We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ariadne Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ariadne Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Ariadne Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Planos, Tsilivi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Tsilivi
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Apartments were better than I expected, house-keeping done a great job.
Disappointed with previous reviews, of exceptionally helpful and cheery staff. I did not find this from Pamela or her husband, who never spoke to me the whole week.
The mother-in-law, was the only staff member who smiled.
I would NOT recommend this hotel if you are flying from Glasgow/Manchester, as we had to check out 1 day earlier, and Pamela did not seem concerned in the slightest, and very unhelpful.
The Jacuzzi did not work all week either!
But the pool was clean.

On the plus side Tsilivi is a lovely resort for couples or a family !

Room Tip: High floor - Best Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    33
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
89
87
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed at Ariadne for the first time and it won,t be the last. Had a lovely time, really friendly people,nothing too much trouble. Not as basic as some Greek studios. The walk up the small hill was so worth it. The pool area is so clean and I used it every day, something I don,t always do. The rooms are lovely and clean and the service is one of the better ones we have had in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in September 2011 and couldn't fault it. It's a lovely family run hotel which met our pretty high expectations. The family work hard to run the hotel and will go out of their way to help in any way they can.
The rooms are excellent, fairly basic but everything you need and expect from a 3 star hotel. Plenty of space and very clean. Air conditioning is extra but we found we didn't need it, as it was cool enough just leaving the doors open at night. There was some noise, a few dogs barking and cockrels at 2am but shutting the doors soon shut out the noise, so this wasn't a problem. We were on the first floor and the views were fantastic. The balcony was huge and we sat out every evening before going out for a meal and enjoyed the view, drink in hand!
The pool area was well maintained with plenty of sunbeads for all, not matter what time of the day. The food and drinks at the bar were very reasonably priced and the food was good quality (except the breakfast which was a little disappointing). The salads were huge and the chips were the best we had in Zante!
The hotel is up a fairly short steep hill, no more than 5 mins and you are up it so unless you have health problems or are particularly unfit it shouldn't pose a problem. There are restaurants and bars aplenty at the bottom of the hill and from there it's a 5 minuite walk on to the beach.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday, would recommend Tsilivi and The Ariadne to anyone who is considering visiting Zakynthos.

Room Tip: Rooms on the very bottom floor don't have a great view but all other have a fantastic view towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just came back from a week stay at Adriadne, and its fantastic. Very clean, very friendly people and the maids do a fantastic job. We was a party of 6, 2 adults , 4 children and it was everything we wanted . Ive read some reviews on here and some people moan about the small hill climb! Thats all it is a small climb from the main stretch, it was actually a god send for us as its great exercise for us. Well we couldn't find any fault with our stay only it was 7 days and not 14. Just looking to book again but it seems to be fully booked so that should tell you something.Thanks to Pamela and the rest of the staff for the best holiday we had.
Dean & Hayley and kids ( Nottingham)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in these studios in September 2011, they are very good for Greek standards, very clean and spacious and also had a bath, kitchen equipment includes 2 ring hob, toaster and microwave, there is a TV but no English chanels, ample space on the balcony which has lovely directors chairs and great views, we were on the 2nd level. The pool is big enough for a good swim and a small whirlpool, pleanty of loungers , a small play area for young children and a snack bar for meals and drinks. We didn't pay the €70 euros for air con or the €40 for use of the safe. People complain about the hill but it really wasn't any trouble, I was up and down it 3 times a day. They also have a great book swap/library I would guess at about 200+ books and some good best selling authors.

There is a good supermarket at the bottom of the hill over the road, they sell everything you would need, the shops, bars and restraunts are all within easy reach, we used a horse and carriage ride once to the other end of the resort, this cost €10 but is worth it for a special treat.

There is loads of choice in the resort for restraunts of every type of cuisine and bars to suit everyone, relaxed beach bars to karaoke, sports bars and some having impersonator style entertainment even Bingo, Play your cards right and some showing X Factor!! make your own choice.

Excellent resort with something to suit everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just recently returned from a 2 week stay at these apartments which we found to be clean, although quite basic, with very limited kitchen utensil equipment (not even a bread knife or spatula). Yes, the views are lovely if you are lucky enough to be in a high floor room. However, if you are on the basement level the views are extremely limited and as ours faced into the bar, which played monotonous music all day, there was no view or privacy at all so very disappointing. We also found the room to be very dismal and not what we expected. The bathroom was small and water pressure in the sink very poor. The tv aerial socket was hanging from the wall (no english news/channels anyway-apparently the satellite was broken) and other plugs were cellotaped on the wall. Our room was cleaned every day and towels and bedding changed every 4th day. We hired a safe which cost 40 euros for the 2 weeks which was the highest we have ever paid for a safe anywhere. The air conditioning was 70 euros for 2 weeks in a studio and approx 110 euros for a 1 bed apartment - very expensive.

The pool area is lovely, well maintained, very clean and there was always spare sunbeds at any time of the day. The pool bar has the usual choice of breakfasts and lunches although not necessarily the best value in the resort. The bar was open until midnight although there never seemed to be many in there.

This accommodation is situated at the top of quite a steep hill and although it did not cause us any problems, I can understand that anyone unfit would find it a bit of a challenge especially in the midday sun. I do think that Thomsons should make it clear in their brochure that it is not suitable for people with health/walking problems.

On departure day check out is at 10 am. There are 2 shower rooms for use and luggage is left in an unmanned reception area although this did not appear to be a problem. We met people who had night flights and had to pay 40 euros to book into another hotel for the day so it is probably best to try for day flights to this accommodation.

We loved the resort of Tsilivi. There are lots of restaurants/bars etc and the beach area is good with very shallow waters. There is a small harbour and a lovely headland to walk around with a few nice bars on the way to stop at for refreshments.

Buses run into Zante town on a regular basis and seemed to run on time which is rare for Greece! There are plenty of trips around the island but I would recommend that you shop around with the local Agents and don't just book with Thomsons as they seemed to be far more expensive.

Overall, we enjoyed the holiday and would definitely return to Tsilivi but unfortunately not to the Ariadne as we wouldn't want the risk of a basement room again. I have tried to give both the good and bad points relating to these aparments and feel I have given an honest opinion to our personal experience.

Room Tip: Try and request a higher floor, although there doesn't seem to be any choice if these apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Ariadne early July with my brother and his family, we were allocated rooms next to each other on the ground floor, furthest from the bar but still with views. The room was good, we had a problem with a leaking shower hose on the first day and reported it to Pamela the next morining, on returning to our room after a day out the shower hose had been renewed.
The hotel itself is very good, we didn't find the hill a problem, works up a thirst on the way back up!
Quiz night on a Monday is good fun, even causing a bit of family rivalry! 2short on Fridays are good entertainment,
The pool is very clean and there are plentiful sunbeds, the food and drink are reasonably priced and are good value.
We found the staff who attended to the bedrooms to be be cheerful and friendly and while they didn't speak much english I don't speak any of their language but we always managed a good morning and thank you to each other.
Tsilivi is a fantactic resort with something for everyone, the Ariadne is perfectly placed a short stroll to the main strip but tucked quietly away so there is no noise from the bars, didn't even hear the dogs, chickens or rotavators!
If we return to Tsilivi we would happily stay again at the Ariadne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariadne Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariadne Hotel Apartments

Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Number of rooms: 99
Also Known As:
Ariadne Hotel Tsilivi
Ariadne Apartments
Ariadne Hotel Apartments Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariadne Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.