We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Golf-and-Beach Combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino to your Saves list
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Messenia Region
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Golf-and-Beach Combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Constructed in 2008 by a very rich Greek Shipping Tycoon this resort offers an large array of rooms and choices. Built in a Californian style with 2 to 3 story buildings. The best suites offer sea view and private infinity pools: worth the price!
The two18 h Golf courses "Dunes" and "Bay" belong to the resort: spectacular and beautiful.
And the Beach with perfect sunsets:
What else do you want?
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear sanchothegolfer,

I am very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your experience at The Westin and that you will be returning for another visit! Thank you for taking the time after your trip to recommend us.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    184
    69
    20
    23
See reviews for
294
178
8
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

On Saturday night, my husband had an event to attend at the hotel and we decided to join him and spend the weekend over there. After a longer drive than expected (the highway was under repair so some parts were diverted the long way through the mountains) we arrived to Costa Navarino. The resort premises are stunning as they mix with the environment and also give you as sense of being in a small quite village of your own.
My husband had a double room booked but we were lucky to be upgraded to a suite.
We arrived around 3pm so were very hungry. We quickly checked in, as soon as we asked about the lunch options and decided to have a quick bite at their souvlaki place, one gentleman guided us there while our luggage was taken to the room.
We were supposed to ask the staff to guide us to our room when we finished eating, but decided to just take a stroll and find it ourselves. It was not the right idea as the place is huge. I would suggest the management to write not only your room number but the area it is close to as each area has an specific name. Anyways, I cannot complain about getting lost as we decided to skip asking and go on our own.
The room was very nice and also they had small details like the personalized welcome card, dessert board, fruit platter, everything.
We had dinner at their italian place (de Luigi or da Luigi, cannot recall exactly). The food was excellent, highly recommend a visit to them on your next visit.
One detail I really liked is that smokng is not allowed, which is very rare in Greece, where almost everyone smokes and forces non-smokers to second hand smoke.
The only negative comment I have is that we asked if a nanny was available for our 1 year old baby, and were informed that they only provide that service for children over 3 years old. I was surprised because the website mentions babysitting services are available, but again, they also mentioned that for more info we should call, which I didn't so I give them the benefit of the doubt.
To sum up, if you are thinking visiting, stop thinking and go. Try to go on the warmer months so you can use the pools and enter the sea, but even in winter I am sure you will enjoy it as it is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the sea are very nice. if you are going with kids, try to get the ones in the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear VamonosDeViaje,

We very much appreciate you taking the time after your trip to share your feedback from your experience at our resort. It seems that you were not handed over a resort map which would have helped you better find your ways. As I mentioned in another review, kindly note that that very shortly the new highway will be completed and the estimated time to reach the resort from Athens will be only 2.5 hours by car. In terms of Baby Sitting, we do provide the service but indeed for children below the age of 3, advance reservations are preferred.
We certainly hope to welcome you back again to our beautiful property.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is indeed an astonishing hotel, for all kind of situations. Excellent of families, for couples, for businesses. Unfortunately people working for it are not trained accordingly. Their manager has a lot to do with that. Examples: delays in restaurants, inappropriate manners or behaviours, wrong information-guidelines when they are asked for support. I am sure that when they work more on that, it will be the best hotel at least in Greece.

Room Tip: All are excellent and spacious. Many of them have a private mini swimming pool, nevertheless it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear geokat68,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to pass on information regarding the reasons you were dissatisfied with our services. We hope that we can welcome you and your family to The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino in the future for an amazing experience.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A little difficulty to reach the place (road from Kalamata are not good) helps to perceive the place even more beautiful than it is. The resort is simply "fantastic". Over 200 swimming pools, and a fabulous spa prevent the necessity to go to the beach, even if the sea side is very comfortable. The service, in general, the over 10 restaurant, the warm atmosphere of the agora, the perfectly maintained garden, and the calm you have all around you, make the difference.

Room Tip: The ones just facing the beach, especially in the delta wing seemed to me the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear giuvarr,

Thank you for your kind words, we take great pride in our resort and could not agree more that it is “simply fantastic”! Kindly note that very shortly the new highway will be completed and the estimated time to reach the resort from Athens will be only 2.5 hours by car. Also, for next year many airlines have added new flights to Kalamata airport, including EasyJet from London, Aegean Airlines from Stockholm, Munich, Moscow, Lauda Air and Fly Niki from Vienna….

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my second time to Westin,and it was perfect.First of all the location ,I think,it's one off the best places in Greece or in Mediterranean maybe,the resort is perfect for family vacation ,my 4 years old boy was astonished,with the resort and all the facilities for him.the restaurants are very nice ,except ,"soublacerie",that is toooo expensive .The beach.....ohh perfect.
Ok maybe is more expensive that I want but I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Alkis,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time at Costa Navarino. I hope to welcome you back to the resort again for a third time!

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I will start with the good stuff. The resort is in a beautiful location and spread out without interfering with the nature around it. There was a lot of thought put into the design of the property and general maintenance is very good. In theory, the resort also contains all of the options you can think of such as tennis, golf, a beautiful beach, great swimming pools, great facilities for children, etc.

So where do the problems start? The arrival to the location is difficult, especially if you fly into the Athens airport and take the 4 hour drive which starts to resemble a roller coaster ride after the first two ours.

We arrived at our room where the air conditioner was not working and there was no hot water. It was all fixed the next morning but we received no compensation for this. Nobody seemed to have thought this was a big problem.

The biggest problem was that when you arrive in off season, half of the facilities are closed. For example, at lunch time there are only two-three restaurants open, so if you are enjoying the water park at one end, you have to leave it all and walk for 15 minutes to get to another restaurant, not easy with little kids.

In addition, it seems someone invested a lot of time and effort in writing the rule of the place, but then left the work to employees without a very active management. For example, if tissues run out in your room, it was not filled automatically. Or if you ask for a buggy ride to the room at night, the driver did not remember where our room number was and asked us "if we knew?"

In addition, despite the large number of restaurants the food was average, except for the Italian restaurant which was very nice, but then again, who knows since half the restaurants were closed.

In summary, this is like a student with great potential that was not fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear EricRehovot,

Thank you for your kind words about our tennis courts, our two golf courses, Dunes beach, our swimming pools, and Cocoon and Sandcaste! I am very pleased to let you know that very shortly the new highway will be completed and the estimated time to reach the resort from Athens will only be 2.5 hours by car. There will be also many new flights added to Kalamata airport for next year on Aegean Airlines, Airberlin and Easyjet to name a few….. Please accept our apologies for the problems in your room the first night. We have at times isolated interface issues with TVs while Air Conditioning is very rarely inoperative and surely an exceptional occurrence . Please kindly take note that we closed as planned The Romanos, a Luxury Collection Resort, on September 30th to concentrate the Operations on The Westin, hence the gradually lesser Food & Beverage outlets. During your stay though; there were still plenty of dining options at 1827, Morias, Flame, Da Luigi, The Diner, Souvlakerie, Pero, Barbouni, and In Room Dining. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was very disappointed with the service of the Hotel, being a 5 Star Property, there buggy shuttle was not on time, we had to wait in the heat for over 15 minutes while we noticed that the buggy was not even in service as it was parked opposite us.There Buffet was not of 5 star standards.
We had problems with the TV in our room & they kept coming to fix the TV but it kept freezing.
I have stayed at a lot of 5 Star Hotels around the world including the Westin's & would not recommend staying for the amount of money needed to spend & receive this kind of service.

Dates that i stayed 14/08/12 till 16/08/12 room no 4711 conf no 415363677

Room Tip: Average rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear stavros d,

Thank you for your review in tripadvisor. It is true that on certain rare occasions, the buggies can be late. During your stay which was in peak season, and particularly during the busiest weekend for all hotels in Greece, August 15th, the hotel was at full capacity. Kindly note however, that as we are very happy to offer our buggy transport services to our valued guests, a number of them keep the buggies waiting outside their rooms and that can cause delays for other guests, such as yourself. We sincerely apologize for that. Regarding the TV service, I am glad to hear as per our investigation that our engineers responded to the issue on a daily basis during your 3-day stay and tried every time -alas unsuccessfully- to fix it. We have now identified the problem however and are currently working on it with hopefully a good solution at the end. We are disappointed to hear that you would not recommend the hotel becuase as you can see from other reviews in tripadvisor we have had many repeating guests. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to create a memorable vacation experience.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Address: Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Messenia Region
#2 Spa Hotel in Messenia Region
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Messenia Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by old Messinian mansions, the resort’s low-rise villa clusters use natural stone and local design elements to create a motif in perfect harmony with virgin sandy beaches and the pristine hillside landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Hotel Messenia Region
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Greece/Peloponnese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.