We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravel Hotel Zante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caravel Hotel Zante to your Saves list
Caravel Hotel Zante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Tsilivi
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Birthday Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent 2 weeks in this hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel very clean Pool barman nice but wanted to be doing life guard not the bar pool advertised as open to 7 PM but barman closed off at 5pm. After a few days the cocktail list was taken away due to customers drinking to much.
Food not bad 3 bad nights out of 14.
The only thing that I found was very disappointing was the free Wifi this only seemed to work when officials from other travel companies around. Thank god I didn't need it for work I would of been bold by now.
I would like to go there again the hotel is in a very good position next to the beach.
If you are going to organise any trips do it from the supermarket Foody's they are cheaper than the reps and less of you so this will be a better experience .
Rooms were always kept clean.
We informed the restaurant manager that we had someone celebrating a birthday and they made a lovely strawberry birthday cake.
There was 6 of us on holiday and had a good time all round.

Room Tip: Ground Floor good view of the swimming pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    95
    65
    42
    27
See reviews for
98
150
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Excellent holiday,room was clean and surprisingly spacious for Greece,the balcony gave us panoramic views of the faculties and the beautiful sea. Alexandros the manager and his team worked hard to provide great service to there guests and in the main succeeded.Food overall was to a high standard but could have been a little warmer on occasions..Its worth eating out as well to see the beautiful restaurants and numerous eateries available providing local dishes at affordable prices.We really enjoyed our stay at this all inclusive a stay atnd thought the staff worked well as a team.
We will go back to Zante and will definately stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor if you can, go high for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I used this hotel when attending a friends wedding. positives - rooms were spacious and clean. The whole hotel was clean actually. staff were friendly and even the hotel manager could be found in the dining room helping to serve guests. The location was excellent, sea front, local shops and bars etc The bar was well stocked with a good variety of drinks and soft drinks were self service so no waiting around. Food was plentiful with lots of choice, i am fussy and still ate well. bit of a negative to come though Negatives - food was quite repetitive and often tepid. The pool closed at 5pm !!!! As others have mentioned, staff were friendly but I wish the barman could have cracked a smile just once :) Overall I would def go back there the good far out-weighed the bad

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was very clean, reception was so helpful and informative. Rooms were ideal for the holiday with safe veranda and sea view (105). The maid service was prompt and very well carried out, (thank you).
The bar area was pleasant and relaxing though the barman Fortis never managed a smile all week (hope your piles get better mate!). Plenty of outdoor seating shaded and sun loungers. Drinks on the all inclusive were more than adequate.
Lots of room in the in the dining area, tables for more than 4 could be reserved AND the hotel makes it clear that guests should dress in suitable attire for dinner.(Yes you were noisy Wales sunworshipper). Food really good choice though could have been warmer.
The beach in front of the hotel was very small (less than a yard wide) however just to the right of the hotel the beach is great with plenty of sunbeds though these have to be paid for E6 for two and brolly.
To sum up my wife and two 14 yrs old girls had a cracking time thanks Caravel.

Room Tip: all rooms are alike we were in the main hotel complex and still no over the top noise problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Hi I'm currently on holiday at the caravel hotel , there's good and bad at this hotel the food is only ever Luke warm at best and if u don't like pasta your in trouble as most lunch and evenings there are 70 percent pasta dishes . Wifi it terrible could never get on when my husband asked about it he was told that's what it's like in Greece . Our room was in a block at the back with a beautiful car park view , was told by another Brit most British were put in this block away from main block because were so called " Rowdy Brits ". Not sure how true that was .on the plus side room was clean lovely comfy king size bed all outdoor areas were clean and well kept and about the food I said to my husband we can't complaine were in there country so there trying to cater for all different countries tastes . All in all we are having a lovely holiday not sure it's a 4*but would say a 3* price was reasonable so I think u get what u pay for

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Having just returned yesterday from this hotel, I feel the need to write a review. First the positive points, hotel was clean, ie bedrooms swimming pool area and public areas, the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and happy. Now for the negatives, the food was nearly always luke warm or even cold, your plates weren't always cleared away which meant there were always lots of dishes left on the table. The bar staff, don't really know where to start, I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where I have been served by such a miserable bunch of men, the worst was Fortis in the lobby bar, he never spoke or cracked a smile! The guy in the pool bar started off like that but got a little better as the week went on, but the both made you feel you were putting them out by going to the bar!

The worst by far was the manager. The way he spoke to myself and a small group of friends was disgusting, we were told (with him pointing his finger) to be quiet and GO NOW to change for dinner so they could clean up! The day in question, was an awful day weather wise, it was raining windy and there was a red flag up so you couldn't go in the sea let alone sit outside! His manner was disgraceful and offered no apology for his outburst!!!
So, would we ever go there again....... NO
would we ever recommend the hotel to others........ NO!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Manager at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Ladies, regarding your girls' holiday to celebrate a 50th birthday - I saw you thoroughly enjoying your holiday, always laughing and joking, which was nice to see. I was surprised when I saw your comments regarding this situation. As Manager of this hotel I have to keep all my guests happy. The action I took was professional and fair, thinking of the other guests in the hotel as well. It was also a nice touch when my staff organised a birthday cake for one of your party. It is a lovely hotel, Let us remember that everyone is all on holiday together. You were having such a lovely holiday celebration up until that night. Thank you for your comments, I always take these very seriously. I hope you enjoy the rest of your Summer.

Alexandros Chaidoussis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having read many negative reviews of this hotel, my daughter and I feared the worst. We have yet to meet the 'grumpy' person on reception or experience brown water from the taps. We have just returned from 2 weeks in this hotel. Friendly staff, eager to please, all inclusive drinks available from 10.00 a.m. -11.30p.m. Good selection of drinks and cocktails. Food was repetitive but always plenty of choice and edible, (although snack bar limited in selection). The positives by far outweigh the negatives. Scant entertainment although not yet high season, wifi almost non-existent but it can be accessed in other areas such as bars and street hot spots near the hotel. Plenty of sun loungers nice clean pool, steps down to the beach and a lovely walk to other sandy areas. Friendly town with a large selection of bars shops and restaurants. All in all a very pleasurable experience and good value for money. Don't believe the negative reviews.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apollo room 601 sun on balcony in the morning meaning room not too hot at night. Overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravel Hotel Zante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel Zante

Address: Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravel Hotel Zante 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated hotel in Zakynthos Caravel Zante, located on the beautiful sandy beach of Tsilivi, just 6 km from the city center. Ideal location and destination for relaxing accommodation in Zakynthos, for families, couples and groups. Facilities and staff in our hotel in Zakynthos, Caravel Zante, are waiting to serve you, at the best possible way, to offer you every luxury and make you feel at home. In an idyllic location overlooking the blue Ionian Sea, our hotel, one of the best hotels in Zakynthos, awaits you with four star facilities to accommodate you and guarantee you an unforgettable holiday in a friendly, family atmosphere and amenities befitting only to customers of Caravel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Caravel Hotel Zante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Tsilivi
Hotel Caravel Zante
Caravel Hotel Zante Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravel Hotel Zante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.