We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all but service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino to your Saves list
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Messenia Region
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent in all but service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is indeed an astonishing hotel, for all kind of situations. Excellent of families, for couples, for businesses. Unfortunately people working for it are not trained accordingly. Their manager has a lot to do with that. Examples: delays in restaurants, inappropriate manners or behaviours, wrong information-guidelines when they are asked for support. I am sure that when they work more on that, it will be the best hotel at least in Greece.

Room Tip: All are excellent and spacious. Many of them have a private mini swimming pool, nevertheless it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear geokat68,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to pass on information regarding the reasons you were dissatisfied with our services. We hope that we can welcome you and your family to The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino in the future for an amazing experience.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    177
    69
    19
    23
See reviews for
289
172
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
L'Aquila, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A little difficulty to reach the place (road from Kalamata are not good) helps to perceive the place even more beautiful than it is. The resort is simply "fantastic". Over 200 swimming pools, and a fabulous spa prevent the necessity to go to the beach, even if the sea side is very comfortable. The service, in general, the over 10 restaurant, the warm atmosphere of the agora, the perfectly maintained garden, and the calm you have all around you, make the difference.

Room Tip: The ones just facing the beach, especially in the delta wing seemed to me the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear giuvarr,

Thank you for your kind words, we take great pride in our resort and could not agree more that it is “simply fantastic”! Kindly note that very shortly the new highway will be completed and the estimated time to reach the resort from Athens will be only 2.5 hours by car. Also, for next year many airlines have added new flights to Kalamata airport, including EasyJet from London, Aegean Airlines from Stockholm, Munich, Moscow, Lauda Air and Fly Niki from Vienna….

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my second time to Westin,and it was perfect.First of all the location ,I think,it's one off the best places in Greece or in Mediterranean maybe,the resort is perfect for family vacation ,my 4 years old boy was astonished,with the resort and all the facilities for him.the restaurants are very nice ,except ,"soublacerie",that is toooo expensive .The beach.....ohh perfect.
Ok maybe is more expensive that I want but I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Alkis,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time at Costa Navarino. I hope to welcome you back to the resort again for a third time!

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I will start with the good stuff. The resort is in a beautiful location and spread out without interfering with the nature around it. There was a lot of thought put into the design of the property and general maintenance is very good. In theory, the resort also contains all of the options you can think of such as tennis, golf, a beautiful beach, great swimming pools, great facilities for children, etc.

So where do the problems start? The arrival to the location is difficult, especially if you fly into the Athens airport and take the 4 hour drive which starts to resemble a roller coaster ride after the first two ours.

We arrived at our room where the air conditioner was not working and there was no hot water. It was all fixed the next morning but we received no compensation for this. Nobody seemed to have thought this was a big problem.

The biggest problem was that when you arrive in off season, half of the facilities are closed. For example, at lunch time there are only two-three restaurants open, so if you are enjoying the water park at one end, you have to leave it all and walk for 15 minutes to get to another restaurant, not easy with little kids.

In addition, it seems someone invested a lot of time and effort in writing the rule of the place, but then left the work to employees without a very active management. For example, if tissues run out in your room, it was not filled automatically. Or if you ask for a buggy ride to the room at night, the driver did not remember where our room number was and asked us "if we knew?"

In addition, despite the large number of restaurants the food was average, except for the Italian restaurant which was very nice, but then again, who knows since half the restaurants were closed.

In summary, this is like a student with great potential that was not fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear EricRehovot,

Thank you for your kind words about our tennis courts, our two golf courses, Dunes beach, our swimming pools, and Cocoon and Sandcaste! I am very pleased to let you know that very shortly the new highway will be completed and the estimated time to reach the resort from Athens will only be 2.5 hours by car. There will be also many new flights added to Kalamata airport for next year on Aegean Airlines, Airberlin and Easyjet to name a few….. Please accept our apologies for the problems in your room the first night. We have at times isolated interface issues with TVs while Air Conditioning is very rarely inoperative and surely an exceptional occurrence . Please kindly take note that we closed as planned The Romanos, a Luxury Collection Resort, on September 30th to concentrate the Operations on The Westin, hence the gradually lesser Food & Beverage outlets. During your stay though; there were still plenty of dining options at 1827, Morias, Flame, Da Luigi, The Diner, Souvlakerie, Pero, Barbouni, and In Room Dining. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was very disappointed with the service of the Hotel, being a 5 Star Property, there buggy shuttle was not on time, we had to wait in the heat for over 15 minutes while we noticed that the buggy was not even in service as it was parked opposite us.There Buffet was not of 5 star standards.
We had problems with the TV in our room & they kept coming to fix the TV but it kept freezing.
I have stayed at a lot of 5 Star Hotels around the world including the Westin's & would not recommend staying for the amount of money needed to spend & receive this kind of service.

Dates that i stayed 14/08/12 till 16/08/12 room no 4711 conf no 415363677

Room Tip: Average rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear stavros d,

Thank you for your review in tripadvisor. It is true that on certain rare occasions, the buggies can be late. During your stay which was in peak season, and particularly during the busiest weekend for all hotels in Greece, August 15th, the hotel was at full capacity. Kindly note however, that as we are very happy to offer our buggy transport services to our valued guests, a number of them keep the buggies waiting outside their rooms and that can cause delays for other guests, such as yourself. We sincerely apologize for that. Regarding the TV service, I am glad to hear as per our investigation that our engineers responded to the issue on a daily basis during your 3-day stay and tried every time -alas unsuccessfully- to fix it. We have now identified the problem however and are currently working on it with hopefully a good solution at the end. We are disappointed to hear that you would not recommend the hotel becuase as you can see from other reviews in tripadvisor we have had many repeating guests. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to create a memorable vacation experience.

Best regards,

Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have been coming to Costa Navarino every summer since it's opened in July 2010 and planning to be back next July for the fourth time. It has everything our demanding family needs: stunning surroundings, wonderful beach, great accomodation, pleny of activities like golf, tennis, bowling, fishing, interesting guided tours. Unspolt nature with nesting sea turtles and olive plantations is carefully preserved by eco friendly approach to the philosophy of this resort. Spa is never busy and facilities are incredible with mostly appropriate for the summer heat ice room. Some restaurants offer good food, Eleonas would be our favourite.
Service is improving every year!
Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Heritiers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you will be visiting Costa Navarino for the fourth time next season!

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived at the hotel with some trepidation as there had a been a spate of mixed reviews shortly before we were due to take our holiday (a week at the end of August). However, any misgivings were quickly dispelled. We had a fantastic time.

We had a family suite with a separate bedroom for us and a sofa-bed in the living room which was big enough for our boys of 15 and 10. The room had two bathrooms too and room size was excellent for a resort hotel.

Breakfast was very good quality with a massive choice. It is true that one has to pay for anything other than normal coffee but if everyone ordered different coffees the staff would never cope (which incidentally the staff did cope to bring out enough food and replenish items as they disappeared). Normal coffee was just fine for me and there was a good selection of teas. My fussy eldest son found plenty of things to eat for breakfast and the non-fussy one had to be told to stop eating!

We dined in Inbi, Flame, Da Luigis and the buffet restaurant at the Romanos and had room service one night. Inbi was wonderful, especially as the kids stayed in for room service. The barman at Inbi made excellent Mojitos and the food was tasty and well presented. In fact we were given a free cocktail after the meal. Flame was also very good. Da Luigis was not at the level of Inbi or Flame but still good and the room service was of a good standard, well presented and hot (which can't be easy given the size of the resort). The Ramanos buffet was pretty good too with plenty of things like crab, prawns, salads, pasta, and many desert choices. The food was expensive but no more expensive than other 5-star resorts. You will probably have to book restaurants but we'd done that before we travelled - all of our bookings were exactly as we'd asked for by email.

The resort has loads to do, water sports, cycling, table tennis (free), gym (free), tennis etc. Plenty for boys of 15 and 10 to keep them occupied. There are 3 large swimming pools with plenty of beds, each with their own character, one playing music and a little more lively with a swim up bar, one quieter one and one for kids with the water slides and small kids water play area, so you can take your pick.

The beach is beautiful. People have complained that the waves were too strong but it was not our experience. When we arrived there were waves, but the sort that would make it fun. We hired kayaks and asked to be able to surf but the forecast was for the sea to be like a lake for the remainder of our stay (and it was). The sea was so warm.

We booked the snorkeling trip which was great fun. A short drive, a short boat trip to Proti Island and guided snorkeling. We saw some beautiful fish and had the added bonus of a little local history.

We also booked a cycle ride to Voidokilia which was led by a charming guide (sorry can't remember his name) who was also proud of its and the local area's history. The ride is pretty easy and we were lucky to be with some really nice people. The beach itself is beautiful and worth a trip on its own.

We found the staff to generally be very warm and friendly and service was generally of a good standard. We had one poor meal experience when we went to Barbouni (at the beach). There was a wedding due to take place the next day and the guests descended upon Barbouni and the restaurant struggled to cope, meaning a long wait for tables and food and a not very orderly allocation of tables (I'm british so queuing is important!). But that is a small gripe as the food was very good, I especially enjoyed the calamari.

The boys loved to go off on their own and enjoyed getting their lunches at the Souvlakerie. The resort is away from it all and feels incredibly safe so we were happy for the boys to make their own way around, play table tennis, tennis whatever. They also enjoyed visiting the ice cream shop in the village area. There is a large sports hall for basketball/football/badminton which the boys also did. As a suggestion, it might be useful if the hotel planned some of the activities so that kids would turn up and play together and they'd probably also enjoy that. The sports hall is air conditioned so it is a great place for the kids to get out of the sun occasionally.

One thing I definitely enjoyed was the relaxed atmosphere.

My wife used the spa for a massage and really enjoyed it.

We would definitely go back again and I guess that's the main benchmark.

Some other points to clear up from other reviews. We had no mosquitos/gnats or other flying insects. The gardens were in good order, the planting is in keeping with the local area so they're not nice tidy flower beds. We didn't struggle for towels, although after a few days the hotel became much quieter so it wouldn't have been a struggle for them, although it was full when we arrived.

We had hired a car because we flew into Athens from Rome. The drive was pretty easy in the main part but we left the end of it to the SatNav which took the shortest route via some very windy roads. Part of the purpose of the car was to perhaps explore some of the local area. We enjoyed it so much on resort that we never saw the car again until we left. We would probably have more of a look around the local area when we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanosCostaNavrino, General Manager at The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear starty,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review on tripadvisor. I am happy that you and family had such a wonderful time at Costa Navarino. It looks that you made an excellent use of the facilities and I am very glad to hear that you will be visiting us again next season! In terms of flight connections, there will be new routes flying directly to Kalamata as from March next year, starting with Aegean Airlines from Stockholm or Munich! More to come!

Best regards,
Michel Cottray
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Address: Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Messenia Region
#3 Spa Hotel in Messenia Region
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Messenia Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by old Messinian mansions, the resort’s low-rise villa clusters use natural stone and local design elements to create a motif in perfect harmony with virgin sandy beaches and the pristine hillside landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Hotel Messenia Region
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Greece/Peloponnese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.