We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little secret.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roi Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roi Apartments to your Saves list
Roi Apartments
Assos, Kefalonia | Kefalonia, Assos 28085, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Assos B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars 28 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our little secret.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We happened upon the beautiful village of Assos, looking for a bed for a couple of nights, and discovered Roi Apartments. An unrivalled setting, quiet with amazing 180 degree views of the Ionian. The owner, Maria, has decorated the rooms so beautifully, I literally didn't want to leave. 2 nights simply wasn't long enough, just a taster really. We had Apartment Iris, a private haven of cream and wedgewood blue, situated overlooking the sea and beside the little cliffside allotment full of sunflowers and courgettes.The next morning, the courgettes had been harvested, sliced and fried for breakfast, served alongside pancakes, eggs, fruit, yoghurt and honey - all devoured in the beautiful poolside breakfast area. We felt very spoilt - we hadn't expected anything so luxurious. We will return - though we may have trouble getting a room having read all these great accolades!

Room Tip: Just go on the website and view the rooms - there isn't a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I spend a week at Roi Apartments in Assos, Kefallonia. Maria is the proprietor and you could not ask for a better host. She exudes a warm, welcoming atmosphere that filters round the perfectly build development. 9 bespoke apartments, each with a sea view from a balcony or sun terrace and all en suite. A fridge to chill the local Robola wine and small kitchen area to prepare aperitifs. The swimming pool is the right temperature to cool you down from the heat, and pool area has excellent steamer sun loungers and lots of shaded areas. The apartments are cleaned daily to a good standard by the very friendly staff.
We hired a car from the airport so we could explore the north part of the island. The drives are quite something.... passenger be warned. Assos itself is perfect (as most islanders will tell you). It is quiet with maybe 8 or 10 very good Tavernas, not a place for loud busy nightlife, but rather social relaxing meals with your partner, friends and children. We particularly liked the Plantanos Taverna. Food was excellent with very reasonable prices - we shared a large mezzo followed by a main meal each and a bottle of wine for around 35 Euros, and then you get a complimentary dessert to share by the most amazing staff.
Assos beach is pebbly, like most on the island (wetsuit shoes recommended for little ones and those with delicate feet). It is very idilic with beautiful clear water and there are sunlougers to rent.
The famous Myrtos beach (Cpt Corelli) is the next cove round. It is very beautiful. However the beach Taverna was not so great and I would recommend the Tavernas at the top of the beach road.
On the Fiskardo coast, we would highly recomend a day at the Agia Sopia beach and the smaller beach 500 yards to the south, Chopata.
Thank you Maria for a perfect holiday and we will be back

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea with excellant views and have either a balcony or sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kefalonia is a beautiful Greek island, not over-run by tourism. The small and charming port town of Assos is in an ideal location for both relaxation and exploration of Kefalonia. And Roi Apartments is the perfect place to stay. We stayed for 5 days in September, and wished we'd stayed longer.
Roi Apartments was built in 2002, overlooking the ocean on a hillside ridge that leads into the centre of Assos harbour - a mere 5 mins walk away. Maria and her husband designed and built it as a series of adult accommodations for themselves and their 3 grown up children. Several years later, Maria went to her architect with ideas to expand the property into a stylish up-market boutique hotel. Hence, the complex and the apartments are filled with special touches that can only come from a lady fitting out her own home; with care, pride and love.
The rooms are spacious, tasteful, and oh so comfortable; with delightful balconies or terraces that have picture-postcard views of the deep blue ocean beyond.
The public terraces, the swimming pool, the gardens and the open dining area do not feel public at all. They feel like the private retreat of a privileged few. At least, that's how we felt - privileged and pampered. And the small number of other guests added to the enjoyment: they were interesting and urbane, and never an intrusion.
And the best part of this haven is Maria - the owner and manager (ably supported by her husband in the background). Maria is a genuinely warm and generous person, who is always seeking out new ways for making the guests' stays more enjoyable. Her home-cooked breakfasts are absolutely wondrous, and Maria varies them every day. She goes out of her way to be of practical assistance to any guests who asks. She ensures that every little detail of Roi Apartments is maintained to the highest standard. When Roi Apartments opens for each new season, Maria will have introduced a number of new touches to improve the experience even more.
A lot of quiet passion and energy goes into making Rio Apartments such a styilsh and warm-hearted haven. It really is a little piece of paradise that we'd love to come back to again.

Room Tip: Each apartment is slightly different, and each one has a good view towards the ocean. You just have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from Kefalonia and had a truly wonderful stay at the Roi Apartments in Assos. Maria, the owner, put on amazing breakfasts, all home cooked and daily changes. We all wondered each morning what we would be having - she makes a chocolate cake to die for. The room we had was lovely, looking directly out to sea and the marvellous sunsets had to be seen to be believed. The place is scrupulously clean, and your every need catered for. Can't wait to go back next year. Well done Maria, and thank you very much. Myrtle

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but I think some are larger than others and have larger balconies than we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

When you go to Kefalonia, you should go to Assos and when you go to Assos you should at least try to stay at Roi Appartments. This place comes close to paradise. Ran by Maria you will experience really really great hospitality, with rooms which are so comfortable and cleaned every day and all of them have a great view over the Ionic Sea and the castle of Assos.

We stayed in appartment Iris for 8 days and we had such a wonderful time. We just checked out and I want to go back already.

Room Tip: In apartement Iris you have a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Maria, the owner of this hotel, will do everything to make you feel at home. The hotel itself is gorgeous and has very clean rooms, with great views from all the rooms. We have been all over the world, but would def. recommend going here! It's just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just returned from 8 days on the beautiful island of Kefalonia. I booked the Roi Apartments last minute and cancelled our holiday in Scotland as I couldn't stand another moment of rain. What a little gem.

The 10 Roi Apartments sit on a cliff at the top of the village with stunning views across Assos to the Castle and the western part of Kefalonia. We stayed in studio Ivy for the first night and then moved to Lemon Tree, which has it's own entrance, for the remainder of our stay. The rooms were immaculate and both were furnished tastefully with attention to detail and comfort. The communal areas of this very small and intimate complex were kept spotlessly clean with luxury furniture around the superb pool and plenty of areas to relax in the shade when it got just a bit too hot!

Breakfast ... I don't think I have ever had anything like it ... and I have stayed in many hotels over the past 20 years! Maria, the owner, is the most amazing cook ... she greeted us on our first day with a slice of delicious home-made cake, which was a sign of things to come. She makes all her own jams, cakes, bread, tea, smoothies and fruit bowls ... in fact there were several different 'surprises' each day. Most days we didn't need to worry about lunch as we were so full up!

Assos is an idyllic little harbour village - not for the feint-hearted as the drive to get to it can be a little hairy ... especially at night.

There are plenty of good places to eat in and around Assos so we didn't have a problem finding good, traditional food. One of the best is called Vagera and is on the main road going from Assos towards Fiscardo. The food is delicious and the location is fantastic for watching the sunset - but if you want a front row view, you may need to book, especially at the weekend and in high season.

We did find ourselves drawn to the new little bar in Assos (I think it is called Taste of Assos). It is owned by a lovely man called Themios who used to be an accountant and certainly knows his stuff about local wines and speciality drinks. It is right by the edge of the beach/harbour and has a great atmosphere ... just look out for the blue chairs. They also do lovely lunchtime snacks. His partner, Alessandra, owns The Lemon Tree gift shop, where we bought some beautiful gifts both for us and to take home for the family. It's just off the main square.

The Roi is the perfect place for those looking for an escape from the madness that is life! Maria and the two girls who quietly help to serve breakfast and keep the place so pristine, are so un-intrusive and yet approachable and generous ... we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roi Apartments

Address: Assos, Kefalonia | Kefalonia, Assos 28085, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Assos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Assos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roi is a neoclassic building of 10 luxury studios which you can enjoy the famous Greek hospitality. It is built on a solid rock location and provide to the guests the beautiful colorful view of Myrtos gulf under the impressive attendance of Assos castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roi Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.