We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna To Spitiko

Taverna To Spitiko
Gialova Messinias, Gialova, Greece
2723022138
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Gialova
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have frequented this restaurant ever since we started coming to Greece 11 years ago. It remains consistently splendid in the quality and presentation of it`s Cypriot/Greek menu, as does the friendliness of the family.My personal favourites are cheese pasties, followed by Cypriot meat balls with a side dish of Xorta(wild greens) with fresh fruit to finish.This lovely restaurant sits in a superb position on the sea front with an outlook of Navarone bay and Pilos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is also a great restaurant in Giolova. The whole staff that we met were very friendly and the food was good. Every Restaurant in this town offers the usual greek food plus their own specialties.
You really get a vacation feeling here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average Everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My review title says it all. The menu is long with different choices from Greece and Cyprus. The taste of food is ok, the environment is ok, the service is ok. While the location is right on the beach, nothing other than the actual sea view exceeds the average level. As none of us is a seafood person, we did not choose fish, so I cannot comment on freshness there. If in the area, there are better choices few steps away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesteren, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad food, fresh from the day before yesterday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We go to Greece for 11 years in a row now, but this restaurant is bij far the worst I've ever eated.....
The waitress was intented to do something with our complain, but the waiter overruled her and ignor us.
The salad was'nt fresh, the bread was old, the bekri meze was fat and dry, the mousaka tasted very bad.
Normally I do not write a comment, but this restaurant is very bad....maybe we choose the wrong dish, there where people next to our table and they had a salad how lookt fresh, so I don't know.
Maybe we where there on the wrong day....

I'll never come back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good traditional food from Cyprus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant has traditional food from Cyprus as the lady that owns the restaurant is from Cyprus. It’s in front of the see with fantastic view in Gialova Golf. The food its nice and the price is average. It will be good if the lady (the own) smiles more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna To Spitiko also viewed

Gialova, Messenia Region
Gialova, Messenia Region
 
Gialova, Messenia Region
Gialova, Messenia Region
 

Been to Taverna To Spitiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna To Spitiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.