We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this summer at caravel hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravel Hotel Zante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caravel Hotel Zante to your Saves list
Caravel Hotel Zante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Smederevo, Serbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“this summer at caravel hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We was 10 days in caravel hotel in Zante..I find it to expensive and poor in activities . The beach is stone and the swimming pool is divide in two parts, one for adults at the hotel part and other for children 100m after. The swimming pools are use for any one, so even residents from the town and others comes to use. Also is not safe guard for person.
The children play ground is poor and not take care well.
They have old-aged school entertainment with KARAOKE activities Greek night dancing and some things like that...great for pensioners
They charge for 30m Internet 2 eu and food was more or less same every day. and you need pay 5€ daily for sun bed.
The staff was friendly but is not a place that I will recommend to any body who has big expectation from the HOTEL.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the far from reception area and the ones are not facing the swimming pool, becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Issak G.
We are very sorry, that you found our hotel to expensive and poor in activities.
Until now we never had a similar complain, anyways I have to make a few points from your review clear, for our potential guests and to avoid any misunderstandings.
1)We have two pools one, right in front of the hotel and the second about 50m apart with a children’s pool adjacent, as per the European safety rules.
2)The pool in front of the hotel is being used from our hotel guests only.
3)We have the richest buffet on the island and that has been stated in all previous reviews
4)About the sunbeds, TWO sunbeds on the beach front cost 6€, but our guests can always use the sunbeds around the pool or on the grass area which are free of charge.

Thank you for your review I will consider it as the exception to the rule.

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    96
    65
    43
    28
See reviews for
98
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

we were looking for a nice relaxing week and that's just what we got. the staff, the food, the hotel and the location was just fantastic. all the positive reviews about the Caravel are spot on. we had a great time there and would recommend the Caravel Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear 74flyer,
We are very happy that you enjoyed everything in our hotel and
that you completely agreed with all positive, previous reviews.
All these years of experience have taught us a lot of things.

Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

just returned from our 7th year at this hotel. Once again the hotel excelled in all ways. Staff are fantastic always go the extra mile, reception, dining room and bar staff, all friendly and helpful. Choice and quality of food is amazing. The chef always present in the dining room keeps a close eye on everything. He also holds cooking demonstrations if you want a change from the sun.Perfect location on the beach. Comfortable clean rooms, shops and bars in immediate area.
Only downside the airport is small and can be chaotic at peak times but its worth it to come back to the wonderful Caravel Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room in main building and avoid overlooking the car park which can sometimes be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Margaretmcgowan,
After honoring us with your 7th visit, thank you for describing us, as a small piece of Heaven.
I have nothing to add, I think your headline states what a wonderful time you had here with us and that must be the reason why you return every year.
We will be very happy to welcome you again next year.

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday, staying all inclusive at the Caravel Hotel in Tsilivi, Zante. The Staff at the hotel were all friendly, happy and helpful. Most of them spoke really good english (as well as a number of other languages). Our favourite receptionist was Jenny who was very approachable, quickly sorted out any queries we had and made time to teach us a bit of Greek. The food in the restaurant was excellent, with a good variety. My husband liked the fact that the bread was thick enough for 'proper' toast and there were teapots so he could make a 'proper cup of tea!' All of the restaurant Staff worked really hard, and Pierre, the Restaurant Manager joined in with clearing plates, bringing in extra food, as well as finding seats for people. The Head Chef would often pop into the restaurant to take over serving the food, with a smile and a twinkle in his eyes. Ervin, the Barman, delighted in making cocktails to suit individual tastes. He had a great sense of humour and if he wasn't busy he would join in playing table tennis etc. Sergio and Maria were the animators. Sergio's aerobic sessions really helped to burn up the calories gained from too much drinking and good food. The room was a bit dated but it was clean, the sheets and towels were changed everyday, the bed was comfortable, there was air conditioning and we spent so little time in there that it was more than adequate.The hotel was right next to the beach so you could have a drink on the terrace overlooking the sea.You had to pay for Sunbeds on the beach, 2 beds a table and an umbrella was 6 euros, but it made a change from being in the hotel grounds were they were free. The sea was great for snokelling. It was the first time we have gone all inclusive but it really was worth it. The weather was hot so it was lovely being able to have an ice cold drink whenever you wanted one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Sunsetwatcher08,
Your review is the most descriptive one, you even mentioned that everybody from our staff is helping out when ever needed.
We are glad that you really used and enjoyed every aspect of our hotel.
We are also very happy, that we made your first All Inclusive experience, to be worth it.

We will be really honored to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Was a great vacation. With nice places. good food and drink very kindly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Misikik,
“Reviews of few words are the best reviews”,
I think that would an English poet say , today.

Thank you for your nice words!!!!

Hope to see you soon
Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having had a bad experience ata nother hotel in tsilivi last year we opted for half board at The hotel caravel in Tsilivi, Greece. everything about it was exellent. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There was an entertainment programme if you wanted to partake. The food was absolutely fabulous, especially the desserts, which is unusual for greece. the food service was buffet style but you were shown to your table and immediately the wine waiter took your drinks order and they were on the table before you'd returned with your food. Although we only did half board this time that was plenty as ther was so much choice at breakfast.
Our room was good, in the usually greek style. It was sold as "pool views" but the pool overlooks the sea so it was in fact seaview also.
The beach was about 50yards away accessible from the poolside.
The caravel is situated right on the beach side but also it is only 100yards away from taverna's bars and local shops too but it is very quite. there was no rowdiness at all. We got to know many local business owners along the street who are now amongst our friends.
We can not rate this holiday and hotel highly enough. we will certainly book it again

Room Tip: pool view rooms actually looked over the sea also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill A K, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear ditzydolly,
We are so happy that we created for you an excellent experience.
Now you know why our buffet is the most famous on the island
and just to inform you about our desserts,
12 years now, we are the only hotel on the island that has a professional confectioner
in our kitchen, preparing all desserts that we serve our guests.
Hope to welcome you again soon

Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARCHIN - BELGIQUE
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I keep very good memories of this hotel. The staff is very kindly, smart and nicely. The beverages are genuine and the hotel is very clean. The food is excellent and Mr Pierre (at the restaurant) is perfect. He fluently speaks french. He is a trump for this hotel.

the view is wonderful from CARAVEL ZANTE.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same size? no room more spacious than an other. Only 2 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Caravel Hotel Zante, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear RITAL,
We are very happy, that we created good memories for you.
Thank you very much for recognizing and appreciating our work.
Hope to see you soon, for new memories.


Best regards
Bill A. Kyres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravel Hotel Zante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel Zante

Address: Tsilivi, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tsilivi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravel Hotel Zante 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fully renovated hotel in Zakynthos Caravel Zante, located on the beautiful sandy beach of Tsilivi, just 6 km from the city center. Ideal location and destination for relaxing accommodation in Zakynthos, for families, couples and groups. Facilities and staff in our hotel in Zakynthos, Caravel Zante, are waiting to serve you, at the best possible way, to offer you every luxury and make you feel at home. In an idyllic location overlooking the blue Ionian Sea, our hotel, one of the best hotels in Zakynthos, awaits you with four star facilities to accommodate you and guarantee you an unforgettable holiday in a friendly, family atmosphere and amenities befitting only to customers of Caravel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Caravel Hotel Zante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Tsilivi
Hotel Caravel Zante
Caravel Hotel Zante Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravel Hotel Zante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.