We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Filoxenia Hotel to your Saves list
Filoxenia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi 291 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I with our two teenage sons (13 and 16) have just returned from our second visit to the Filoxenia in as many years. Once again we have found the staff to be fantastic and the fact that a number of them recognised us from last year made us feel so welcomed to be back. The hotel pools and grounds were again in fantastic condition and the rooms were spacious and clean (the maid came every day, regularly changing beds and towels).
Since our last visit we had heard that Andreas the chef would not be there this season which worried us slightly as we loved the food last year and he was a big character, however we found that despite not speaking much English, Vasilios the head chef and his team gave us amazing food, in fact we found it better than last year. We love the fact that the majority of the food is Greek and that the hotel uses some of its home grown produce to make the meals. One of our sons is a very fussy eater but he never went hungry!
Be prepared to put on a few pounds as the all inclusive package provides breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks, afternoon tea (with delicious cakes) and an evening meal.
The tour operator packages do not include a safe or air conditioning but the hotel provides free air conditioning for a few hours a day which, although adequate for some, we always pay to have this all the time. The safe is small but we managed to fit an ipad, three other tablets, passports, money etc.... inside.
We found that the entertainment this year was a huge improvement on last year and the games/activities that Walid and Slim organised kept our boys busy.
The bar staff are fantastic especially Jerry, who always made time for a chat and Luca who never stopped smiling! We found the selection of drinks available under the all – inclusive package to be perfectly adequate – especially the raspberry vodka 
The hotel is about 15 min walk from town and 20/25 min from the beach. Although the hotel provides a minibus or taxis are only 6 Euro.
We have only been back a week and have already booked our third visit next year, which this time we have booked directly with the hotel as we were not happy with the Thomas Cook rep. We can’t wait!

Room Tip: We were in room 211 which had 3 balconies and overlooked the main pool. Very happy with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Shearski!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotels and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

On behalf of all the team here at the Filoxenia we would like to express our appreciation to your for your support on revisiting us.

It was a great pleasure for us to have back again with us and we feel honored when we have the chance to accommodate people like you. People with positive energy, friendly attitude, creating this family atmosphere along with our other guests and of course our staff.

We would all like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for your kind comments on our lovely staff and for giving them such a credit for their hard work and personality. A special thanks to your from our animation team and of course our new chef Valilis. I am sure that you have put a big smile on their face and you have boosted their passion for their work. This is much appreciated from all.

It feels so great to know that you have already booked with us for summer 2014. It is a long way until then, but we are all looking forward to your next visit. We would like you to know that every single member of our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a big smile from the heart. Until we meet each other again, have a nice winter back home and always smile. Love and hugs from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    160
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
203
224
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I don't mean to be negative, but I always check Trip Advisor before booking a hotel and I did that before booking here. Obviously there are lots of people that love it here and have had a great time, but I think if you are used to really nice hotels, this won't be for you.
We were booked in for 6 nights at the Filoxenia but the moment we arrived we were trying to leave! Just not our kind of place at all.

Queing for dinner like you were at a staff canteen with all the food sitting under heat lamps. Lots of people were ordering chips which says it all.
The moment the clock hit the end of the service time, the staff came out and took all the food away in a flash like they couldn't get rid of you quick enough.

The rooms are OK and clean (although a the wall art is a bit naff), the beds are big and comfy but that is really the only plus I can find. It's hot a stuffy in the rooms and the aircon is only on between 11pm and 2am so you wake up in the night swealtering!
All the rooms are around the pool areas so you can't get any peace from the entertainment or the crowds of screeching teenagers.

The bar - has big TV screens with Sky Sports all day long and people sitting around with their football tops on. Bar staff are too busy chatting up girls or having a fag and when you do get a drink it's some un-branded alcohol. We couldn't tell the difference between vodka and gin!
The pool is so close to the bar and no side to it, that we couldn't sit there with my 2 year old daughter for fear she'd fall in or be inadvertantely knocked in by someone trying to get a drink! They didn't serve bottles of water, just water in plastic cups so you couldn't take water back to your room. Really annoying.

Both pools were filthy! At night when the lights were on you could see a thick layer of scum all over the top (sun tan lotion and whatever else) and it was stagnant. No pumps going or any sign of cleaning. There is no way I would have got in that pool, let alone let my child go in there. Ear infection risk at the very least!

There's entertainment in the evening which is just loud and really irriating.
The beach is a bus ride away and not really worth going to. The sea is beautiful but the beach is quite dirty. But anything would be better that hanging around that filthy pool.

And finally - you have to wear a all inclusive wrist band which is really iritating and again - naff! It's supposed to be 4* but I do not see how?!? If it were billed as a 2* I'd have said it was OK. We left after 2 nights - and that was 2 nights too many!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jo Kellas,

We would like to express our frustration for the fact that your review has no homogeneity whatsoever with the majority of our guest’s reviews. Even when we sometimes receive a negative comment, we always find an intention of advice behind our guest’s writings and this is a big challenge for us to improve ourselves.

On the 27th of August we received an email from you where you claim compensation from us and that makes the intention behind your review very clear that only expresses the subjective opinion of yours based on unclear arguments.

What surprised us a lot is the fact that you are referring to the rest of the guests in the hotel directly or indirectly in a way that we would say that it is at least irritating and offensive. For example. ‘if you are used to really nice hotels, this won't be for you’ That diminishes the choice of our other guests more or less saying that they are low level clients in relation to you. ‘ Lots of people were ordering chips which says it all.’ Again here you are emphasizing your intention to refer to our guests as low category people by their gastronomy choice.

Your writings makes us feel we owe to take stand for our guests’ reviews that only reflect their memories and experience from their holidays, including our repeaters over the years who enjoy our hospitality and friendship.

Although your review’s intention is obvious, I will be happy to take your comments one by one and give you an answer to everything that you are referring to.

Once you arrived in the hotel, you claim that you wanted to leave. When you came at the reception we asked you what exactly you did not like in our hotel so we could try to fix it either by changing a room for you, or prepare a special meal for example. You said that generally our hotel was not what you expected and that you found another accommodation. That left us with no option for improvement as we were not aware what made you feel uncomfortable in our hotel. Despite that, we asked you what you would like us to do so we can keep you in our hotel but again you were not willing to reply.


You also said that at nights your child was sweating and that there was noise outside ( even though your room is one of the quietest in the hotel). As a gesture of goodwill we offered you the use of air conditioning free of charge even though we did not have to as it was not included in the rate you paid.

We also cannot understand the meaning of your criticism on queuing at the buffet to have dinner and that the food was under heat lamps. You already knew before you book that our food is served in buffet style. I would rather call it a non reasonable argument.
Stating that our staff took away the food as soon as our dinner ended, is a comment that we have never heard before and that makes us feel very surprised as our staff always waits 5-10 minutes more if there is someone who wishes to catch up.


As for our bar staff there is no way we can accept your criticism that is actually offensive for us. Our staff is a very hard working and absolutely all of our guests adores every single member. I would rather call it our extended family and once someone goes through our reviews it is easily to understand how caring and lovely our staff is.


Your assumption in regards to the condition of our swimming pool is something that you claim without proof. The health and safety of our guests is a number one priority for us and we never risk on this issue.

Our swimming pools are checked twice a day with a very strict schedule and procedure so as ensure its perfect condition. More over we do undertake health and safety inspections from all major tour operators crosschecking that we keep our records in a perfect condition. Our water quality has been through chemical and microbiological analysis from third parties and we are very proud to say that our standards on this matter are the best they can be. So, as you can understand, having all these proofs in hand it would not be wise trying to receive compensation by criticizing without arguments the way we manage our health and safety department.


And finally, you are closing your review by saying that ‘you have to wear a all inclusive wrist band which is really iritating and again – naff’. Well, I think that if someone reads this particular comment of yours will understand your point that leaves me to say that it is very difficult for us to guess what you are trying to say by this.


Unless a hotel description states the opposite, every all inclusive hotel in the world uses wrist bands and i firmly believe that you were aware of it before you even book in our hotel.


To close with, we would like to inform you that we do accept criticism, advice, negative feedback and positive feedback and that is the reason we are here to listen to our guests who take the time to write back to us. We think that there is always room for improvement and this is a challenge for us. But all these under the intention of goodwill and reality reflection.


I am afraid that we are not in the position to accept your comments as they are not based on true facts and reasonable arguments. If you wish to proceed with anything further, you need to contact the tour operator you have booked with.

We did everything we could to keep you in our hotel but I am afraid that it was your choice to leave.

Thank you very much for your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a relaxing holiday! All inclusive - excellent food, catering for all tastes. Greek night entertainment was good fun. Attentive and friendly staff from the moment we arrived until we left. The beach and resort are a little far away, but the hotel run a free mini bus service, or we walked into the resort and got a horse and trap back to the hotel (our oasis!) Would love to visit again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Sara!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you here in our home and it makes us very happy that you felt comfortable and relaxing while holidaying with us.

We would like to say a very big thank you for your kind comments on our lovely staff and for giving them a special mention.

We will be more thank glad if we had the chance to see you back again sometime in the future. Please know that our staff will be always here on the spot to welcome back with a smile from the heart.

Until we get to meet each other, stay safe and enjoy your winter back home.. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just arrived back from a great week at the filoxenia. Beautifully clean and friendly hotel with outstandingly hard working staff. Food was fabulous, great choice. Don't listen to the rep telling you the beach isn't great, we had a lovely few days there and tsvilli is lovely at night although a good 20 min walk from the hotel, lots of lovely shops, restaurants and bars. Zante town very nice but make sure you visit the side streets for boutique style shops. Definitely look to return to resort and hotel. Kids entertained all day by the pool by the daytime entertainment staff don't hesitate if you have kids of any age. Nice mix of evening shows and the Greek night is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Kempy!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant holiday in our home and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations.

We would like to say a very big thank you for your kind feedback on our staff and for giving them such a special credit on the way they took care of you.

It is also great to hear that you got the chance to explore our area and we are more than happy that you found the beach of Tsilivi wonderful. Thank you very much for giving that a mention. By the way Tsilivi beach is one of the few beaches in Zakynthos winning every year a blue flag having clean waters and friendly atmosphere for families.

It will be a great pleasure for us if we had the chance to see you back again in the near future for a second round of relaxing and worry free holiday. Until we hopefully meet each other again, stay safe and always mile.. Love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Filoxenia Hotel. SPecial thanks to Walid and Slim for keeping our 8 year old entertained during the stay, he made some some great friends. Our room was of a great standard, although the weird picture of two dogs getting married was a little odd, but to be fair you're only in the room to sleep so didn't see it much. Our room was right above the Table Tennis table which could be a little annoying at night but the double doors kept out most of the noise. The air conditioning, although extra, was a must purchase and as such we slept brilliantly on the lovely hard beds. The food was of a good standard and the kids meals were great if there was nothing else for A to eat. All in all we had a chilled couple of weeks and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Andrew!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a pleasure that we had the chance to accommodate you in our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays in our beautiful island.

We do hope that the few minors you had with your room wallpaper and the noise from the table tennis did not influence the overall experience of yours and that you left our home with the bvest memories.

We would like to thank you very much for your compliments to our staff and for giving them a special mention.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you back again at the Filoxenia for another round of relaxing and worry free holiday.

Please know that our staff will be right here on the spot to welcome you back with a smile from the heart. Until then, have a nice time back home and take care of each other. Love from all..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tredegar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at this hotel. ALL the STAFF were outstanding food was amazing.Thank you for making our two week annual holiday so special. We had one problem we wanted to stay another two weeks. We met some wonderful friends too.Thank you Felixenia for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Ian and Sue!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful time he
re with us and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations.
The fact that you had the chance to meet some new friends makes us feel very nice and that reflects the great atmosphere our guests create in the hotel It is like being a big family in one place. Thank you for being such great positive people.

We would like to say a massive thank you for your kind words on our staff and for giving them such a praise for what they are.

We hope that we will have the chance to accommodate you back again in our hotel in the near future.
Please know that our staff will be always right here on the spot to welcome you back with warmth and hospitality.

Until next time, stay safe and have a great time back home..xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a friendly welcoming and spotless hotel. We had such a relaxing trouble free time. Thanks to the attentive staff who are always smiling and always ready to help. Go as a couple go with a family go with friends, the filoxenia is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Mark!

Thank you so much for stopping by to share your wonderful feedback for Filoxenia.

It was our pleasure to have you here in our home and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Most of all we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them a credit on their work and personality.

We hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the near future. Our people will be glad to greet you once again with a smile form the heart and take care of you the best way they can.

Until then, enjoy your time back home.. Love from all..xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.