We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ali barbour's cave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant

Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant
P.O. Box 53, Ali Barbour | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
+254 714 456 131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Diani Beach
Price range: $33 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You'd be hard pushed to find a more romantic place to dine than Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant, set inside an ancient coral cove and lit by warm candlelight. The a la carte menu specializes in seafood, international & traditional cuisine and is accompanied by a great wine-list so take your time over dinner.The Restaurant opens every day from 7pm. Reservation Required.Courtesy transfer from Hotels in Diani.Dress Code: Smart casual. No shorts, no hats.We apologize we do not allow children 6 and under.Cigars from our humidor available.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ali barbour's cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The cave was amazing it was lower down than I thought it would be. The food was excellent I had prawns for a starter and they tasted great. My husband had steak and it was cooked to perfection. We sat under the roof so we could see the stars. We didn't wait very long for the food and the waiter was very good. If you go on the website you can check the menu before you go. We stayed in Tiwi and had to pay for a taxi as the restaurant only do free shuttle for Diani but we are pleased we went it was a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    140
    45
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
1 review
“Fantastic Atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The setting and atmosphere alone makes this restaurant well worth a visit and I would certainly go back again. However, next time I would avoid the shellfish as the prawns were over cooked and the lobster, disappointingly, was like rubber! My companion had the chicken which was delicious. The staff are great and can't do enough for you and this place has the potential to be truly fabulous. The only problem is the oversized menu as it is virtually impossible to produce top quality food from such a large variety of dishes on offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I totally enjoyed walking down into a cave and having dinner with my husband under the moonlit sky of a coastal town. The service was exceptional. You must reserve seating, which you understand later, because the demand from local and international tourists is quite high. We had a fabulous meal! My husband and I are not seafood fans but we did enjoy all other meats on offer which are well cooked. This restaurant provides such an intimate setting for couples and close family and close friends to share and enjoy each others company. The mood set by the lighting is beyond incredible. The staff were extremely patient as we got carried away with the views instead of ordering first. They were patient as they took quite a number of photos of us as we enjoyed just being there. I highly highly recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must do whilst at Diani Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant is simply stunning! The food was exquisite, the setting was very romantic and magical and service superb! We literally cannot fault it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique place !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A restaurant in a cave, a real cave, after going around the world, never seen such a set up, definitely UNIQUE !!

A must try, if you are near by.
Should improve in the food quality, lower the prices and the rest is very good !

Keep it up !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.