We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing stay at Afrochic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
AfroChic Diani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Now
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Diani Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing stay at Afrochic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights with our 2 girls aged 5 & 2 and my parents who had come to visit us from the uk. Excellent personalized service and absolutely amazing food. The staff were courteous and nothing was ever to much hassle! Very clean pool, lots of sunbeds including double bed sunbeds which were lovely. I also went for a massage which was very good. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel to everyone! I would like to emphasize once again that the food was really superb and we were spoilt for choice all 4 days and that included our two girls!! I would like to thank the staff at Afrochic for making our stay unforgettable....

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank London2Dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This boutique hotel is set up absolutely beautifully and Has a great view. I was astonished by the very personalized service provided too. They made me feel like a king there. Definately recommend to all. Enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The first day i thought it was some haven on earth really these guys have the best relaxation and when it comes to meals you never like to ignore the time.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are very good for the morning view of the sun and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 550slov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent 6 nights at AfroChic in December 2011. We had planned the trip a few months prior, and were excited to get away to Mombasa's south coast, an area we had both been before (at a different hotel) and had enjoyed for its gorgeous beaches, warm blue water and laid-back feel. Our expectations were greatly exceeded from the moment we landed at the Diani air strip and were greeted with cool lavender-scented towels by the AfroChic hotel driver.

When we arrived, we experienced the most low-key and relaxing check-in, with a welcome drink by the pool. Stephan, the GM, introduced us to the hotel, its amenities and services. Our room - with a 20' ceiling - was amazing. We highly recommend the Zanzibar suite - great vantage point to view the beach/ocean from the balcony, luxurious Swahili furniture, and an added bonus - an upper-level loft with daybed. Each room is simply and beautifully decorated with a different African theme, and the common areas are elegantly and comfortably furnished.

We were introduced to different members of the hotel staff, all of whom were truly exceptional, anticipating our every need in a way that felt natural and unintrusive. Zipporah was always gracious and helpful; she helped plan day excursions for us, including a visit to the Colobus Monkey Trust. Norman, Donald and Lucas helped make the meals unforgettable. And Betty is simply wonderful.

It's hard to say what part of the experience was the best. As beautiful as the hotel is, and as attentive as the service is, the food rivals both - just superb every time. There's an extensive menu, and we tried different items every day. The staff takes your order in advance and lets you decide where you want to eat - in the treehouse, by the pool, at the covered terrace, etc. We loved all the seafood dishes, as well as the African specialties (the matoke was great); the desserts were delicious (the passion fruit sorbet was out of this world). Even the morning fruit platter was special.

We spent most of our time lounging on the extra-large daybeds on the private beach (slightly elevated above the main beach). We enjoyed the pool as well as its adjoining spa, even at night.

We highly recommend AfroChic and feel it deserves all the awards and recognition it has recently received. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Top-floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFClubWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I spent five days at AfroChic last month. They nearly had to drag us out of there. We didn't want to leave. We were pampered from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Stephan, Zipporah and the staff are amazing. The design and decor in this small, boutique hotel are gorgeous. We were in the Punda Milia (zebra) suite. It was huge and plush, complete with california king bed (it felt like my husband was clean on the other side of the room), a built in chaise lounge/day bed, gigantic bathroom with jacuzzi tub, plus a large sunroom with a huge day bed and two comfortable overstuffed chairs. A great thing about this hotel is the intricate, hand-carved furniture and fittings. It's all so beautiful that I found myself wondering how I could carry it home with me. We had a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. It was a great place to relax in the morning.

Let's talk about the food. They let you choose what you want to eat, when you want to eat it, and where you want to eat it. You want tuna carpaccio, avocado salad, sesame crusted snapper with vegetables, and a chocolate brownie, poolside at 1:30pm. No problem. The food selection is a wonderful. I tried to eat something different for every meal. But I did return to the tuna carpaccio and cashew icecream on several occassions. They were just that good. The kitchen staff was even kind enough to pack us fresh fruits and baked breads for our trip home, as we had to depart at 3am.

The beach is calm and warm. We hung out in the water for hours (until the tide retreated so far that you could walk out 700 yards or more before touching water). We spent the day reading, relaxing, and napping on AfroChic's huge swing beds by the beach. They're big enough for the whole family.

We will definitely return, and bring friends!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

When we decided to book Afrochic for our december break we were taking a bet on our holiday . As it turned out ,that was to be the best decision we have made in selecting a hotel in mombasa . The small boutique is unigue and pleasant making it a home away from home. The staff are fantastic and the food is incredible . We did not want to leave after 5 nights of total relaxation and great food. Please do not change a thing ...........We shall be back soon !

Eunice Koome

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eunice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Working in DRC, my girlfriend and I needed a place to relax. This was it. Definitely higher end, but so worth it. The East Coast of Africa has some wonderful places, wonderful beaches, and many of which are much cheaper than Afrochic. Afrochic is still worth the visit. The food was incredible (no stress around ordering, quality was fantastic, and the variety was all I could ask for for a two week stay). Stephan, the manager, was the epitome of professional while at the same time being warm and welcoming. The rooms were actually inspiring (never happened to me before) as the furniture was mostly made of very beautiful driftwood pieces (this was the room we spent most of our nights in), as were many of the pieces in the downstairs spaces. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who really needs to unwind, as I was fully wound up beforehand, and came back to work feeling like brand new.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 33 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#15 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Almanara Luxury Villas
Almanara Luxury Villas
#4 of 33 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#5 of 33 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#12 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the white sands of the sparkling Diani Beach, AfroChic dazzles with views of exotic, ancient dhows in full sail. The graceful curve of the Diani shoreline tempts all to walks in the warm shallows along the edge of the African continent. AfroChic offers ten individual, uniquely-styled rooms with ocean and garden views. This 'home-from-home' retreat will see you return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing