We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful, excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
AfroChic Diani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful, excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a wonderful little hotel this is - personalised rooms, great swimming pool excellent food, and right on the beach. The staff are very attentive and very friendly, issues are sorted very quickly, if they can be and the hotel goes out of its way to make you feel welcome - from fresh wet towels at the airport to the staff trying to get the people in the compound next door to stop cutting the grass during our stay, to the manager checking on you every day, etc., etc. Just an excellent hotel all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
55
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just returned from AfroChic after an eight day visit. An amazing place - would say "paradise'.
From the moment I arrived I felt special & at home. Excellent service, extremely friendly staff & a fabulous variety of food.....A very special 'Thank You' to Tazim for spoiling me and a most memorable trip! can't wait to re-visit!

Room Tip: /All rooms are equipped with A/C and the obvious choice are those facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited AfroChic for a short training for the Hotel Safety and Health Committee in May 2014. We, the trainers spent five nights and days. First and foremost I would like to give my greatest thanks to all staff for making my stay a special one. The hotel is unique in all aspects to begin with the spacious rooms overlooking the ocean is spectacular, the incredible menu is un forgettable, the best thing about this place is that there is no buffet one chooses dining time and you also get to choose what to eat.I found that very convenient and unique from other places i have visited which have a fixed dining hour. Another thing, the staff, all of them are very friendly and prompt. The hotel view is amazing with unique designs for furnitures. I enjoyed swimming at the swimming pool in the evenings and staring at the beautiful view of the hotel, the coconut trees and the gazebos. I highly recommend AfroChic, here you get to relax fully and value for money spent. I will definitely come back for holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely designed, I recommend you try all and see for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

AfroChic was just amazing in every way.....from the welcome as you walk in...to the friendly staff and their overall thoughtfulness.

When you are there you feel like you are home...the decor is elegant and simple...so it comes off as cosy and warm and not stuffy like most hotels. You don"t feel like you are at a hotel but rather a beach house....making you feel comfortable and very at ease.

You get a hand written welcome card...and a goodnight one ...which has a swahili saying....and you get a different one every night....now that was awesome!!!

There are no set times for dinning so you eat whatever time you want and wherever in the house you want or outside...its really your choice ..so you don't have to eat at the dinning area all the time. Thought that was very COOL ....and NO BUFFET!!! The menu is Ala carte so the result is fresh tasty food. The menu has also incorperated the local cuisine so there is a variety to pick from.

You get a mid night snack set in your room after dinner....cookies and milk...for midnight "snackers" like me....
The rooms are spacious with huge windows...they even have a dvd player and a library of different romantic comedies ...I LOVED that and thought it was pretty cool...My 1st day there it rained so that come in very handy....
What more can i say ...the service was impeccable and everything was very personalized and thoughtful.
I never.stay in the same hotel twice. because i always want to go to new places and experience new things....BUT AfroChic....i will definitely break the rule for....

Room Tip: rooms with balconies let you enjoy the beautiful scenery in great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A day is not nearly enough to really soak in the atmosphere and enjoy the art collection, the artifacts on display and explore all the nooks and crannies of this small but very luxurious boutique hotel, which is part of the Elewana Collection.
The furnishings of the rooms are a reminder what in the old days those houses on the beach must have been like, Swahili four poster beds, Lamu furniture carved, inlaid and polished to perfection, giving that almost homely feeling, were it not for truly being a 5 star property where service, unobtrusive and yet ever present goes hand in hand with deliriously delicious food, freshly prepared from the daily catches with the fishermen deliver at the crack of dawn after their night out at sea.
This is definitely NOT a place to go alone, but what to do as a sworn solo traveler, and should be enjoyed as a couple, because at the AfroChic there is not just the scent of frangipani and other tropical flowers in the air but also love, or at least it should be.
The resort is small and therefore quite intimate, no crowds and one's food is prepared when guests want to eat, not when the template says they should eat.
The manager, Richard, is a man of the world and his stories over a meal add an insight to life at the Kenya coast as it once was and as it continues to be at AfroChic.
With drinks during meals included this 'all inclusive' feature is a welcome value addition and whether one sits outdoors or indoors to dine is entirely depending on the mood of the moment. I enjoyed a splendid outdoor lunch with Richard telling the tales, the sound of the surf breaking just metres away at the beach and the palm leaves above rustling in the breeze. THIS is a place I must one day return to, as and when ... if you get my meaning.
And another hot tip, when flying in from Nairobi use the scheduled daily flight from Wilson airport on Safarilink which depending on aircraft take from just over an hour to about an hour and a half and from the Ukunda airfield it is just a few minutes to the front gate of the AfroChic and paradise on earth unfolds.

Room Tip: Opt for the suites on the upper floor for the view ... though ALL rooms have a charm which touches y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just returned from Kenya 2 days ago. Our stay at AfroChic was the last leg of a trip that included Nairobi, Samburu and Maasai Mara. It is good that we planned for Diani to be the end of our trip, because if we had gone here first it would have been difficult to leave and for the other places to compare! We arrived during a downpour but from the first seconds we could tell this hotel is top notch for service and warmth -- the staff ran out with umbrellas to our car to bring us in and the manager Richard came out himself to greet us. We were welcomed into the terrace and sat with a nice tea and watched the rain as we were checking in (followed by a delicious mix of passion fruit juice with champagne). The hotel's food concept is basically based on the guests' preference and convenience -- there is a huge menu (size of a book!) and you choose what you want and when and where you want it for each meal. We tried a bit of everything -- Kenyan food, Indian, continental, salads, desserts, and every meal was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful but I spent most of my time on the various daybeds on the terraces. The hotel is full of fantastic colonial-era pieces that invite you to sit for hours with a book (or just stare out at the sea). you can swim in the pool or in the sea, whichever you choose. The only downside to choosing the sea option is the presence of tons of 'Beach Boys' who are more than a bit annoying and won't leave you alone. We took long walks down the beach in either direction. Don't be scared off by the rainy season -- we were right in the heart of rainy season and it did indeed rain but that didn't hurt our experience at all. The rain drops came down and we watched them, then it cleared up and we swam and walked. Since we had just come from Safari we opted out of the any animal options but there are places one could go for a day trip. We lounged a lot, ate a lot, did some walking and shopping. There is a nice little golf course down the road that we checked out and walked it completely -- where else can you find a golf course with storks, monkeys and giant lizards on the fairway? The best part about the hotel is the service. The staff are so friendly and warm. We talked a lot with our waiters and learned a lot about the regional culture. Richard is absolutely fantastic and bent over backwards to ensure we had a great stay. as for arriving, by the way, we flew in to the airstrip in Diani from Mara, but on the way out we went through Mombasa because of the flight timing. It is a bit of a drive to get to teh Mombasa airport because you have to cross on small ferry then a causeway, but we enjoyed seeing the scenery and getting a flavor for Mombasa. If you do the Mombasa airport option (nicer airport in Mombasa than Nairobi, by the way), add plenty of time into your schedule.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our stay at AfroChic was simply incredible.
I came with my girlfriend to AfroChic at the end of March 2013 with the plan to propose and there could not have been a better place for it.
When we arrived from a long drive from Nairobi we were greeted with a delicious glass of sparkling wine and as we arrived just before lunch we were immediately presented with the delicious lunch menu in which we ordered our food and then were shown to our room. Due to the occasion AfroChic upgraded us to the presidential suite which was simply stunning - beautifully designed in a tasteful zebra theme at the very top of the small boutique hotel with an incredible view of Mombasa coast from our bed and balcony. As we arrived in the room feeling hot from a long journey we were treated to a plate of beautifully fresh fruit and air conditioning.
Every meal at AfroChic was simply a delight - we ate from a delicious 3 course menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The staff could not have been any nicer or any more helpful. They instantly connected with us and we felt as though we had always known them.
Leading up to and on the night of our engagement they could not have been more helpful or enthusiastic as they prepared the most romantic occasion. My girlfriend was treated to a manicure in the hotel and then we got ready to go for dinner. We were lead to a segregated spot right on the beach with delicately scattered petals and candles surrounding us. We ate a delicious meal before I popped the big question where immediately after we were brought a bottle of champagne. We were simply spoilt by the staff here.
Me and my now wife got married at the end of October 2013 and this month we will be celebrating our 6th anniversary as a married couple. We could not thank AfroChic enough for the memories they brought us over our 4 day period with them. They made the most amazing moment that bit more beautiful. We were the first couple to get engaged at AfroChic and we recommend that anyone planning on popping the big question does so here. There are really no words and the occasion really could not have been better. Spectacular!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.