We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Star

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tsilivi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zante Star
Save
You added Zante Star to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsilivi zante, Tsilivi 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Tsilivi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We needed a relaxing week away, ( we waited until the children returned to school ), and at the Zante Star that is exactly what we got, So glad we have found this little gem of a hotel... we read all of the trip reports before we went and began to wonder if there was some sort of scam going on, but on arriving at the Hotel and being warmly greeted by Eireine we soon realized all that we had read, that was good, was true ... This has to be the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in and the Pool was surrounded by sunbeds, so no need to be up at dawn to get one!! All of the staff are wonderful and friendly from Anna and Tula in the hotel bar to Helen and Eireine in reception...
The walk to the beach is about and 8 minute stroll and to the town about 12 minutes, and to be honest the fact that you are a little outside of the hubub is only a bonus.
Our personal favourite restaurants were: Sweet Revenge, Benikos and Premier, although there were many others to chose from... having said that the food at the hotel is gorgeous, and so if you want to take it even easier, just eat in.
There is Pool, Table Tennis, and Table football and many board games, cards, dominos and loads of books for anyone to use....
be sure to try out the cocktails during Happy Hour at only 3 euros each, a real bargain.To be honest the prices in Zante were a pleasant surprise and we didn't need as much money as we thought we would..
Thank you Zante Star for a wonderfully relaxing, sunny, happy holiday... we will return, probably with others :) x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
105
150
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We are late with our review. We returned home 2 August. We had a tremendous time away. We agree with another reviewer about the amount of teenagers on the flight over, we felt discombobulated over the type of holiday we had booked. Luckily, at the airport they got on the bus to Laganos!

The Zante Star is a lovely, clean, friendly & happy place. The staff work hard and are very friendly. The food is very reasonable and good. All drinks well priced. Happy hour creates a sociable environment before families go out for a meal, you then tend to gravitate back for more drinks at the end of the evening. The children love this and seem to run in a friendly pack of all ages, ordering hot chocolate from the bar at midnight! whilst playing pool. However.... please be aware of a certain welsh pool hustler!!! at the pool competition.

The Island is absolutely beautiful and we strongly recommend hiring a car to visit all areas. The East coast has small rocky coves perfect for snorkelling. One day we drove to the North of the Island and took a boat (powerboat) at Skinari Cape, near the Lighthouse, to shipwreck beach (Navagio Beach), we did this at about 2pm which meant most of the large boats had left and the beach was fairly quiet. W e then returned to Skinari Cape where they transferred us to a smaller glass bottomed boat and took us to the Blue Caves for some snorkelling. The scenery on both these boat rides was stunning. The cost was 45E (15E for each adult and 7.5E for each child). Whilst you are in the area a visit to the Lighthouse Taverna (not sure if that is real name) is very pleasant. Great views. You can walk down about 100 steps and reach the Blue Caves, there is a ladder into the sea for swimmers. So many fish, literally hundreds just below you, all beautiful.

The West Coast is the place to go for amazing cliff views and sunsets. We found a taverna on the top of a cliff at a village called Kambi we followed a winding road until we saw a huge cross on a cliff with directions to the 'Priest' Taverna. The views were one of the best we saw on the Island. There were several terraces with side and front views sitting on top of sheer cliffs dropping into the ocean several hundred feet below. The food was absolutely delicious here and cheap. Would recommend the octopus. They did not rely soley on their location for bringing in trade (unlike the Lighthouse Restaurant outside Keri).


The South of the Island is sandy beaches. Keri is tiny but very pretty, if you go along the coast to Marathion Beach (stone slabs! good snorkelling) there is a taverna called the Marathion Star with the most incredible views out to sea overlooking the tiny islands dotted along the coast and the beautiful yachts moored nearby. Their food was also lovely.

Go to Laganos for an eye-opener. My 8 & 12 year old sons enjoyed pointing out KFC, MacDonalds, live strip-shows and young girls in bikini's. Guess where they want to go on holiday when they are 18!?

Tsilivi is a great base to travel around the Island. The people in general are lovely.

The Zante Star has a perfect location, quiet but just a short walk into town.

Freddies Beach Bar was perfect in the evening, sound of waves on the beach, no evening menu, just what the owners are cooking. Good wine, would recommend the meze.

Demera's Taverna we found on the last night with some friends, Heather and Robin, and all our children, a typical Greek family run taverna. Such delicious food, very large portions. If you want Greek food come here. Cannot recommend highly enough. Turn left when you leave the Zante Star, walk two minutes, bear right, Taverna on your right.

In all we had a lovely time and would recommend it to everyone. Would like to thank our lovely neighbours Robin & Heather and Jeff & Linda.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a week at the zante star taking our 8 year old grandaughter on her first holiday. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming (including the hotel dog). Pool was a nice size did get a bit noisy at times during the day but to be honest that is to be expected when children are on holiday. The rooms all have shutters and sliding doors onto the balcony which makes the rooms very dark so sleeping is very easy(especially if you pay for the air conditioning) Zante is very touristy so if you are looking for an authentic greek holiday choose another island, What I really liked about Tsilivi is you can go into any hotel/apartment block and use the pool facilities and are made to feel very welcome (you dont have to spend a penny). If want a good greek breakfast try sweet revenge and if you are looking for a lively greek night of dancing try the chill out bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Zante Star in July for the 3rd year running and really don’t know what I can say about the place that hasn’t been said so many times before. The owners and staff are wonderful,warm, friendly people and the hotel is maintained to the highest standards. Everything is aimed at guests having the best possible holiday and nothing ever seems to be too much trouble.
The food is well priced and very tasty. The drinks are reasonably priced, especially during happy hour which is actually 2 hours. The pool is a good size with plenty of sunbeds available during the day. On one occasion during our stay somebody was unable to find a sunbed due to them all being taken but a quiet word with Eirini and extra ones were provided straight away. The location of the Zante star is ideal for us, 2 adults and a 14 year old girl, as it gives us a chance to walk to the centre and walk off the effects of happy hour and the stroll back after a meal gives us the chance to prepare for more ‘socialising’ in the bar later.
It is this part of the holiday that really makes the Zante star so special for me. Not only are the staff warm and friendly but the guests are as well. In the time we have been going we have made some really good friends and reading the facebook page for the hotel I know we are not alone in this. The community feeling of the hotel is helped by the excellent Greek night, bbq food worth the ticket price alone, pool tournament and my personal favourite, the crazy games night comprising a quiz, bingo and horseracing.
If you like a good laugh, friendly people and a feeling of belonging somewhere then in my opinion the Zante star is the ideal place. If however you want to ignore your fellow guests and spend your holiday watching television and eating microwave meals and toasted sandwiches you might want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just returned after our fourth visit and had an excellent holiday, the Hotel is just on the outskirts of the resort, its clean and very well run by friendly staff. Laid back, plenty of sunbeds and a great pool area. The resort is ideal for families and couples with many excellent restaurants and bars.Reasonable priced good food I would recommend Olive Garden, Romeo's and the Olive Tree. a visit to Chris at the fantasy mini golf followed by a drink at the Planet Bar with Ricci, Shelley and Nick is recommended.
. I would recommend this hotel and resort to anyone and will be returning again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited for our first time and can honestly say would go back again, again and again. Perfectly positioned about 15 minutes from restaurants/bars and about 10 minutes from the beach. You can eat out at numerous restaurants for about 55-60 euros (2 adults, 2children) including starters , main and wine. Our favourites were King prawn, Sweet revenge and Calypso although we did not have a bad meal all the time we were there.

The hotel is spotless and the owners and staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble. We found the food on offer at the hotel was very good again with good value for money whether you had breakfast, lunch or dinner.

We made many friends whilst we were there and although many of them had been before everyone was so friendly. The kids loved it here and are asking when we can go back, we have already booked for next year!

Well done Zante star, have stayed in many 5 star hotels that have a long way to go before being as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Only one word is needed to describe this hotel and that is PERFECT!!
We have been visiting this hotel once or twice a year for 10 years and is still as good as when we first visited. Spotlessly clean and wonderful people who make everyone feel special.
Thank you for another wonderful holiday and for making my birthday and our anniversary very special.
Xxx

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Star

Address: Tsilivi zante, Tsilivi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tsilivi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tsilivi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tsilivi
#3 Family Hotel in Tsilivi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Star 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Zante Star Tsilivi
Zante Star Zakynthos/Tsilivi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.