We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay for some beach time after a safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AfroChic Diani
Save
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stay for some beach time after a safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a bookend to a safari trip through Kenya and Tanzania. Diani Beach and this hotel could not have been a more perfect stay at the end of our trip. Our room was well appointed with a lovely deck overlooking the pool and ocean. The hotel has a luxurious, but relaxed vibe. We were encouraged to take off our watches and relax. And relax we did. The staff were exceptional - welcoming, helpful and so friendly. Snorkeling and Mombassa provide easy day trips. This is an amazing place to stay. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean view room… if you're at the beach, why not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
55
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I just returned to Nairobi after having spent three nights at AfroChic with my fiancee.

We've both travelled the world and have stayed in five-star establishments on multiple continents, and I can comfortably say that neither of us has ever been in such a pleasant setting with such extraordinary, personalised service.

Richard, the manager, is a gentleman and pleasure to interact with. Keziah, who manages bookings, made our trip very special indeed. Alphonse the chef, Jeremiah, Rama, and Betty (I mean seriously, I never remember people's names, and I remember them all here), provided fantastic service the entire way through.

I have to mention the food. Come prepared for serious weight gain. Their kitchen is second to none (and can go toe-to-toe with the best restaurants in Nairobi).

The property is very well kept, and even though the place was at full capacity, we never felt crowded or rushed into anything.

Overall, a phenomenal experience, and fantastic value. Did I mention the service already?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were part of a foursome who stayed at the Afrochic at the end of a terrific but tiring safari vacation, in early February of 2014. We stayed for 4 nights, and I think for the first time ever at the end of a holiday, we really didn't want to go home. The staff are so warm, hospitable, and accommodating--waiting on us hand and foot and so anxious that we be happy. The rooms are all individually appointed, comfortable, air-conditioned and well-equipped, but you should try to get one of the ocean view rooms. Richard, the manager, greeted us enthusiastically and urged us to make ourselves right at home, allowing us to set our own dining schedules, to wander about the place barefoot in our swimsuits. You can spend the whole day basically planted on one of the many lounge beds under the shade, only stirring when it is meal time. It doesn't get much more relaxed than that. There is a good selection of magazines (many in German) to browse through, as well as a large lending library. When you come in, you are met with the lovely African custom of a smile, cold damp face cloths and fresh juice, and nothing can be more welcome after a day in Mombasa! Fish, one of our waiters, even said to us, "Welcome home", and by that point I really felt like it was.
Kenya as a whole has suffered in the aftermath of that mall hostage taking, and Afrochic is no different. Put your doubts aside, book your trip, and plan a side trip to this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

There are so many hotels on Diani Beach on the South Coast of Kenya it is difficult to choose. However if you prefer a quieter, more intimate hotel then Afrochic definitely has to be one of the best. The food was incredible and the service was absolutely amazing. Nice pool and gardens and great views from wherever you decide to flop for the day. Afrochic have mastered the art of exceeding expectations, they always go that little extra mile to surprise and delight their guests.

A note about the beach.... sometimes Diani Beach can be covered in a lot of seaweed so it doesn't always look like the picture postcards. Also the Beach Boys can be a little annoying. But an amazing place nevertheless.

Room Tip: Punda Milia is a great room with an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights from 6/12/13 having been to Mara Bushtops for 3 nights safari (check out my other review) and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel special and cared for in every way. My wife & I have stayed in some of the best 5* hotels in various places in the world but Afro Chic although only small is without doubt one of the best we have stayed in. The food is amazing with a wide variety of choice to suit all tastes and its hard not to over indulge !! Everyone is so polite and caring from the guard who meets you on the gate when you first arrive through to the manager of the hotel Robert who goes out of his way to ensure your stay is perfect in every way, in fact I enquired about a taxi to take my wife and I to a shopping mall and Richard offered to take us and pick us up an hour later as he was going that way for some business, you won't get that off many hotel managers, many thanks again Richard for your kindness. Richard runs a tight ship in Afro Chic but you can tell his staff love working for him and that reflects down the line to the customer, everyone has a smile and a warm welcome for you. Should we return to Diani (which I hope we will) there is no hesitation we will rebook here again. Thank you once again to everyone who looked after us. A few people mention that the beach boys and hawkers are annoying and yes they can be but I soon found out that a firm "no thank you" was all that was needed to fend them off if you are going for a walk but please remember buy something off them they are after all poor and many have people to support at home and need the money to survive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at AfroChic in December 2013 for a week of utter bliss. AfroChic is located right on the beach in the coastal town of Diani. Think crystal-clear blue (hot) water, gently lapping soft white sand, with dhows slowly floating past. Amazing sunrises. The hotel offers everything - great views, superb food, lovely staff and comfy rooms (very good aircon which was a relief in the balmy tropical weather). The food was a highlight for us...plenty of choice, yet every dish is made with the love & attention of a small menu, only the freshest ingredients (they even take your orders a few hours before lunch/supper so they have the opportunity to shop for the best ingredients!), generous portions, full flavours, and a great wine list. Try the local beer, Tusker, it's very good. Love the beer bottle coolers they have - it keeps your beer ice cold while you sip on it in the pool. Could life get better? While there are plenty of activities available, we must admit we did very little, it was just so relaxing - we happily read loads of books, ate too much food, and took many indulgent naps. Isn't that what holidays are all about? We're now recharged and energised, but would happily go back tomorrow and do it all over again.
A special thank you to Richard, the manager, and his dedicated team of caring staff, who made our stay memorable and looked after our every need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is one of the places to visit when you are at the South Coast of Kenya. The service is awesome and the crew here are almost perfect. They are so unobtrusive you will barely see them.

The food is awesome, and I lack superlatives to describe Afro Chic! My wife and I do an annual visit to this very lovely place.

I would recommend Afro Chic any day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.