We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zante maris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zante Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Zante Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Tsilivi
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Zante maris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Wonderful holiday in a fantastic hotel, staff, service, cleanliness, food choice, entertainment and locality! Loved it so much we will return next year. Would highly recommend for couples and families

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    220
    79
    15
    3
See reviews for
222
358
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We returned yesterday after a weeks holiday to zante Maris. Upon arrival at the hotel, I saw the prominent notice on the reception desk stating that sun beds could not be reserved, however, this was not enforced and there were no beds available after 7.15am around the pool and by 7.30 the beds overlooking the beach were gone too! Some beds which had been reserved were never even sat on!
I wasn't aware of any hotel daytime activities until I was waiting to go home, as the guy only spoke to people around the pool.....
The reception, restaurant and lunchtime bar staff were all wonderful, always service with a smile and friendly special mention for Ana-Maria.
Wifi Was available in the reception area and very intermittently in rooms!
The location was brilliant and although we were all inclusive we ventured into the surrounding area and experienced good food and drink which was excellent value for money.
The sunbed issue did leave a big negative on the holiday and not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel, therefore have marked this as 3 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for a week in August.

Nice friendly Hotel, clean rooms, good all inclusive food.

Good selection of breakfast. We did not use the lunch buffet, because the beach bar had lovely snacks and salads which suited us. Good selection at evening buffet, and we especially enjoyed the 'themed' meals in the beach bar overlooking the sea - but remember to book your meal as they are popular, and there are limited numbers.

We had a room right on the beach above the beach bar, but it shuts early so we had good quiet nights sleep.

We didn't use the pool all week, because the hotel sits right on a beautiful beach where the water was awesome!

I would definitely go here again :-)

Room Tip: Try to get as far from reception as possible, and beach view is definitely the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is the second time at the Zante Maris, the first time being in 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay which is why we returned. However, this time it was different. The staff at reception, pool bar and restaurant were wonderful, apart from having to wait ages to be served a drink in the restaurant unless you sat in the right place. Our room, cleanish. Plumbing in bathroom appalling. After using the sink to wash hands or have a shower the waste water rose up through the grill on the bathroom floor, not what is expected from a 4 star. The bathroom floor got flooded every day. The water from the shower was hot one second and ice cold the next. Really uncomfortable. The air conditioning unit even on the coldest setting was inefficient and did not cool the room we asked to have this looked at but no change, friends of ours A/C worked and cooled their rooms properly. After showering in the evening we had to leave as soon as possible because the room would not cool down. Entertainment, dire. On our previous holiday Dritan organised the entertainment and was fantastic this year he was so subdued. Dan an entertainments rep was brought in from another hotel but lacked energy and personality. In the pool was volleyball or water polo, not for young children as this got quite rough. Don't expect entertainment for children under 14 years. Evening entertainment should have started at 9.45pm more like 10pm which was too late, average singers, bingo (3 nights a week), best night Greek night (all inclusive drinks stop at 11pm!). The room for playing table tennis was dull and dirty and used for storing chairs and other hotel equipment. The main part of the hotel is nice but the rooms and bathrooms are dated and need attention. The food quality was not up to standard this year. The beach is near it has sand but also has a lot of stones. The hotel is in a good position and the First Choice rep, Hattie is friendly and very efficient. This is a truthful assessment it is quite a nice place but not worth 4 star money.

Room Tip: Top floor away from restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from this hotel yesterday after two weeks in the glorious sunshine and beautiful island that is Zante. I stayed here last year and had the most amazing holiday, so the day after returning we went straight to the travel agents and booked again for this year. I can not fault this hotel in any way at all and overall i enjoyed the holiday just as much, if not more as my first stay here a year ago.

As soon as we checked in this year it was like being at home. Georgia and Kostas (Staff) greeted our family straight away as they remembered us from last year - which made us feel welcome and reminded us why we had booked to stay here again. All the staff are absolutely brilliant and go out of their way to meet everyone's needs to allow holidaymakers to have the best experience. All the student waitresses and waiters were always smiley and happy even though they work stupidly long shifts - big shout out to Ana Maria who never stopped from morning to night but always had a smile on her face and a great manner.

Both our rooms were big and looked out onto the "road" and the hotel opposite and from the balcony we could see the sea. Our room was cleaned every day and we were always left bottles of water to keep in the fridges that come in the rooms (by the end of the holiday we had 12 bottles of water). My only minor complaint about the bedroom i stayed in is that the bathroom sink tap was faulty and the water ran very slowly.

The food is great and just as yummy as last year. Although this year i never had breakfast and would just eat at the beach bar in the day as this is open 10.30am - 1pm and 3pm - 5pm and the food is beautiful and tasty. The evening meals were lovely and on a Sunday the chef serves a traditional roast beef dinner, which for a English northerner like me was an absolute treat and a bonus, especially as there were yorkie puds!! As returning guests we were also invited to the Aqua Bay Hotel in Planos for a 5 star A la carte three course meal - which was all free and again was delicious.

The hotel is in the best location, smack bang on the beach and only a short walk into the town of tsilivi.

Overall my family and i had a brilliant stay at the Zante Maris Hotel and we are already contemplating returning for a third time next year as we were made to feel at home.

PS: ignore the negative "terrible" reviews as they really are not a true reflection of this hotel, its location or of its brilliant members of staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visited Zante for the first time and booked the "Zante Maris" based on recommendations from family
The hotel was great our room overlooked both the pool and sea with a 30 second walk to the beach this was great. The staff were friendly and worked hard throughout the day every day
Food was good generally however we did venture out on the evenings to visit local tavernas to break the monotony - overall great location,great people recommended for young and old

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel is beautiful, and looked after very well. Food and drink is quality and not cheap alternatives, serves Pepsi in all inclusive.

Location is fantastic, right on the beach, and 5 mins walk to Tsilivi centre.


Cannot recommend this hotel enough, will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zante Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Maris Hotel

Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#10 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zante Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Zante Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zante Maris
Zante Maris Tsilivi
Zante Maris Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.