We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfroChic Diani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AfroChic Diani to your Saves list
AfroChic Diani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is an excellent place its more of a holiday home, everything is exquisitely placed, excellent service great decor, perfect location and very romantic.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

After searching for hours to find a wonderful spot near Mombasa after a busy work week, we were overjoyed when finding AfroChic Diani. Stephan and his team make you feel at home and attend to your every need. The room and food was fabulous, the hotel and location couldn't be better. Worth every penny.
J. Rockwood

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I have done nothing but rave to everyone back home how wonderful this holiday at AfroChic was! We flew over for my best friends wedding and Stephan and his wonderful team made this day perfect for her with his attention to detail exquisite.

The food was fantastic, all freshly prepared and served at whatever time we asked, the hotel (which i really want to call home!) was immaculately clean and the staff felt like you'd known them forever, nothing was ever too much!

This hotel really doesn't feel like a hotel, it's like a huge family home in beautiful gardens (i just love the rocking bed at the end of the garden!) I was so sad to leave at the end of the week but i know we'll be back - i wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Special hugs and kisses to Stephan, Mummy Taz and Zipporah - miss you all xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Afrochic Diani is truly a unique place. From the warm and enthusiastic welcome on arrival to the emotional farewell, our experience was truly special and different. The ambience and atmosphere really is more like a dream home than a hotel. The bedrooms are interestingly and comfortably furnished in a variety of African themes. The pool, garden and beach areas are immaculate and, with the beautifully furnished ‘indoor-outdoor’ areas there is always find somewhere comfortable to chill to suit your mood. As for the staff, all were unfailingly attentive, friendly and courteous. There is a very good choice of food, which is freshly prepared and served wherever you chose; unlike a previous report, the dishes were always served at the same time to our party - which varied from 2 to 8 during our stay.

Stephan, Taz and team (too many to mention but all fondly remembered); thanks so much for making a special time truly memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Well what can I say, after many trips to Kenya this was by far the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in.
I sobbed when we had to leave.
The hotel, the rooms the hospitality the staff the management the food the beach EVERYTHING was amazing I could never put into words exactly how amazing.
If you are considering staying here stop and just book it, you will be filled with memories that will last a lifetime.
We were a group of 8 and all of us felt the same way.
My Partner and I were lucky to be the first to get married here......oh my goodness....it blew us away with how much love and attention to detail that was put into the day, especially with only 4 days notice!!!! thats another story.
A Big big thankyou to Stephan and all of his staff...too many to mention for the amazing memories.....you really did make my Dreams come true! I look forward to coming again on our Anniversary :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Afro Chic hotel has recently changed ownership and one gets the feeling that the new management team is trying very hard to make this a super hotel. The setting is nice on the beach but with a lovely green garden with lounge "tents" as well as regular sun beds and a lovely pool. The restaurant is located both in the garden and inside for guests preference. The rooms are reasonably large to large and absolutely great ( but not luxorious) with Wi-Fi, cable TV, DVD, minibar and all bathroom things.
Where I believe that the hotel can do much better is in regards to the food as well as the servicing of the food. We barely ever got the food at the same time even though there were only 5 in our party and I think that the food can be described as at best average. The menue is excessively long which might make it too difficult for the kitchen so it might be worthwhile for the management to consider a shorter menu every day.
Overall a very nice place to stay though the beach is not great at Diani and all the local sales people on the beach are rather irritating but they are not allowed in the hotel garden and can therefore easily be avoidable. On a final note, Afro Chic is located among larger hotels and it is therefore an easy walk to another hotel for a drink or to use a gym etc. Water scooters, wind surfing etc is available on the beach and the golf club is a short walk or taxi from the hotel.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Afrochic in one word would be AFROCHICHOLIC!!

Now this friendly hotel is addictive for its charm, amazing friendly faces and the quality of 5 star service.

Being in Diani, South Coast, Mombasa. AfroChic is the place to get away from the daily life. The two times I have stayed there, I cannot forget the wonderful time I have had. Starting from the welcome I had upon arrival. The little things makes all the difference.

A small boutique hotel with personality that is larger than life! This is the feeling you get from the ever attentive Mr. Stephan who is the General Manager and his wonderful team of people who made my two stays at AfroChic a memory to talk about to all.

Its a 10 room hotel which means that the level of attention given to every guest is amazing. You are made to feel at home and once you are in the hotel, you are treated as "family" and so do all the staff make you feel just that. Not a guest but a part of family!

Not to forget, the quality of food and the concept of "dine at your convenience" and where you want to dine. Be it on the beach or the garden with the refreshing view of the Indian Ocean is what gave me the time to walk on the beautiful sandy beaches of Diani or just relax on one of the day beds. Or you can choose to cool off in the pool.

I have had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful 5 star boutique hotel twice and besides I never realised that writing reviews to help others would be the better part of the "post" experience of staying in this beautiful hotel.

I personally am looking forward to my home away from home and the familiar yet friendly faces :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AfroChic Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfroChic Diani

Address: Golden Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AfroChic Diani 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 room boutique hotel with free dining concept right at the edge of the Indian Ocean. Personal and individual service to accommodate all your needs during your well deserved holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your AfroChic Diani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrochic Diani Hotel Diani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfroChic Diani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.