We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AfroChic Diani
Save Saved
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, friendly hotel nestled on the wind swept shores of the Indian ocean. We were made to feel immediately at home by the welcoming staff, in fact the whole vibe is more that of a fabulous home than a hotel. We spent an very relaxing week at Afrochic, enjoying cloudless skies, delicious food and walks along the silver sand... A perfect and very romantic way to start the year.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights after being on safari and it really is 5 star all the way! All the staff were friendly and attentive at all times and we completely chilled out straight away. The food was excellent and the menu had a massive choice,and was all cooked to order. The room was spacious and clean ,the hotel grounds immaculate. Many thanks to Betty and Norman who really looked after us whilst we were there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Had a lovely week here after a few days on safari in the Masai Mara. The staff were fantastic as many others have mentioned, very friendly and attentive. The menu and food are excellent, with so much choice that it was hard to decide each day and could have our meals whenever we wanted! The room was lovely and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and out towards the beach. The pool was kept clean every day and the sunbeds/double sunbeds were fab (with a chap bringing towels whenever required). Would definitely visit again if we're in Kenya. Our only suggestion would be that, with such an extensive menu for starters, mains and light bites, the dessert menu could be varied slightly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Lovely, small boutique hotel, quite a pleasant contrast to the large resorts elsewhere along the coast. Only ten rooms, each individually furnished. Small but perfectly formed grounds, never struggled to find a sunlounger; love the double-bed swings! Food was lovely, and ability to eat when you want (e.g. breakfast served a la carte up to 11:30am) was a joy. Friendly service, happy to recommend nice nearby restaurants for dinner when we fancied a change of scenery.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Had an absolutely amazing stay at Afro Chic. From the minute we arrived everything was perfect - the location, the rooms, and the service. Stephan is truly the absolutely perfect host, attending to our every need and making it such that we never wanted to leave.

The small boutique nature of the hotel means that everything is personalized, and you feel cushioned in a wonderful golden cocoon. The suites on the top floor are magnificent with an amazing few out over the grounds and out into the ocean.

It is full board and absolutely worth it, with fantastic food based on what is fresh in the market.

Truly an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The large suite on the top floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We sepent a wounderful four plus two nights there, meanwhile three days at Safari to Masai Mara.

All the staff was highmost friendly, attentive and competent.

The food was good and with a big menu card, and the service just and only very good!

The rooms are poor (even with flatTV, so the bed was moving, and in the shower-bathroom with a plastic curtain not even a light for to make-up or shave when it is dark: One (ONE) bulb for all the room in at the ceiling.

Definitively not five-stars!

Quiet good for to relax, so there is not anymation any than the always attentive staff.

The beach is wounderful (as all the travel guides comment) was the sea definitively NOT! Bring your bathing shoes and be prepared that you can not swin whenever you want, so you have not such a lot of snad, if not a shelly reef in front of your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for a friend's wedding. It was one of the best hotels that I have ever visited - beautiful rooms, stunning grounds, and fabulous staff. Stephan and her group looked after our every need, and did a fantastic job organizing and hosting the wedding. I am counting the days until I can come back again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.