We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic- Good waterpark” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Planos Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Planos Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Planos Bay Hotel
Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Basic- Good waterpark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week with our 5 year old son. We had a good time the waterpark is fantastic!!!! However the rooms are very basic, no cooker, no bath and the shower head was not attached to the wall!? Unfortunatley we were woken up every morning at 7am by the builders and the bins being collected, there is a busy road at the side of the hotel and this is were our room was (119) the noise from this road kept us awake most of the night and the beds were very uncomfortable. There are some fantastic resturants in Tsilvi and it is a nice family location with lots of the resturants having childrens play areas. We would not stay at this hotel again however we did have a good time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    146
    68
    21
    10
See reviews for
340
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks with all the family including 2 grandchildren. Apartments are adequate and comfortable. The reception and in house First Choice team were very helpfull always smiling and happy. The water park is fantastic and only a short walk away. Stamnes bar over the road is very good, in fact all the local resturants were good. The Olive Tree in Tsilivi centre is fantastic and well worth the walk.
The only down side is the noise after 12.00 pm when the main entertainment stops. Some people are not as considerate as most others and make too much noise at 01.00, 02.00 03.00 and even 05.30 coming home. The hotel need night security to enforce a more peacefull atmosphere as most familys have children and the night reception do not seem capable of dealing with the problem.
Loads of sun beds, always some availble around the pool. Hundreds of sun beds in the water park. It still does not stop people putting towels on the beds at 07.00 !! and everyboby thinks it is only the Germans who do this?
Overall a good holiday as we had a great time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

See below for my 2010 review!!!

Well what can I say, another fabulous holiday leaving us wishing we had a bit more money to spend on another two weeks! Children crying when the coach arrived to take us to the airport for the return flight!! Yet another fab send off from the staff followed by me crying along with the kids!!! I love Zante but this place is special!!!

The new entertainment staff Smiley Stacey and Matt are fantastic along with the wonderful Loopy Luke who has returned for another season!! Rockin Ryan, Sunshine Steph and Snazzy Sarah in the kids club - the kids adored them all. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys when it comes to the kids! Waterpark now free is fully functioning this year and the kids enjoyed it even more as we were able to go as often as we wanted!

Rooms have been done up since last year and more improvements are being made as I write ready for next year when they like every other first choice hotel goes all inclusive! Breakfast in the entertainment room is nice and good value! (its a trial run for next year I think but the staff are doing an excellent job - especially Bella!

The tvs are sorted and the cats almost all gone!! Apart from that my review for last year still stands - and believe me when I say if my numbers come up on the lotto I'm taking up residence each and every summer for the forseeable future in room 119!!!!

What a gem!!


Oh where to start.... so many people write only bad reviews on here. I know I have just written one for another holiday.

What a fabulous, fantastic, welcoming hotel - the staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful - especially Sam who was always busy helping someone. Where else have you stayed where the staff wave off each and every coach to the airport? Much appreciated and sealed the deal on our next holiday!

The rooms are basic - but it is greece and you only sleep and eat breakfast and lunch in them at the most. Never had an issue with the cleanliness or the cleaners who were always busy cleaning something around the hotel no matter what time of day it was! Our tv didn't work, but they are newly installed flat screens and they are aware of the issues! Wasn't a problem for us as we weren't expecting a tv and took the kids portable dvd player as always anyway! All the bars have sky to catch up with the news/sports so you don't really miss out on anything!
Our kids loved the pools - yes they were slightly chilly in a morning but warmed up later on - no different to anywhere else though! We were there may half term and didn't find the pool that busy and always managed a sunbed close to our room around the pool each day with no need to get up early to claim one! Just watch out for the cats around the pool, they will sleep on your balcony if on ground floor and cry to each other all the time - not much the hotel can do about them though!
First choice run kids club - cant fault it at all, my girl was never out of there, loved the pyjama club twice a week. My son went to creche which is very underused! He had a whale of a time and was spoilt with attention and affection from the girls in there - we didn't think he would settle but ran to the door and banged to be let in each time! No problem with him at pyjama club either - he fell asleep a few times and had to be carried back to bed at pick up time! Yes you have to pay for creche but a small amount and its so worth it! The girls even laughed about my son painting their legs instead of the paper!
We went to the water park too and the kids loved the younger section - too small for the big slides yet but they will make full use of them when they are older!
We did eat out every meal but also ate from the snack bar - didn't stay for the entertainment as prefered to walk and tire the kids out due to afternoon naps. Hotel shop is reasonably priced and sells everything from nappies and suncream to milk to beer and snacks, and inflatables.
Kaliva bar (turn right out of the hotel to end of street) is fantastic for food, and drinks, and even better if you have small children - there is a great play area, and lots of tvs showing different channels. Whilst we were there I watched a grand prix, whilst football was showing further down the bar, along with cricket and sky news whilst the kids played happily and we were waited on for drinks etc. What more could you ask for! Staff are so friendly and helpful too! The med is great too for all meals. Two brothers is another fab bar - can't do enough for you including putting your fav sport on the tv for you!

The beach is not great near the hotel however if you walk up into the town centre and take a left you will walk through a shopping area to a cracking beach next to the hotel Iakinthos.

All in all a fab hotel in a great resort that felt like home from home, didn't want to leave ever and are booked in again for next year already!!!

Room Tip: if you have children request a room from 113 -119!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Was a bit unsure of what to expect as it was a last minute booking, but the Apt was excellent(205) very spacious and clean, kitchenette was very well stocked kettle, toaster, microwave etc

The beach was very pretty and the sea so warm...

Stamnes across the road from apts was excellent for food and the Greek night was a must.....the restaurant don the road overlooking the beach was also very good and the views across the sea and the sunset is a must

Room Tip: Room 205 was good as sun till late............
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4, kids aged 8 & 10 and it was great. Got to admit i wasn t looking forward to going here as i wasn t keen on not been able to flush the toilet paper down the toilet but wasnt a problem as the maids came every day and emptied the bin and made the beds etc. Plenty of sun loungers even at 11 am which is great as u don t have to rush out 1st thing. The water park is brilliant. Even for adults. Just a short walk over the bridge.. If u go in May or June u get in every day for free , if u go in July u only get in once free, then its 18 euros per adult and 14 per child per day . The kids club and entertainment at the pool are great for the kids. Most of which is free. The pool side snack bar does some great lunches reasonably priced. The town is only a short walk away . The staff are the hotel are lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed with my Boyfriend at the Planos Bay hotel from June 12th-19th.

The hotel is in a great location, a 5 to 10 minute walk from the main street and with easy access to the beach 5 minutes the opposite direction.

upon arrive at the hotel, checkin was simple, and we were done in less then 5 minutes, we stayed in room 201, which was on the first floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool. the rooms were spotless. the bathroom was immaculate, and looked like it had jus tbeen done up. however, mayber not finished, the shower hose was not fixed to the wall, a small thing, bu tit did get a bit annoying towards the end of the week. Also, about half way through the week, the toilet rool stopped being replenished!!! We had to buy our own from wednesday on ward, the first room of the suite had two single beds, two hobs, toaster kettle, pots pans etc. and a small table.

the main room with the double bed had a tv(not working for first two nights, but the repaired) another wardrobe and a balcony overlooking the pool, complete with clothes line and table and four chairs. excellent.

you get a wrist band at reception for the waterpark, which is just a short walk away - about two minutes.

the pool is a great size, and always loads of loungers. the entertainment is great fo rthe children, but as we were travelling childrenless, we found it a bit much, also, at night, it was very loud. there was always an event / singer / quiz on at night, which is great, however after midnight the entertainment crew lost control and were getting thrown in the pool but tipsy parents at 2am. I did not appreciate this. and it happened more then once. they were asked to go inside after 12midnight to the bar, but remained outside singing at the top of there voice.

the evening night time reception lady is very friendly and approachable.

overall a great stay, but would appreciate a bit of sound control at night.

Room Tip: not to get one overlooking pool if you want am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Middlesex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I always found this site useful for holidays and as I have just returned from a week self-catering at the Planos Bay I HAD to write a review.

The main reason for writing this is to reassure any of you thinking of booking (or like ourselves planned a holiday well in advance) that you will have a fantastic time.

We arrived at the Planos Bay unsure of what to expect but all I have to say is good things. We stayed in room 316 which is on the top floor and has a pool view, it was lovely. The pool is great for the kids and the free access to the water park was amazing! You literally give your room number, get a wrist band and have unlimited use of it for your entire stay!

One thing I would suggest is the ship wreck boat trip (but do not book throught he hotel/ travel company) Pop down to the harbour and see "Spiros." You'll find him on the beach in the afternoon, but it is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We paid 45 euros for adults and the kids went free! You start at 8.30am - 2pm and you see everything, amazing caves, kids and women get a chance to drive the boat and you stop off for a bite to eat. As the speed boat only take 30 people it is a great trip as you see so much and get to snorkle in the blue caves!

As far as restaurants are concerned the food is lovely everywhere, best steak you will find is at a restaurant on the main strip called "Il Gusto" brilliant food and you must try the Irish Bar "Molloy Malones." They make families so welcome and actually moved people so the kids had a better view of the fire eaters.

As far as the beach is concerned so make sure you have shoes as it's not fine sand, but it is still lovely.

We want to go back already! Try the mini golf and have an amazing holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planos Bay Hotel

Address: Planos, Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Planos Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planos Bay Tsilivi
Hotel Planos Bay
Planos Bay Hotel Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planos Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.