeeper was there every morning cleaning after us with a smile. From the arrival to the departure day we were met by nice and friendly staff. My son really enjoyed feeding and spending time with the dogs and their puppies and the staff were always there to help him if he needed help. Said our cook always had a special diet made ready for the dogs and kept it ready so my son could enjoy feeding them.
We would highly recommend Shambani to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to spend their vacation away from the crowded hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We spend a week in the Simba cottage, and had the luck to have Batuta as our cook. It was wonderful! Great people, clean pool, not to busy, and great food. Our kids loved the monkeys on the roof early in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I just came back from Shambani Cotteges and I want to share my good memories :) We spent there one week and I truly recommend that place to couples, families with children and people who don't like crowded hotels. The place is quite and beautiful, there's all you can need when you want to relax - great staff (many thanks to Maureen who took care of our cottage, Ali who cooked delicious meals for us and of course Salim - our driver and a real friend), amazing views and friendly atmosphere...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shambani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambani Cottages

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Shambani Cottages Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambani Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.