We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Save Saved
You added The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Messenia Region
Messery, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

As it says on the package this is a resort and you get what you pay for. Beautiful golf course and beach. Good quality rooms and a fabulously diverse breakfast buffet. A substantial investment has been trying to make this sensitive to the Messinian heritage and to the environment.To me quite similar to packages you find in Sardinia and catering to a similar clientele; quite arriviste. Excellent location for a conference with access to Kalamata! Interesting and well made herb infused cocktails to be enjoyed in their bar. Very conveniently located with access to Pylos and Nestor's Palace (which is what we came to visit). If you are searching for the traditional Greek village, want to get away from 21st century or worry about the preservation of the last relatively undeveloped parts of the Peloponese probably not for you. But then you wouldn't book if thats what you were looking for. We were interested to see what the Greek Resort experience was like; wouldn't return as ultimately it is a little too anodyne and cosmopolitan, despite their efforts one could be in a themed resort in any part of the world.

Room Tip: Decide it you want your own infinity pool as not all have them. We didn't get a sea view which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    132
    55
    17
    15
See reviews for
227
144
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Excellent hotel... everything was perfect...a lot of choices for food..excellent sport activities....woaw..everyone who goes to greece must stay in this property I would like to congragulate Mr. Peter Alatsas to run such a big operation without any single mistake....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

we went there after we got married. Very happy with staff! amazing food ! by far he best food we have had in greece and europe! got to try FLAME restaurant in the resort! Great service and food ofcourse ....Thanks for allowing my wife and I to have an experience we would like to relive soon .
Thanks Angelos and Anna
Australia

Room Tip: overlooking the golf and sea view is a must!!! Private pool is amazimg
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in July with our teenage children in 2 sea view rooms. The hotel was beautifully furnished, very well maintained and spotless. The sports facilities were excellent, the beach perfect and having a choice of swimming pools to lounge around was great (never any problem finding a sunbed). The golf course and club facilities were very good and we ended up playing 4 rounds.The holiday would have been perfect except for a couple of issues. 1.Entertainment - Whilst the facilities for younger children appeared to be superb there really wasn't ANYTHING for teenagers to do in the evening. During our first week there was 'chill out' music every evening around the pool, we enjoyed this and were disappointed when it didn't happen in the second week. The outdoor movie screen repeated the same 3 or 4 acts (Il Divo, Sarah Brightman, Andrea Bocelli) the whole time we were there. 2. Food - The Souvlakeri was very reasonable and food was good, Luigis was also good. Beach bar and golf club restaurants were both vastly overpriced and food/service average at best. Inbi Japanese restaurant had an amazing atmosphere, some of our food was fantastic and some inedible! Breakfasts were excellent although service varied. We ended up hiring a car and eating out in the local village Gialova on several evenings where the food was much better and at least half the price of the hotel! Although we did have a most enjoyable holiday we couldn't help feeling a little 'ripped off'.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have sea view rooms but all the rooms appeared to have sea views anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

An amazing hotel complex on a beautiful streach of beach in Messini.We had two rooms.One was room with infinity pool close to beach.FANTASTIC.Nicely decorated room with great bathroom.Pool was nice size and secluded.Enjoyed lounging after hard day at the beach.
Other room was a family suite -an upgrade thanks to gold SPG status.OMG-the biggest suite we've ever seen.Top floor with great views,huge bathtub in bedroom,couple of large bathrooms,two huge flatscreens,dream bedding,amazing decor.Did not want to leave either of the two rooms.
Resort kept pefectly clean.Room service and housekeeping were excellent.Staff fabulous and well trained.Even provided the rooms with complimentary magazine which was well put together and full of useful info.
Beach to die for.Breathtaking with lots of free chairs and umbrellas.Attentive beach bar service.
Water tends to get a bit wavy so careful weak swimmers.
On premises bars and restaurants were fantastic.We ate at Ergile and Da Luigis.Pricey but worth it.You were taken away to another world each night.One night we smoked shisha pipe while watching belly dancers the next we feasted watching Il Devo perform on outdoor movie screen.Fabulous.
Souvlakerie had tasty food at reasonable prices and the coffeshop was very cute.
Breakfast was stressful as we couldnt decide what to eat.
Great kids area as well with pools,games waterslides.
Ate local fare in the town of Gialova along its waterfront.Ten mins by car along a very dark road.
Visit Voidokilia beach next door.Its amazing to see.
A return visit is a must for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three days in late August. It was a very nice experience in a breathtaking location. The hotel offers all the amenities that provide a modern resort. I tried a nice Japanese restaurant INBI and a very nice Greek restaurant serving modern Greek cuisine (not another moussaka!!). The small cafe in AGORA called ΚΑΦΕΝΕΙΟ, was making excellent authentic Greek coffee.I think it is a very good hotel like other Westin Resorts that exist around the world with high quality service. But what is truly great is the beach, the mild "sweet" climate, the Mediterranean landscape and nature around the two hotels (Westin & Romanos). Dont forget to visit Pilos, very traditional!

Room Tip: Rooms in 4th level with sea view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have stayed in the westin with a golf package for 5 nights. At check in we were pleasantly surprised by a complimentary upgrade to a seaview room. We loved this room. As alway, the layout and interior of the rooms at the Westin are great, including the heavenly bed. The choice of activities, for adults and children, was unprecedented. Cooking classes, Kids club etc. The breakfast buffet was so elaborate, never encoutered this before at any other hotel.

We had chosen the place because of the opportunity to play golf, which is rare in Greece. The golf course is amazing, with vew on the sea from several holes and beautiful old olive and fig trees. After finishing a round, the caddie master is waiting for you with a cold towel, drenched in Mint water. In October a new golf course will open in the close vicinity, other golf course are planned to be made in due course. We definitely will be back once these courses are ready! Golfpro Nicky is a very good teacher and a pleasant person.

We have been in other Westins - Marbella, Rotterdam, Sydney, Warsaw - but this hotel really exceeded our expectations. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Gamma tower - close to breakfast buffet, but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino

Address: Navarino Dunes | Costa Navarino, 24001, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Messenia Region
#2 Spa Hotel in Messenia Region
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Messenia Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by old Messinian mansions, the resort’s low-rise villa clusters use natural stone and local design elements to create a motif in perfect harmony with virgin sandy beaches and the pristine hillside landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Hotel Messenia Region
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino Greece/Peloponnese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.