We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AfroChic Diani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Diani Beach
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You must stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were part of a foursome who stayed at the Afrochic at the end of a terrific but tiring safari vacation, in early February of 2014. We stayed for 4 nights, and I think for the first time ever at the end of a holiday, we really didn't want to go home. The staff are so warm, hospitable, and accommodating--waiting on us hand and foot and so anxious that we be happy. The rooms are all individually appointed, comfortable, air-conditioned and well-equipped, but you should try to get one of the ocean view rooms. Richard, the manager, greeted us enthusiastically and urged us to make ourselves right at home, allowing us to set our own dining schedules, to wander about the place barefoot in our swimsuits. You can spend the whole day basically planted on one of the many lounge beds under the shade, only stirring when it is meal time. It doesn't get much more relaxed than that. There is a good selection of magazines (many in German) to browse through, as well as a large lending library. When you come in, you are met with the lovely African custom of a smile, cold damp face cloths and fresh juice, and nothing can be more welcome after a day in Mombasa! Fish, one of our waiters, even said to us, "Welcome home", and by that point I really felt like it was.
Kenya as a whole has suffered in the aftermath of that mall hostage taking, and Afrochic is no different. Put your doubts aside, book your trip, and plan a side trip to this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
47
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

There are so many hotels on Diani Beach on the South Coast of Kenya it is difficult to choose. However if you prefer a quieter, more intimate hotel then Afrochic definitely has to be one of the best. The food was incredible and the service was absolutely amazing. Nice pool and gardens and great views from wherever you decide to flop for the day. Afrochic have mastered the art of exceeding expectations, they always go that little extra mile to surprise and delight their guests.

A note about the beach.... sometimes Diani Beach can be covered in a lot of seaweed so it doesn't always look like the picture postcards. Also the Beach Boys can be a little annoying. But an amazing place nevertheless.

Room Tip: Punda Milia is a great room with an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights from 6/12/13 having been to Mara Bushtops for 3 nights safari (check out my other review) and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel special and cared for in every way. My wife & I have stayed in some of the best 5* hotels in various places in the world but Afro Chic although only small is without doubt one of the best we have stayed in. The food is amazing with a wide variety of choice to suit all tastes and its hard not to over indulge !! Everyone is so polite and caring from the guard who meets you on the gate when you first arrive through to the manager of the hotel Robert who goes out of his way to ensure your stay is perfect in every way, in fact I enquired about a taxi to take my wife and I to a shopping mall and Richard offered to take us and pick us up an hour later as he was going that way for some business, you won't get that off many hotel managers, many thanks again Richard for your kindness. Richard runs a tight ship in Afro Chic but you can tell his staff love working for him and that reflects down the line to the customer, everyone has a smile and a warm welcome for you. Should we return to Diani (which I hope we will) there is no hesitation we will rebook here again. Thank you once again to everyone who looked after us. A few people mention that the beach boys and hawkers are annoying and yes they can be but I soon found out that a firm "no thank you" was all that was needed to fend them off if you are going for a walk but please remember buy something off them they are after all poor and many have people to support at home and need the money to survive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at AfroChic in December 2013 for a week of utter bliss. AfroChic is located right on the beach in the coastal town of Diani. Think crystal-clear blue (hot) water, gently lapping soft white sand, with dhows slowly floating past. Amazing sunrises. The hotel offers everything - great views, superb food, lovely staff and comfy rooms (very good aircon which was a relief in the balmy tropical weather). The food was a highlight for us...plenty of choice, yet every dish is made with the love & attention of a small menu, only the freshest ingredients (they even take your orders a few hours before lunch/supper so they have the opportunity to shop for the best ingredients!), generous portions, full flavours, and a great wine list. Try the local beer, Tusker, it's very good. Love the beer bottle coolers they have - it keeps your beer ice cold while you sip on it in the pool. Could life get better? While there are plenty of activities available, we must admit we did very little, it was just so relaxing - we happily read loads of books, ate too much food, and took many indulgent naps. Isn't that what holidays are all about? We're now recharged and energised, but would happily go back tomorrow and do it all over again.
A special thank you to Richard, the manager, and his dedicated team of caring staff, who made our stay memorable and looked after our every need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is one of the places to visit when you are at the South Coast of Kenya. The service is awesome and the crew here are almost perfect. They are so unobtrusive you will barely see them.

The food is awesome, and I lack superlatives to describe Afro Chic! My wife and I do an annual visit to this very lovely place.

I would recommend Afro Chic any day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel. Good service, good food, privacy and wholesome relaxation.
Definatley recommend for a couple lookng to get away.
Prices are very fare and staff go out of their way to look for something that they may not have, e.g. Incase they do not have your favourite drink, they will go and source it just for you. Awsome place.

Room Tip: Good for a couple needing to romance and just get awa. My wife amd i loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Aside from the obviously beautiful estate that AfroChic inhabits, the true "cherry on top" of the experience was the impeccable attention to detail by each member of the staff: from the driver pick-up at the airport with cold towels and water bottles, to security's toothy smile and "karibu" while unlocking the gate, to front desk's personal welcome in the foyer, to F&B's welcome fresh juices, to the cookies and swahili sayings put on your pillow at turn down, and the GM - Richard's personal dedication to ensuring every semblance of a need is exceedingly fulfilled. Each meal was delicious and any special requests off the menu were always met without a fuss. Richard, Jeremiah, Betty, Norman, John, Rama, Donald, Kesia, Beatrice, Joseph, and the rest of the staff, a big ASANTE SANA for a wonderful AfroChic experience. I had stayed at other "luxury" hotels during my time in Kenya, but AfroChic has redefined the standard due to the altruistic staff's dedication to ensuring the ultimately relaxing guest experience. I will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a high ceiling and much more privacy. My favourite was Lamu, which was also in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani
Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list