We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, intimate boutique hotel, very relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AfroChic Diani
Save
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely, intimate boutique hotel, very relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Lovely, small boutique hotel, quite a pleasant contrast to the large resorts elsewhere along the coast. Only ten rooms, each individually furnished. Small but perfectly formed grounds, never struggled to find a sunlounger; love the double-bed swings! Food was lovely, and ability to eat when you want (e.g. breakfast served a la carte up to 11:30am) was a joy. Friendly service, happy to recommend nice nearby restaurants for dinner when we fancied a change of scenery.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Had an absolutely amazing stay at Afro Chic. From the minute we arrived everything was perfect - the location, the rooms, and the service. Stephan is truly the absolutely perfect host, attending to our every need and making it such that we never wanted to leave.

The small boutique nature of the hotel means that everything is personalized, and you feel cushioned in a wonderful golden cocoon. The suites on the top floor are magnificent with an amazing few out over the grounds and out into the ocean.

It is full board and absolutely worth it, with fantastic food based on what is fresh in the market.

Truly an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The large suite on the top floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We sepent a wounderful four plus two nights there, meanwhile three days at Safari to Masai Mara.

All the staff was highmost friendly, attentive and competent.

The food was good and with a big menu card, and the service just and only very good!

The rooms are poor (even with flatTV, so the bed was moving, and in the shower-bathroom with a plastic curtain not even a light for to make-up or shave when it is dark: One (ONE) bulb for all the room in at the ceiling.

Definitively not five-stars!

Quiet good for to relax, so there is not anymation any than the always attentive staff.

The beach is wounderful (as all the travel guides comment) was the sea definitively NOT! Bring your bathing shoes and be prepared that you can not swin whenever you want, so you have not such a lot of snad, if not a shelly reef in front of your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for a friend's wedding. It was one of the best hotels that I have ever visited - beautiful rooms, stunning grounds, and fabulous staff. Stephan and her group looked after our every need, and did a fantastic job organizing and hosting the wedding. I am counting the days until I can come back again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just got back from Afro Chic and was in tears when leaving the place. I felt i was leavin my family behind yet truth is i had only met the staff a day before. Very hospitable and honest. Nothing beats this place. There is nothin that can be rated average or good since everythin was BEYOND EXPECTATION! The service, the people, environment, cleanliness, service oh the list wont end. My daughter who is only 1and a half felt she was at home too. I cant wait to plan another trip there. Thank you all. Esp Zipporah, Lucas, Judy, Betty, Norman, Peninah and all the other staff members.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is an excellent place its more of a holiday home, everything is exquisitely placed, excellent service great decor, perfect location and very romantic.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

After searching for hours to find a wonderful spot near Mombasa after a busy work week, we were overjoyed when finding AfroChic Diani. Stephan and his team make you feel at home and attend to your every need. The room and food was fabulous, the hotel and location couldn't be better. Worth every penny.
J. Rockwood

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.