We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEAP and (well just cheap actually)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Filoxenia Hotel to your Saves list
Filoxenia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi 291 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“CHEAP and (well just cheap actually)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Never ever a 4* star hotel, accomodation was big (2 x double rooms) but not necessary for 2 people, very tatty and shappy decor (see photo's). Staff are pleasant most of the time although Luca can be very tempremental and snappy (bordering on rude) at times, he snapped at us and 4 other guests whilst we were present. Hotel is out on a limb from Tsilivi town, yes it may be only 20 minutes walk but in the extreme heat it is not a pleasant walk especially as only a pedestrian pavement for some of the walk. Get used to being woken up at 5.30am by the resident cockeral or the stray dogs barking or the goats and even the rowdy guests who decide to have a pool party on there return from their night out without any consideration for the other guests (hotel did not attempt to stop this).
Food well....for the most part this was well cooked but lacked variety and imagination from the chef and unless you arrived for you meal first thing then expect your food to be luke warm at best, as for deserts well EVERY SINGLE DAY there is a platter of fruit (apples, oranges and melon), this just gets added to each day. Then theres the ice-cream EVERY DAY, and if your lucky the chef might of made a sponge of some description or added a tin of fruit salad to a very weak jelly. This was repeated for lunch and dinner....boring.
We have been going 'All Inclusive' twice a year for the last 4 years and have never been refused a 'Packed Lunch' if we were going on an excursion or to the beach for the day but at the Filoxenia if you want feeding then you have to stay at the hotel, so go to Zakinthos but don't see the Island ??????.
Take plenty of Mosquito repellent or you will get eaten alive.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the ground floor if oyu can help it, but if you have any mobility problems then I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for adding your positive comments about our staff in general. We would like to express our frastrution after reading you review and we hope that those drawbacks did not influence the overall experience of your holidays.
It is very strange to hear about your experience with Lucas. He is one of our best employees working with us the past three years and every one meeting him literally love him. He is a very hard working man and he loves sharing his big smile with our guests. This is something any reader can see in our reviews on TA. We are sorry to hear that you did not like him. With all due respect, please accept our comments about your writings.

With regards to our hotel's distance from the city center there is a mini bus service from and to the beach. For guests who do not fancy a 20 minute walk, they are very welcome to use our transfer services.
Filoxenia hotel is situated in the countryside surrounded by a natural landscape and we are very glad to have mother nature so close to us. Yes, there is a cockeral and other animals in the neibourg surroundings and we are affraid that we cannot so anything about that as we are an animal friendly hotel. Many of our guests love being so close to nature and it is not within our philosophy not share this experience with them. I am sorry to hear that

the sound of the cockeral was annoying to you and it would be pur pleasure to provide you with another room on the other side of our block. All you had to do was to ask at reception and we could move you by first chance.

As for the other guests returing at night, there was never a party that took place at the swimming pool. There is a time schedule for opening hours and we could never allow a late night pool party. If in your case it was all about guests walking to their rooms after returning from their night out maybe talking and laughing to each
other, then we are just on the spot watching and giving the sometime to enter their room. We understand and we respect

they are on their holidays and only as long as we receive a call from another guest we ask them nicely to be quiet. We are very careful of keeping noice balance in desired levels and we apologise if we did not succeed doing it in your case.

We are surprised to hear that our restaurant and food standards did not meet your expectations. Thank you for mentioning that you found food well cooked. Our chef Andreas and his efforts to keep everyone happy is a great asset for our hotel and as it is mentioned in other reviews everyone can find something to fancy in our menu.

Andreas loves cooking for our guests and you can almost taste this love in every dish. Andreas is always on the spot to prepare a different dish on his live kitchen when he is asked. Most of our guests say that even a fuzzy eater can find a dish he likes. We believe that if you asked Andreas we would be more that happy to cook
something different for you. As for the package launch i am affraid that our HACCP hygiene policy does not allow us ti give food away. The reason is that when food is above 6C and under 65C, there is a fast bacteria grow happening and it can be hazardous to sensitive people. That means that every food to be consumed must be in the fridge or in the oven. In other words, this happens for your own safety and by this we minimise the risk of food contamination. No other reason behind.

As far as our maid service is concerned, we would like to apologise about their service standards. Although we know how hard working ladies our maids are, we have taken immediate action by going through pepeative training on our proccesses. I am afraid that a particular maintenance must take place in our bathrooms and this requires the hotel to be closed as it would be noisy for other guests and we are not allowed to do any kind of works while we operate. Please accept our apologise if you felt uncomfortable staying in your room.

Our hotel starring is monitored on a unnual basis by the official Greek tourism organisation and all major international tour operators and is officially classed as a 4 star hotel. As you are an experienced traveller who have travelled around, we understand that according to your experiences, you expectations may vary. We apologize we did not have the chance to cover your travelling needs.

Accessibility in our hotels is a very important issue for us. We have done much work for that and we are one of a few hotels to provide detailed accessibility information on our website. Any guest with mobility issues have the chance to collect detailed information online. In the past, we have accommodated disabled guests with success and we do provide easy routed rooms for them. For more information any guest can visit our web site.

Thank you very much for taking the time to go through our response. Your writings are taken seriously into consideration and they are a great tool for us to improve

our facilities and services. Our management and staff philosophy is that there is always space for improvement and we are lucky to learn from you. Have a great day and thank you very much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    160
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
203
224
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having read the reviews on here before myself and my friend left for our holiday I was fairly confident that we were going to have a good time at this hotel....as it turns out we had a FANTASTIC time! As others have commented the cleanliness of the rooms could be improved slightly...ours had no plug in the bathroom sink but we made do. Plus paying for aircon was a bit unfair but we didnt fancy the mosquito bites so we opted to pay for it. I'm usually quite unsure about eating meat abroad but was surprised to see how appealing ALL of the food looked at breakfast and dinner (we hardly ate lunch at the hotel as went spent most days at the beach which was too far to walk back just to eat). Andreas the Chef is definitely the friendliest chef I've met....considering I work in the hotel industry, I know how grumpy and rude than can get, but for him, nothing was too much trouble, often telling guests he would make anything they wanted, they'd paid a lot to be there and he was there to serve them...now thats great service!! I found all of the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly; Gramos in the restaurant asking if you'd had a good day and always making the effort to talk to you and of course Tasos and Luca in the bar, always happy to serve you with a beaming smile, these guys were definitely the highlight of our evenings, playing jokes on each other and making all the guests laugh, our evenings back home just aren't the same without them!!
All in all we had an amazing holiday and are very much hoping to return next year, a hotel to definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms as guests walking past can easily see in when you have the doors ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Hello PinkStargazer98!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. You review is very important to us, as you are a person that works in the hospitality industry and your experience can give us valuable advice on how we can improve our customer service. First of all we would like to thank you from the heart on your kind comments about our staff. They indeed are very friendly and smiley people loving what they do and this is not done with plain training. We believe that our business is built on relationships and we make sure our people are the ones who love to share their smile and happiness. So, please accept our appreciation for your kind comments.
In regards to the air-conditioning, i must agree with you that it does not sound fair and i feel i owe to explain what is the story behind this.

This happens because of the nature of our agreement with some of our affiliated Tour Operators. Price competition does not allow tour operators to include extra services in the accommodation rate such as air conditioning or safe boxes.

For that reason this is charged extra, as they are unable to include it in the package rate. Unfortunately it does not come out of our initiative. This is always mentioned in our hotel descriptions in travel brochures and web sites.

We believe that it would be more convenient if all services were included in your package rate and this is our primary aim as a hotel group when it comes to distribute our accommodation.
Unfortunately, tour operators choose not to include them in the rate and as a result this appears as an extra charge to pay. It is actually a price competition among tour companies. There are some cases that you will find our accommodation a little more expensive than others and this is because some tour operators choose to include all in a package rate. So, it is all a matter of pricing strategy that we are not able to change. What we choose to do in our web site for example is to include all services in the package rate, plus extra benefits for our guests, including transfer from and to the airport. We believe that a nice package can cover every need of our guests.

I hope our response was good enough to cover your concerns. Again, i would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff and family for your comments. We hope we would have the chance to meet you again in the future. We wish you to have a safe and warm winter back home. Great day to you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brize Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here the first week of September with my girlfriend.
This is a really difficult review to write because some parts of the hotel were great while others left a lot to be desired.
The most controversial point on here seems to be the food. In my opinion the food was good. It isnt mind blowing but was better than I have previously experienced on all-inclusives. Its obvious that the Chef is working with his hands tied to a degree and he deserves a lot of credit for what he manages to turn out. There's a choice of 4-5 hot dishes for every meal plus all the salad you could wish for. The only problem is the meals were the same every day, and this quickly gets boring.
The good/bad theme continues through other areas of the hotel - rooms were really big and well presented when we first arrived but the cleaners were very poor. Having to pay an extra 20-35 euros for air-con is pretty disgraceful too given that you're staying in an all inclusive hotel. Me and my partner refused to pay for air-con and paid the price by being covered in mosquito bites as the rooms are just too stuffy with all the windows and doors closed.
On a more positive note, the two pools are excellent with more than enough sun loungers for everybody. The pool by the bar was the "noisy" pool, with music playing through the day, whilst the other pool was quieter.
The bar staff were EXCELLENT. Made a real effort to get on with everyone and always greeted you with a smile.
The location of the hotel is very out of the way, so bear this in mind if you dont want to sit by the pool all day. It was a 30-40 minute walk into the main town/beach area with its restaurants and bars, which is a pretty hard going walk in over 30 degrees.
The nightlife was surprisingly good! After the all-inclusive finishes in the hotel at 11pm, there are loads of bars open as late as you like in town, and there's a really good party atmosphere in most of them. There's also a brilliant selection of restaurants.. Me and my girlfriend ate out for the last three nights and it was a wonderful break from the hotel food.
All in all, I enjoyed this holiday but how much of that was down to the hotel is debatable.
In summary - Nice big rooms and good pool areas, but average food, poor cleaning, and being charged for air-con drag it down.
7/10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Hello Birdinio!

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to write your review on Filoxenia hotel. Firstly we would like to thank you for your positive comments on our bar staff and our chef Andreas. They are wonderful people and they really enjoy spreading their smile and enthusiasm to our lovely guests. After reading your review, I see that apart from the good things, you had some drawbacks. I hope they did not spoil the overall experience of your holidays. For your information, with all due respect, I feel I owe to mention a few of them.

With regards to our cleaners I need to mention that they are doing their best to serve our guests the best way they can. We receive many compliments for them on our guest questionnaires and they always do their job with a smile for our guests. Please accept our apologies if the maid service in your room was not the one you expected. We will definitely investigate what is behind your writings by monitoring our cleanness levels on a constant basis and we will take immediate action by repeated training. We thank you for bringing this issue on our attention.

Our chef Andreas is running the restaurant pretty well and this is reflected in most of TA reviews, as well as from our questionnaires. It caught us off guard to hear that you did not find our menu satisfactory. Our food menu is one of our strongest parts and we are very proud to be able to offer theme nights almost every night such us Greek BBQ night, Italian night, Zakynthian night, Mediterranean nigh, plus show cooking from Andreas with customizable dishes if any guest requires. In other words, if there something you don’t fancy in our buffet, Andreas is always there to make something different for you. We would appreciate if you could help us with this issue and advice or suggest us what kind of changes we could make on our menu, which you think would make a difference. Your opinion is very valuable for us and whatever you have in mind, we will seriously take it into consideration. Our aim is to have the 100% of our guests satisfied and it only takes one not satisfied guest to make changes.

I agree with you that the stroll to the beach is a bit far. Most of our guests need about 20-30 minutes depending on how fast you walk. In the morning when its hot it is a bit tiring to walk through but at night our guests love a little stroll to the village. I assume you have noticed that Filoxenia runs a Mini Bus service from and to the beach of Tsilivi with a daily time table schedule placed on our reception desk. I hope you did use it and you didn’t have to walk to the beach. All of our guests use it and they seem to be happy with what we offer.

As for the air conditioning I would say that it would be ideal if this facility was included in your package price. For you information I must explain why this happens so all TA readers can be aware. This happens because of the nature of our agreement with some of our affiliated Tour Operators. Price competition does not allow tour operators to include extra services in the accommodation rate such as air conditioning.

For that reason this is charged extra, as they are unable to include it in the package rate. Unfortunately it does not come out of our initiative. This is always mentioned in our hotel description in travel brochures and web sites.

We believe that it would be more convenient if all services were included in your package rate and this is our primary aim as a hotel group when it comes to distribute our accommodation.
Unfortunately, tour operators choose not to include them in the rate and as a result this appears as an extra charge to pay.

It is actually a price competition among tour companies. There are some cases that you will find our accommodation a little more expensive than others and this is because some tour operators choose to include all in a package rate. So, it is all a matter of pricing strategy that we are not able to change. What we choose to do in our web site for example is to include all services in the package rate, plus extra benefits for our guests, including transfer from and to the airport. We believe that a nice package can cover every need of our guests.

On behalf of all the staff and family at Filoxenia please accept our appreciation for your kind comment and our apologies for not meeting all of your expectations. Your advice on our customer service is respected and accepted. We will do our best to put them all into practice. We wish you to have a great time back home and have a warm and safe winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden of sun, altinkum
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned today from the filoxenia,, had a good 10 nights, when we got there there had been a problem with our room, overbooked, so we were given alternate accommodation in another resort, but myself and my husband and our two friends took a 2 bedded room, room 216 OMG massive, we shared this for 2 nights then our friends went into their own room,we stayed in 216, lovely spacious big rooms, lovely pool area, bar area, dining hall big, food very nice, had the soup most evening, very tasty, why do people moan about the food, there was always something nice on, and if you dont want THEIR kind of food, dont go all inclusive, really winds me up, Yes the beach is far away, BUT you moaners knew from the other reviews, so why book to go here, why not book summat close to the beach, durrrrrr, we got the horse and carriage a couple of times, and a few taxis,,hired a jeep for 3 days,, wow, we saw some sights, thanks to our driver GRAHAM, had a thunder storm on day 2 of the jeep, but still didnt stop us, just put the cover on,, lol, what a laff, the entertainment on a day and evening was poor, but what do you expect a westend musical for gods sake,,, plus we got our safe and air con free,, maybe something to do with the mix up with the rooms,, AND you got to use the internet FREE of charge also, my only main dissapointment was,, i had to come home, a fun filled holiday

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Hello genaOB!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel. Its nice to hear that you had a great time in our island! We really appreciate you kind comments about our staff. Every single one one them is a shining star for us! Please accept our apologies for the mess up in your room at the first place. I am glad you finally found our rooms comfortable for you and i hope that the theme in your your was one of your taste. My favorite is the red rose room ( romantic)
I hope you had the chance to visit some good places around Tsilivi with your Jeep. This side of the island has amazing beaches to visit. i call them hidden treasures.
As for the reviews in general, well thank you for putting it that way :-) but on the other hand our philosophy is to accept and respect every guest opinion. People have different kind of expectations according to their experience and way of living and our aim is meet them all. If there is a case that we believe we have done a mistake we are always willing to correct it as fast as we can.
As for the entertainment, we have already some thoughts for next year that we could add to our program. We hope our guests will love it.

Thank you again for being so positive, up to the point and straight forward. Please accept our appreciation for your kind comments. We hope we will have the chance to have again here as a guest in the future. We wish you to have a nice time back home and a warm winter ;-)
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Although the review is marked under family, I have just returned home after a week's stay at the Filoxenia Hotel with my mum and can say it is one of the best holidays we have had. We enjoyed having a lazy week in the sunshine. There was never any problem getting a sun lounger, no reserving early in the morning. The food was lovely, and the chef Andreas went out of his way to do anything for you - if there was something you would like cooking if he could do it at all he would. This was the case with all staff - everyone was very friendly and helpful, and did everything they could to make sure you enjoyed yourself. We would like to mention Gramos in the restaurant, Luca and Tasos at the bar in the evening who made everyone laugh, Andreas the chef and Dennis who was in charge of the bar during the day. Dennis' cocktail show was one of our favourites - mum especially enjoyed drinking the margherita! Sarah was very helpful and we had lots of laughs with other guests taking part in aqua aerobics and greek dancing. Greek night was our favourite night where you can see traditional Greek dancers and there is live music. Rooms were always clean and tidy and our room overlooked the pool. The only issue we could find is that our travel agent informed us the walk to the beach would be about 10-15mins, it is much longer and we would say about half an hour, in the heat of the day this isn't ideal but it isn't the end of the world. I would say if you are after a busy holiday right in the centre of the town, this hotel may not be the most suitable for you. However, we just wanted a lazy week in the sun to relax, have fun and enjoy ourselves and we definitely did! We felt comfortable here. Thank you very much to everyone at the hotel who made our holiday great, both staff and other guests we met. :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground level appeared to be quite dark, so we had requested a higher room anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hello ktbx!

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to write a review on Filoxenia hotel. It makes us very happy to hear that you had a great time with your mum. We would like to thank you for your kind comments on our staff. Those people are there just to serve you, but most of all to make you feel comfortable and happy, always with a true smile on their face. This is what we want to be and thanks again for letting us know that we made you feel that way!

I am sorry to hear that you did not have the right information about the walking distance from Filoxenia to Tsilivi town. It normally takes 20-30 minutes to walk there depending on the speed you walk. I hope you had the chance to use our mini bus service available from and to the beach. There is a timetable at reception which includes beach transfer service around 2-3 times per day.

Overall we all hope you have taken some good memories with you back home to keep you smiling during the winter. We are looking forward to see you again sometime in the future. We wish you have a safe and warm winter back home ;) Thanks again for your time on reading our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from Zante having stayed at this hotel. We chose it from write ups on trip advisor. The hotel staff are friendly and the chef is helpful. The food was very good. My wife usually gets fed up with the menu on all inclusive, but she was happy with the varied food available. We were all inclusive but had to pay extra for the safe and air con, dont feel thats right if all inclusive.
A couple of things that disappointed me .... the maids didnt clean the rooms very well, clean towels were not forthcoming and they didnt wipe down the shelves in the bathroom or remove glasses. Entertainment during the day is a waste of time, the evening not much better unless you enjoy bingo !
The courtesy bus going to the beach in the morning is great but they left us there on the saturday at 6pm. They forgot to pick us up so we walked and its not 10 minutes as stated by many ...more like 25 - 30 minutes , not fun in the heat loaded up with beach towels,snorkels bags etc. The beer was nectar when we got back to the hotel.They did it again on the Wednesday this time luckily we mangaged to phone hotel and they came to get us.
Beach was great sun beds a lot cheaper than Tenerife. Overall not a bad holiday but have had better.
Main draw back its out of town and its a 25 - 30 minute walk not 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Hello mollydollyCardiff!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Filoxenia hotel. We are happy to hear your positive comments on our staff and we appreciate your kind comments about them. They are doing a very hard job and your satisfaction is a big reward for them.
After reading your review, i saw that you had some drawbacks in several issues. I hope these did not spoil the overall experience of your holidays and you left our island with positive thoughts.
We are surprised to hear that you did not have the service you expected from our mini bus. Our time table is very clearly displayed at reception desk which states that there is 10 am and a 6 pm service on schedule. In the meantime, if any guest wishes to have an earlier pick up, we are always happy to do that for them as long as it is reported in advance at reception. Our staff has very clear instructions to write down all pick up appointments so as to avoid confusion. As it is the first time we hear a complain about this issue, we assume that there must have been a luck of communication that we cannot spot. Please accept our apologies if we did a mistake. We will make sure to fill this gap to not let this happen again.
Thank you for pointing out your comments in regards to our cleanness. We always pay big attention on this service and we constantly monitor our cleanness standards. We always score very high on this service and if anything comes up to our attention we make sure it is solved on the spot. We will make to investigate what is behind your writings and take immediate action so as to improve our standards through constant training.

For your information, in regards to the air-conditioning, the reason it comes with an extra charge, is because because of the nature of our agreement with some of our affiliated Tour Operators. Price competition does not allow tour operators to include extra services in the accommodation rate such as air conditioning.

For that reason this is charged extra, as they are unable to include it in the package rate. Unfortunately it does not come out of our initiative. This is always mentioned in our hotel description in travel brochures and web sites and it is available to all guests before they proceed making a booking in our hotel.

We believe that it would be more convenient if all services were included in your package rate and this is our primary aim as a hotel group when it comes to distribute our accommodation.
Unfortunately, tour operators choose not to include them in the rate and as a result this appears as an extra charge to pay.

It is actually a price competition among tour companies. There are some cases that you will find our accommodation a little more expensive than others and this is because some tour operators choose to include all in a package rate. So, it is all a matter of pricing strategy that we are not able to change. What we choose to do in our web site for example is to include all services in the package rate, plus extra benefits for our guests, including trasfer from and to the airport. We believe that a nice package can cover every need of our guests.

Lastly, as for our entertainment, we have some thoughts on adding some activities that our guests will love. We would be more than glad if you could tell us your suggestions or advice on what would be that X factor that could improve our animation standards. Your advice on this is very valuable for us and what ever your idea is, it will be takes seriously under consideration. Your experience matters to us.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to read our response. All the staff and family at Filoxenia wish you a pleasant and warm winter back home. We hope we will have the chance to meet you again and give us the opportunity to share those changes with you. have a great day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Totally recommend this hotel. The staff are amazing. The chef makes you feel like you have known him for years and the food is lovely. The waiters and maids are so friendly and make you feel so welcome. The bar staff (luca, dennis, etc make being round the pool area so much fun they are all so friendly and happy. Fantastic holiday didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Filoxenia Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Hello sara h!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Filoxenia hotel! It makes us feel so happy to hear all those kind comments for our lovely staff. What you describe in so few sentences can make up so many pictures or warming, friendliness and hospitality. Thank you for being so kind ;-)
I will certainly pass your comments to all of our staff! they will be thrilled to hear them. We all wish you to have a great time back home and a warm and safe winter. We hope we will have the chance to meet you again in the future.. Have an awesome day! Love from the staff and family of Filoxenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#9 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerald green grass. Topaz blue skies and big mountains. These are the jewels of Tsilivi Zakynthos that plan to spoil you from the moment you arrive in Filoxenia Hotel. The natural scenic beauty of the complex is juxtaposed by our traditional Greek hospitality; enchanting visitors who leave with the most favorable impressions and the certainty that they will keep in touch and vow to return. An exquisite and comfortable "Home away from home", a warm feeling of welcome in a quite and soft atmosphere, unique in Zakynthos. Newly refurbished in 2009 with its new modern minimal character and very spacious and unique accommodation, will certainly give you the comfort you expect from your holidays.The four star Filoxenia Hotel is only 4 km away from Zante town, ideally situated in one of the less busy and beautiful countryside in the island, within 20-30 minutes walking from Tsilivi beach and the busy resort center.Modern amenities, a sprinkling of umbrellas by the poolside, 2 swimming pools and a children's pool accentuate the natural beauty of our complex for the young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tsilivi
Filoxenia Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.