We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Beach Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly SENTIDO Alexandra Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Wiltshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

My future hubby and I went to Greece in 2005 but stayed at the Planos Apartments. When doing some walking around Tsilivi we found the beautiful beach where the Alexandra Beach Hotel is. As we were engaged at the time we promised ourselves we would come back in 2008 for our honeymoon and stay at the Alexandra Beach Hotel.

When back in the Uk we found out that you can get married on the beach at the Hotel, so our undecidedness of where to marry was soon forgotten and we found a wedding co-ordinator in Tsilivi and after numerous e-mails and a few phone calls, our flight back to Greece had arrived in August of 2008.

RECEPTION & ROOMS:
When you arrive at the hotel there are so many beautiful flowers and plants that surround the hotel. The reception area is clean, bright and the staff are lovely. As we had the honeymoon suite, we were totally shocked when entering our room.
The room was very clean, BIG, and bright and as for our balcony, well i think we could of had a disco there. It was massive, very private and the view was absolutely breathtakingly beautiful seeing the ocean and the beach. Now this is just the honeymoon suite, and upon meeting other tourists there, and we asked about thier rooms, they even said how spacious and good it was.

STAFF:
The staff are very friendly and will always do there best to make your vacation memorable. Many times drinks were on the house and believe me...the drinks are STRONG! The staff always came up to us and talked and even when leaving the hotel to do some sightseeing, they would always wave and smile. Very nice people!

FOOD:
The only time we ate there was after we got married on the beach and you will certainly NOT go hungry. We ordered a greek salad, bottle of wine and a plate of shrimp and was totally shocked when the seafood came out to us. We thought only a few shrimp would be on a plate but this was a platter the size of three big dinner plates.

BEACH:
The beach is not for hotel guests only. Anyone can go there! The part of the beach which is the nicest and cleanest is right by the beach bar at the hotel. There are tables with thatched roofs and makes the atmosphere very tropical. Music is always playing (not loud) and majority of the time is was raggae. If you head to the other part of the beach further down you may not like it as much as it is packed with so many tourists, and we did find not only on the beach but also in the water some not very nice things. I don't mean sea creatures (well one time I freaked out as we were swamped with jelly fish around us) but what i mean is garbage and personal belongings to men and women. Think you get what i'm saying!?!
But stay by the hotel and i guarentee you will like it.

ENTERTAIMENT:
The entertainment in the evenings is very good. Most nights there are themed nights and while we stayed there, the owner of the hotel with his family had a massive bbq on the beach, with some family members playing instruments and singing. They made us feel very welcome as they came up to us and said "hi" and even offered us free drinks...which of course we welcomed.
Other nights were a disco outside and even fireworks.
If you head down the strip of Tsilivi you will find a lot more bars. The two brothers was our favourite and the Kaliva which is just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel.

EXCURSIONS:
My husband and I rented a jeep for two days and believe me this is all you need as in the two days we drove around the entire island. This is a great way to see the little things you won't see on paid trips and some of the scenery is beautiful. We found this little village in the middle of nowhere and bought some really authentic stuff like greek bowls, oils, etc...and it is much cheaper than the stores in the resorts.
Another day we booked a trip to see the loggerhead turtles but unfortunately we didn't see any and one trip I highly recommend is going to Smugglers Cove. All I can say is WOW!!!

OVERALL:
Our stay at the Alexandra Beach Hotel is definately a memorable one. Not only because we got married there and had our honeymoon but because of the incredible hospitality. The weather is hot, people are nice, the hotel is beautiful and big and cannot fault one single thing. As this was our second time to Tsilivi we may go back yrs from now to spend our 25th anniversary there, but if not...then at least we have the memories of a truely wonderful and relaxing vacation.

Hope this helps those of you going to Tsilivi for the first time and I wish you a GREAT vacation as i'm sure you will have.
All the best!
x

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    91
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
68
101
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have just arrived home from two glorious weeks in the Alexandra Beach Hotel.
The hotel has a very friendly relaxed atmosphere. The accommodation was very good (for Greece) and was kept very clean. This was the second time we had stayed at the hotel and as last time the food was variable. However there were some very nice tavernas and bars nearby so this was not a problem.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would have no hesitation in retuning there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding in september 2008. We had a bungalow and it was perfect for our needs. The fridge got alot of use as it was very warm when we were there. The hotel was excellent and the staff very nice. We ate in the hotel a little as our 1 year old daughter needed to eat before the night time restauraunts. The breakfasts were very good, myself and my daughter went every day for breakfast while the wife had a lie in. Every restauraunt we went to served great food, my only gripe was that we could be waiting 1-2 hours for the food to arrive after we ordered. This was fine for us but my daughter got extremely bored. Alot of pubs have play areas, these were fantastic if they were shaded as we could sit and relax while our 1 year old played on slides and in ball ponds. We all really enjoyed our trip to Tsilivi.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Stayed here last Sept (08) and loved the Hotel, it's location and what it offered. My gripe would be the dogs in the villa next door to the hotel. I stayed in the 'bungalow' nearest the dogs, and the barking was unrelenting. It kept me awake and I wanted to go home. The hotel wouldn't relocate me. The owner of the villa is an old German woman and during the evening she stays more inland at her main residence. She leaves her dogs at her villa next to the hotel, and they are left to roam free around her garden. They bark and howl and even though I love dogs ..... they were an absolute nightmare. There is no RSPCA in Greece and it is accepted to treat your dogs like crap and just to leave them, so nothing could be done. I had read some recent reviews and it appears the problem is still there. My advice would be to NOT stay in the bungalows, but to only stay in the main Hotel. Apart from that I loved the place, but it seemed to host a wedding every few days. Would I go back .... Yes, but only in the main hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed here from June 7th for 2 weeks. Hotel location is really good but rooms are in need of renervation. We stayed in a Bungalow next to the pool.First time we;ve been Half Board to greece normally go self catering and food was good.We had a greek Wedding on last night and pool area was closed at 4pm to prepare for 340 guest.. Nice to watch but not nice to listen to while 4.30am in the morning especially when you have a flight to catch that morning. When we spoke to the rep at the airport that morning she knew nothing of the wedding details.Be warned we were told that the hotel has another 7 booked in the comming months.The bar prices were increased on the 2nd week due to the season starting so we were told. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpfull which to me makes the hotel.Drinks prices not only in the hotel but in Town were expensive and variable on the same drinks so watch where you drink,British Bars are not the cheapest in Town.Pop in to The Two Brothers Bar for good atmosphere and reasonable priced drinks.Would we go back to this hotel? yes but not for 2 weeks and only if we got it on a late deal and paid less than this time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I stayed at Alexndra Beach Hotel for 2 weeks from 6th June 2009. I found the hotel to be very well maintained and the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, it had a lovely little beach, which suited me perfectly, I could dip in and out of the sea at my leisure and there was a little snack bar with good food for lunch. Was on half board basis, thought the variety of food was very good but like everything after 12 days had enough so went into Tsvili where I had lovely fish and chips. Overall I would say that it was good value for money, the rooms were basic but they did provide air con free of charge which is rare these days. The staff worked very hard to keep it clean but despite that they were friendly and very very obliging!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkby61
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Booked our holiday last august was so excited 4 star, massive pool and beach parties, how wrong was i got there at 6am got put in a small grotty 2 star bungalow so much to having a romantic 1st wedding anniversary in luxury hey, hubby went to reception and complained took all our booking info but they refused to move us please note although you book the hotel get confirmation that you"ve booked the hotel you DO NOT get it, we waited for our rep to arrive and although we could not stay in the hotel we did get moved to another bungalow which was tiny but so much cleaner and outside seating area, so we decided not to dwell on the room and get on with our hols (must just tell you everytime we turned a light on we got a shock so by the end of our stay we were turning the lights on and off with my hairbrush to avoid shocks). The maid service is spot on and the girls are very nice all the staff were very nice think it makes up for the hotel. The pool is smaller than you think but plenty of sunbeds, we did have to ask twice for rubbish to be taken out of the pool which they did straight away, the grounds are kept very nice. The restaurant and food was faultless i"m a vegetarian and did not stuggle once to have an evening meal although i would prob not recomend half board although the food is great the drinks at the hotel are very pricey cost us 10 euros for a pint and a vodka and lemonade. Also this hotel does ot provide any night time entertainment. They advertise that from june a beach party is held on a friday night we were there for 2 fridays no beach party they start in july also you are told all sunbeds are free on the beach not true they charge 6 euros for 2 for the day. If you book a trip i would so recomend not to use your holiday provider go into tsilivi and book with one there you can"t miss them they are half the price and the english speaking tour guides are so much nicer and better, we can judge on this as we booked 1 with thomas cook and the other with a local firm. The town is lovely so many places to eat and drink go a bit further into the town and the supermarkets are so much cheaper. We went half board and asked if we could eat at lunch time instead of the evening was told CERTAINLY NOT. One thing i found was it felt so safe to walk around man or woman could certainly walk around this town on their own day or night and feel safe. Would i go to tsilivi again god YES, would i stay at the alexandra again NO i think when you book and pay for 4 star treatment it should be provided if they had advertised this hotel as a 3 star and 2 star bungalows would be more realistic. xxxx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Resort

Address: Tsilivi 29100, Greece (Formerly SENTIDO Alexandra Beach Resort)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
#13 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandra Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the SENTIDO Alexandra Beach Resort on the enchanting Greek island of Zakynthos which offers you an unforgettable beach holiday in the Mediterranean with direct access to the beach and with leisure and service facilities. The SENTIDO Alexandra Beach Resort lies directly at the sandy beach of Tsilivi on the Greek island of Zakynthos, the southernmost of the Ionian islands. Zakynthos was named the "flower of the east" by the Venetians due to its lush vegetation and the picturesque sandy beaches. The beach is just a step away. Holidaymakers can rent sun-loungers and parasols there and hire canoes and paddle boats for a small fee. Just a few minutes' drive takes you to the centre of the port of Zakynthos, 7 km away. The island's main town offers you culture, museums, restaurants and cafes as well as plenty of shopping opportunities. International clubs are located at Tsilivi beach 1 km away. The nearest tavernas and shops are just 250 m from the hotel. Zakynthos Airport lies c. 8 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alexandra Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alexandra Beach
Alexandra Beach Zakynthos
Alexandra Beach Tsilivi
Alexandra Beach Hotel
Alexandra Beach Resort Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.