We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the rest of the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zante Maris Hotel
Save
You added Zante Maris Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bingley
1 review
“Nice hotel shame about the rest of the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

arrived 28Th Sep room 330 third floor nearest to beach end of hotel very pleased with room cleaned every day towels changed daily bedding every 3 days very clean.On b&b basis wide variety at breakfast if u could not find something u like you must be very fussy .Location of hotel OK near to shops & bars not a lot to see in tsilivi but it does get worse island not very pretty you can see it all in 2 days you do need a car if u do not want to sit by pool all day .Do shop around for car hire ,first choice wanted 149 euros for 3 days got ours for 80 euros all inclusive insurance saw all tourist sites in 2 days nice to get out if we had not we would have tried to get flight home .Very quiet in tsilivi at night not a lot of nightlife but very pleasant for time of year eating out very good tried Popeye's restaurant,family restaurant mario's all very good but bye far the best is the family run SWEET REVENGE excellent service food and atmosphere and full every night well worth waiting for a table . Due to euro against the pound it is quite expensive .The beach in front of hotel not very clean seaweed all over cig end ect on the whole the island looks as if it could do with a face lift would not go back to zante not our kind of place

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    223
    80
    15
    3
See reviews for
226
361
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two weeks from 20th September 2009 on half-board basis. The rooms were spacious and clean with towels changed daily, if required and bedding changed every other day. The prices of drinks were comparable to the UK - pint of Mythos lager €3 and spirits between €3 and €6 - depending on what you were drinking. After the first week it was cheaper to upgrade to all inclusive for an extra €14 each per day. Unfortunately First Choice could not offer this when making the booking. The only odd thing was that you had to pay €1.50 for your drinks after 11.00pm and also for any non-local drinks. The entertainment was quite good but the same every week. Singers on Monday, Wednesday and Friday and Greek dancing group (3 dancers) on Saturday. The other evenings were bingo and quiz night. You could not use the outside pool before 09.00 or after 19.00 and the indoor heated pool/gym/sauna before 10.00 or after 20.00. The gym was situated by the indoor pool so was quite hot and not all the equipment was working. We had 2 days of terrible rain and storms which unfortunately caused some severe "leakage" into the hotel, especially into the restaurant and some other areas of the hotel but the staff did their very best to ensure the areas were kept safe. Just one small situation, a large flat screen TV fell off the wall just after my husband moved his chair - otherwise he would have been injured!! - it had been fitted on to a cavity wall and the rain had come through the plasterwork.... The breakfasts were very very good, plenty to eat from fruit, yoghurts, cereals and full english. The evening meals were OK but quite simple - always a good supply of salads plus 3 meat dishes of different types plus vegetables/rice/pasta. Two outside bars/restaurants with a reasonable menu but quite expensive for what was on offer - €4.50 for a toasted sandwich for example. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool but if you wanted to use the sunbeds on the beach, 2 beds and an umbrella would cost you €6 a day. The beach did not get cleaned unfortunately, so we stayed around the pool most of the time. Watch out for the trips offered by the First Choice reps. The "Greek Night" was a rip off. The cost was €39 per person and you were taken by coach to a Taverna about 20 mins away and were supplied with a starter of bread, a salad and yoghurt with mint then a main course of potato, rice and chicken/pork (not sure which it was!) plus as much wine/soft drinks/water as you wanted. No dessert. The wine - we had red - was like drinking cranberry juice and not very palitable. I found out that the set menu (3 courses) was €14 so where on earth can they justify charging €25 to get you there and for the drink!! Plus of course, the Greek dancers who were on for about 30 mins doing their thing. We enjoyed our holiday all in all - considering it was nearing the end of the season but would not go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We went on this holiday to just chill out and relax and that is exactly what we did. We had read some fantastic reviews about this hotel and also some not so good one's well all I can say is that some people must be hard to please and just go on holiday to find things to moan about!
Our room was on the top floor (there are only 3 floors) overlooking the pool and sea. It was very spacious with a lovely king size bed which you don't usually get abroad it usually 2 singles pushed together.
I was a bit wary of what to expect in the bathroom as some people had said they were small but I was pleasantly suprised there was loads of room. Only thing I could fault was the shower had a mind of its own, saying that there was always hot water.
The dining room was lovely with a wide selection of food for everyone we had something different every night for 7 nights.
The pool area was very clean with lots of sunbeds and parasols but people were getting up at the crack of dawn to put towels on to reserve them even thought it clearly states that this is not allowed.
For a deposit of 10Euro's you could get a beach towel from reception which you could change every 3 days then at the end of your stay you get your deposit back. I wish I had known about this before I went because it saves a few kg's in your case if you don't need to take towels.
Unfortunatley during our stay there was a thunder storm with really heavy rain. Some people had to move rooms due to water coming in but the staff worked their socks off during and after the rain storm mopping and cleaning to ensure everyone was comfortable. I have got to commend them for this they were fantastic.
Only a five minute walk and you were at the shops, bars & restaurants with a wide selection for all ages.
This hotel is fantastic & we would definatley go back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at the Zante Maris Hotel in August and would thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is lovely - spotlessly clean, ideally situated right on the beach, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is fantastic and readily available. We would love to go back again.
The Smith family

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here for a week from 1 September for my cousins wedding.
The hotel was lovely and was always very clean and tidy.
The staff were very friendly - especially Bella in the restaurant and the young barman Jack who seemed to have endless energy.
The pool are was lovely but got busy veru early even though there was a sign saying towels placed there and left before 9am would be removed.
The beach was very nice but you get charged 6 euro a day for two sinbeds and a umbrella. THe sea was lovely and quite warm and stayed shallow for a long way out.

I would recommend going to see the turtles in Laganas. You go out for an hour and we got to see a couple of turtles. The only problem is that there is usually three or four boats fighting for prime position.

The resort of Tsilivi is lovely. There are plenty of bars and restaurants. I recommend That Bar - the staff were lovely and friendly.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmitemmm
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I have just returned from my first visit to Zante and stayed at the resort of Tsivili at the Zante Maris hotel. I immediately took to Zante especially as I found the people to be very friendly (they really appreciate it if you if you try to speak the lingo) and the sea and views beautiful. I would rather give three and a half stars for the hotel.

All staff ( our cleaner especially ) and locals were very friendly, polite and helpful.
The room was quite spacious and we had a ground floor room overlooking the pool. Of course we would have preferred a higher room but we somehow managed to get sky sports which was a huge plus on the tele. My only gripe was the shower was attached to the wall with a flimsy, bit grubby shower curtain in the way so the floor was always wet. I am quite particular about my bathrooms and although thoroughly cleaned everyday they need to retile in those corners where mould is starting to appear.
The pool was lovely and clean and the beach a stones throw away with clear and warm waters ( they charge for sunbeds on the beach so I advise sunbathing by the pool and just leave your stuff for a quick sea swim ). Had no problems getting a sun bed...time of the season maybe?
Loved my sunday roast at the hotel and as usual with buffets food was a bit monotonous but we were well fed and could not complain as everything was cooked very well and tasty enough.
Plenty of places to eat in the town of Tsivili and I enjoyed spending my evenings there as the hotels entertainment was not to my taste...bingo, singers etc but was very happy and safe in the surrounding area enjoying a wander and a drink. It had quietened down at that time of year so not for young couples looking to go for a boogie.

DO NOT book with holiday reps.........59 euros was wanted for the turtle trip but just down the road with Nefelli travel it was 22 euros and they were a fantastic local company that really cared about giving you a good and reliable experience. Or get a car and see the sights yourself.

Personally Zante town is not worth a return taxi journey of 18 euros but the buses cheap at 2 euros were often so crowded they had to drive right past you. We found very little to see and if they say there is shopping to do there...we struggled to find good shops ( but then we did get lost )

I would certainly consider going back there as it is a really pleasant stay but I think some people may be dissappointed as its not quite up to a 4 star level but it is one of the nicest hotels by reputation in tsivili. Any gripes were never enough to ruin the mood, lovely weather, scenery or spoil my lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Zante Maris is a fabulous hotel, lovely rooms, great pool and perfect location on the beach. The staff are unbelieveably friendly and extremely helpful. We got engaged at the end of our stay and while we were having a drink to celebrate we were given a bottle of champagne on the house - a very nice touch.
The First Choice tour reps, Nicky and Vicky were fabulous - very friendly, helpful and always available. Their knowledge and information was outstanding. Considering that tour reps take alot of hassle from some arrogant customers, we found them to be excellent and they couldn't do enough for us. Hopefully see you again next year Nicky and Vicky and all the staff at the Zante Maris!! G&Jx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#10 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zante Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi
Zante Maris Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.