We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful Hotel in Zakynthos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Balcony Hotel to your Saves list
Balcony Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiri, Tsilivi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Tsilivi
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“The most beautiful Hotel in Zakynthos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent one week in Hotel Balcony in June 2013.
As soon as we arrived in the Hotel we were astonished by the beauty of this Hotel and by the amazing view.
The room is nice and in the aspects of design, cleanliness and view of the sea equal or above any 4-5 star Hotel on the Island!
Having breakfast on the huge sea-view balcony every morning was breath-taking!
The breakfast was more or less the same every day, but you could choose from a big variety of traditional house made cakes, salad and sandwitches!
Our room was cleaned every day, so that we could always feel it is our first day!
The staff is very very friendly! Special thanks to Eleni and Dimitris, who helped us a lot to get to know the beauties of the island!
The Hotel is 5 mins from Zakynthos town with the car.
We whole-heartedly recommend this Hotel - no one will regret it!

Adam and Reni

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Me and my wife got married here on the 24th of May 2013 and I can not praise this hotel enough. We went through first choice and our wedding co ordinator, Julie, was brilliant. One thing she told us was not to visit the balcony before the wedding day as it would spoil the surprise of the views. We are so glad that we took that advice as the whole place, and the views are breathtaking. We were lucky to have a very clear, sunny day but, even with amazing photographs, they still do not do the place justice. We had over 40 guests and they were all amazed by the location. We used the wedding photographer through First Choice too, Richard, he worked so hard that day and we are so pleased with his work. He stuck around for a couple of hours after the main photos just to get the sunset shots. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a buffet style meal and the food was fantastic. If you have the chocolate wedding cake through the hotel you will not be disappointed, it was incredible. If you are getting married at The Balcony, you will not be disappointed, it really was one of the best days of our lives. We are looking at coming back to Zante next year and we will definitely be visiting this hotel for a meal at least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a meal here one evening. Great views and relaxed atmosphere. I am a vegetarian and found very limlted choice in vegetarian meals on offer here. A bit pricey as well. Probably wont be returning unless owners improve their menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocen, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel has got really a great view over the Tsilivi beach and town, the rooms are clean, quite modern, bathrooms are roomy and refurbished, (and you get a nice smelling shower gel ;-). Breakfast full and there is plenty of choice.

Mrs. Mamfreda is a sweet lady that speaks very good english and tries to do her best for the comfort of the guests. The only disappointment was non-functinal wi-fi, and phone line, but being the first guests (stayed there 3rd-5th May), I can understand it. The stairs leading to the beach should be considered dangerous for kids and old folks, full of dead olive branches and leaves (but maybe in the summer hotel staff cleans it every day?). Beach right down at the hotel full of seaweed, but to the main beach it is just a few steps away (plus it is probably the same thing as with the staircase). 4 points for sure, definitely reccomending this beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have travelled to Tsilivi many times and wished we had stayed here before.

We took a Taxi from the Airport which only cost 20 euros, well worth it, took only 15/20 minutes to get to the Hotel, so no stopping at every Hotel as you would on Coach Transfers.

On arrival we had a lovely welcome from Sophie the Receptionist and also Eleni.

The first room we were given was nice but small and therefore was grateful Sophie was able to give us a larger room the next day in the new part of the Hotel on the top floor. The room was perfect, with stunning sea views, which were great any time of day. The cleaniness of the room was excellant, I spilt a little sun cream on the floor, cleaned this up with tissue, the tissue was still white not one spot of dirt was found.

We ate dinner a couple of times in the evening at the Hotel and the food we had was really nice. The House Wine was not so good, recommend buying a bottle. The Sun Sets are breath taking.

Breakfast was OK, the same every morning choice of fruit, greek yoghurt honey, jams etc, cereal, cheese, meat, tomatoes, olives feta cheese, bread, bread rolls, pastries and cakes, pizza, boiled egg, bacon and I think omelette/scrambled egg, didn't look very tempting so didn;t fancy that. Found the area too small you were restricted reaching the food. Health & Safety would have a field day with the electric kettle which was on the top tier of the tables, you had to reach over the food to get to the kettle and you had to be tall. The best part of breakfast was sitting outside in the shade eating your breakfast looking out at the sea views.

Getting to the Beach down the steps is an experience, not just that there are no further steps as you get down to the beach and have to struggle the last bit, but also because in the Garden of the property that joins the steps and beach are 3 Alsatians loose in the grounds, they suddenly appear as you are walking down the steps or along side the property and start barking at you, without fail they always made me jump. We found ourselves creeping quietely down the steps hoping we wouldn't be spotted.

In the evenings we walked into Tsilivi but always got a taxi or horse and cart back. The Hill to the Hotel was a killer!!

We had a lovely time here and would certainly go back again all the Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just retuned this evening from a wonderful stay at Balcony Hotel and have to write about it.

The Balcony Hotel is a very special place to stay. Set on a beautiful cliff top, by itself with commanding views over the Bay of  Tsilvi, the deep blue Ionian sea and distant mountain range. There are no sun beds or poolside bars here. It offers a sophisticated atmosphere that would appeal to the discerning traveller. 

There is a large tastefully landscaped terrace from where to have breakfast and another romantic open air terrace tastefully lit for evening meals. One could be forgiven for mistaking the views with that of a cruise liner at night in harbour. The hotel itself has only 3 stories and we were on the first floor. The beauty of this hotel is that almost every room we are told has (stunning) balcony views directly of the sea; and with it comes the gorgeous evening sunsets set behind glistening distant mountains. The backdrop is simply so romantic. We stayed in room 214 (the hotel has 30 rooms in all). In our case we could view the sea lying on our pillows, through the patio door and sculpted balcony. Air conditioning was very effective and came as standard as did a large fridge in the room and WiFi. The latter being worth its weight in gold. The connection worked directly from our bedroom, unlike some hotels where you have to go to the lobby to get a signal. There was plenty of lighting in the tastefully decorated mature pink bedroom and it was very spacious indeed. The room above us was also available on the top floor, but set out with brown furniture. As my partner preferred the white look we stayed put. The bathroom was dated, but immaculately clean and not off putting. Bathrooms in other other rooms have been renovated to a high and tasteful standard and some have baths, ours only had a shower - but no hardship for either of us. 

This is a family run business, originally started by the proprietor's father. Everything about the hotel says they will make your stay special. And they do. Every hotel has its own USP, some give great meals, some great service, some have fantastic location, but the Balcony Hotel has it all at exceptionally modest prices. I made a number of requests during our stay. The proprietor, Eleni is calming and easy to be around and granted each one of our requests with a smile and a "Can Do" attitude - and that included helping us make sandwiches from the morning buffet menu for our return flight. I didnt feel they were simply trying, or trying too hard, I got the impression this is their way of life. What a refreshing and wonderful take on an often tired industry. It certainly made all the difference to the quality of our stay, something different to the cattle market style hoteliers we have come across in the past.  The food was plentiful and extensive at breakfast and the Greek Yoghurt and honey a simple delight. The evening meals were just stunning and we both regretted not spending more nights eating there by moon light. (We normally check with a moon calendar to try and coincide our stay with a full moon for that special touch). We have both agreed we will simply need to go back and have more meals there by moon light!

Visit the Balcony Hotel. It truly is something special in today's fast, quickly fatigued, lifestyle. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and really, our stay was wonderful ...
Clean and comfortable room, with daily cleaning service, nice shape, new furnitures, a great white TV, dryer, fridge and everything you could need during your stay in a hotel .. From our room, although it was situated on the ground floor, we had a spectacular view of the Ionian Sea.. On the negative side? The café-restaurant-bar of the hotel was not open between 10:00-14:00 so, as we used to wake up late, we couldn't drink our "morning" coffee ... Also, on the in-room menu there were not prices ... Otherwise ... Certainly much more than 2 * hotel, will definitely go again and again and of course I would recommend it to all ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Hotel

Address: Akrotiri, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#13 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcony Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balcony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.