We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, but not Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nissaki 49083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Bridge of Weir
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Value for Money, but not Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having been to various AI hotels over the years, I find this one bang in the middle. There are better, but for the price we paid, we were more than happy. Ignore comments about wasps, its the time of year and of no consequence to any review!
There are a lot of stairs, but again, this is not hidden when booking so you should be aware of it.
Rooms definitely in need of refurbishment.
You cannot get any spirits until 5.30pm at the main terrace bar, but you can at the pool bar. This is odd as surely the pool bar should sell only light alcohol (since there will be children about), and the more adult orientated terrace would be better suited to spirits. Very Odd!
Food ok but nothing to write home about. Speciality Greek is poor, and we did have a bit of a mess up with our order in the Italian which resulted in 5 out of 6 of us waiting 1hr 10 mins for our meal, without an apology from the serving staff. We complained to Anna of guest services and received fruit and wine, which was satisfactory.
Nissaki itself is lovely. Take the time to walk up out of the hotel, turn left and enjoy the taverna's and especially small local pub next to church. Very funny!! Slightly further on, you turn left down to the Nissaki Sea View apartments which are lovely, and 3 tavernas by the sea. I did this most days and loved it. There is plenty to do, you just have to get out of the hotel to do it. Hope to return, but probably S/C and close to the lovely 'Olive Grove' tavern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    209
    114
    60
    26
See reviews for
206
261
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week on August 16. We arrived early afternoon to a friendly welcome at reception, we were given a drink and advised to check in after lunch. We were shown to our room which was a fair hike from the main hotel building, also lots of stairs to climb. Our allocated room was in the bungalows and the last room at the very end of the building. Outside the room on the path lay 2 big bags of dirty linen, inside, the room was dark with only a very small window. We requested a room in the main hotel builing as we had specifically requested this at the time of booking but we were told that was not the case. Long story short, we were eventually moved to the main building on level 6 to a room with a "garden" view. The rooms at this hotel aren't 4 star although they're spacious and adequate for sleeping, they could do with a revamp. The food is definitely not 4 star, we had pork ad nauseum and the breakfast is the worst we've eaten in a 4 star hotel. Rubbery egg cooked in a variety of ways, cheap mini hot dog sausages were revolting and the bacon on the days it made an appearance was offcuts swimming in fat. We hardly ate lunch in the main dining room as we preferred the Greek food at Zorba's, was much nicer at lunchtime and best meal was at the Italian restaurant one evening. Our last evening was spent at Zorba's and memorable for all the wrong reasons, deafening noise coming from the entertainment area, all in French of course, drowning out the Greek music and couldn't hear ourselves speak. The desserts and fruit left exposed to an army of wasps, hundreds of them crawling all over them, disgusting. We complained to the manager who told us that the entertainment would be finishing in 15 minutes; too late we had almost finished our main course at that point. Anna the reception manager appeared then, we complained to her and my husband took her by the hand and showed her the desserts, asked if she would eat that? We pointed out that this hotel caters only for French guests and if you're not French then you're largely ignored. She explained that's not the case but currently in the hotel French occupancy was 70%. Appears that this hotel is owned by a French company, hence the preferential treatment given to French people. I had read the reviews before booking and didn't mind at all that there would be lots of French people in the hotel but the reality of staying there was different, we felt invisible at times. It wasn't all bad, the positives of this hotel are the location, the beautiful views, lovely little beach where we spent most of the day and daily boat trips leaving from the beach. Lovely terrace at the bar area where we sat at night having a drink. The bar was never crowded, the bar staff still served after 11.30pm, unlike most all inclusives and a disco open til 2am if you wanted. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend this hotel to friends, although it's situated in a beautiful part of Corfu there is better accommodation elsewhere on the island, we didn't feel like we were in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

well where to begin, first and foremost the remoteness of the hotel, miles from anywhere which we weren't expecting, secondly you needed to be a mountain goat to climb the many stairs there were to go up, we arrived on 6th sept, checkin was fairly basic, but porter was quick on delivering our luggage to our rooms no 533 and 532, the rooms were a good size but badly in need of updating. On the second day there we noticed a lot of flies in and around our corridor, and coming into our rooms, my brother made his way to reception to report this problem but nothing seem to have got done, after many days of repeatedly reporting this problem we were still getting infested with these flies, my husband had to go on a fly killing spree each night before we went to bed or even had a shower, and im not exaggerating , they did send 2 house staff down one evening with a can of spray, only a small can which my brother remarked, on saying they needed a bigger can than that, hence didn't really do much in the way of getting rid of them. Also in the corridor it always seemed to smell damp, on further investigation we noticed that some of the ceiling panels were bowed, my husband pushed one and got covered in water which we were told later was coming from the aircon above. the smell was coming from the damp carpets. We tried to get hold of our rep but was told it was her night off, we only saw her once the whole 2 weeks we were there at the welcome talk. Nothing was in our rooms explaining anything about the hotel or surrounding areas. we had no quilt covers on our beds just the bare quilt.No tea and coffee making facilities which we were told we'd have in our rooms. The food was rather repetitive and only ever luke warm, hence 3 of our party having tummy problems while we were there. at the pool eating area we were constantly plagued by wasps, none of the food was covered and the wasps were having a good meal for themselves , even to the point of them swimming in the mayonnaise pot, YUK. There was nothing catered for for the british, everything was in French, "Looke club people" even when we spoke to the animation team once we said hello they gave us a wide birth. Also no way of getting cash unless you took a 30 minute bus ride to either ipsos or cassiopi. And the buses ran on a greek timetable, they either arrived late or not at all. We did get offered to change rooms 2 days before we left but what was the point after complaining for nearly the whole fortnight, we did get a basket of fruit of which half of it was rotten, is seems we couldn't win either way, definitely a hotel to AVOID. but on the plus side the bar and restaurant staff were really lovely.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel beginning of September. After reading all reviews on here we were apprehensive to arrive. On arrival we were checked in quickly and given welcome drinks. All the staff spoke extremely good English and we're very welcoming. We originally booked for a garden view bungalow but on arrival we're told we had a sea view room in the hotel complex which we were very pleased about.

The views from this hotel you cannot fault. The room itself although basic was clean however a few days into the stay a few ants came to visit us. The maid came in every day with fresh towels and made up the room. She was also very friendly.

This was not like a typical hotel and we did not have to rush down in the morning to get a sun lounger. We rolled down at 10 am on a couple of days and did not find a time we couldn't get 2 loungers together. One negative is that you cannot make use of the free towels until 10 am, a good 2 hours after the sun was blisteringly hot.

The food was found to be very basic with not much selection. What was there was undercooked a lot of the time and found to be leftovers from lunch or the day before with some pastry thrown on top. Another downfall was that none of the food was covered up. This enabled the wasps easy access as a feeding ground. The staff did not appear concerned by this.

Altough this was booked as an all inclusive holiday we ended up spending money on snacks as the snack bars were only open at certain times! not really all inclusive. On arrival a bottle of water is found in the fridge however this is the only free water we got. We had to buy further bottles of water to take to bed or take one tiny plastic glass to bed with us. Not really an option.

Throughout the days we got attacked by wasps. Although not being stung at all and the wasps appearing to just want the lemonade/beer got from the bar they were a menace and made for an uneasy sunbath with them at times landing on us.

Hotel brilliant, staff all friendly and polite. If it wasn't for that lack of choice in the food department would definitely be retuning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, Suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our friends booked this Hotel for their 25th Wedding Anniversary celebrations our party was 18 in total. On arrival we were greeted by a guy on reception who told us nothing about what the hotel had to offer, didn't even go through the basics with us which left us not even knowing the location of our room!!?? This was not a good start as we were staying in the Bungalow Village which is a real hike from the main hotel and very badly signposted, by the time we actually found our way to the room we were not in the best of humour. Our tour operator Thomson/First Choice should have informed us that this hotel is infact part of a chain of French Managed Hotels and the majority of the guests are French, all the activities are geared up for the french, infact one day the funniest thing ever, a French Entertainer trying to teach the guests how to Greek Dance, a contradiction in terms I think!!?? The plus points were everywhere was very clean, the choices of food in the main restaurant were good and varied, the staff on the main were lovely a special mention goes out to the main man who looked after both the Greek and Italian Restaurants on alternate nights - what a lovely man!! Unfortunately on the minus side the drinks were most certainly very weak, the tonic (for us gin drinkers) was disgusting and bore no resemblance to what we know as Indian Tonic (even the bar men acknowledged this). The wine was extremely weak with the exception of the actual bottled wine served in the individual restaurants which was acceptable. Now we come on to the Lifts, the number was totally inadequate for the amount of guests, on one occasion a lady actually got stuck between the lift doors there was no button inside the lift to open the doors so her poor Husband literally had to prize them open to free her, this lift was very dangerous and should be urgently attended to. My main problem with this Hotel is that I know and love Corfu very well and this hotel could have been anywhere in the world, no one spoke Greek, there was no Greek music, therefore no happy holiday atmosphere or memories. The views were spectacular and the beach good as were the water sports but overall we were very disappointed. I also agree with the last reviewers comments regarding the wasps they were relentless.

Room Tip: Unless you are fairly fit or you like your privacy dont go for the Bungalow Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ok so we've just returned from Corfu after seven nights as guests at the Sunshine Vacation Hotel..

I can agree with most of the comments in the reviews of this hotel but here's my story..

On arrival my wife and I were met by a bell boy and Anna the customer relations Manager outside the main hotel doors. The check in was very swift and the the reception staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We were told that we would be staying in a bungalow in the village..? The bell boy showed us to our bungalow without our cases as they were left at the front of the hotel outside but the bell boy would bring the cases to us later.
The walk to the bungalow was considerable walking up and down many steps as the village and the hotel are built into the side of a cliff face. So if your agility is limited then I suggest you insist on a hotel room.

When we opened the door to the Bungalow we noticed all rooms including the bathroom were in desperate need of Renovation and could be a lot cleaner.

So my wife went back to reception and asked for a another room. I stopped at the bungalow as the bell boy was coming with our cases. Within five minuets a cleaner knocked on the door asking what needed to cleaned..? I said my wife and I are not happy with the room not just the
Cleanliness so she left.

After an hour no cases turned up and no sign of The wife so I walked back to reception and was told that we had been given a room in the main hotel complex but they needed the keys to the bungalow before they could release the keys to the hotel room. So I gave them the keys and they gave me the keys to our new room... Then I found the wife so we went to our newly assigned room to find this to be dirty also... So back to the reception walk for the wife and yes you guessed it a knock on the door and the same cleaner asked what needed to be cleaned..? no wonder the rooms were dirty if they only have one cleaner...? The reply she got was " the lot please". So we were two hours into our holiday and still not unpacked as our cases were still outside of the hotel close to reception.. My turn to go down stairs.. I asked for the cases and within five minuets sure enough they turned up...

So our holiday began after three hours of going back and forth to reception.. But to be fair they responded to our requests but in their laid back will do manner..

The restaurant was clean but the food was repetitive and tasteless throughout our stay but the Greek and Italian nights are well worth booking...

The pools:
one was called the relaxing pool. This is on the 8th floor.. It Was very nice but the floor was a bit grubby however I did notice that the pool was tested daily for cleanliness and the lack of the squits throughout the seven days would confirm pool and food hygiene.

The second pool was below the first. You either take a lift two floors down, or the stairs. This is the pool where all the animation team are.. And at least six are on duty at any given time., they all work very hard and although the focus is mainly on the French guests as this hotel caters for the French more than any other nationality some of the team did ask us if we where ok and we would have chats with Micky now and again who was very friendly.

Evening entertainment was a joke... When I say a joke I don't mean in a funny way...
The young guys in the Animation team did their best but it was obvious that very little money is allocated to entertainment.. Only one night out of seven did we whiteness a entertainer who was not part of the Animation Team (Greek Guitar Evening) with the animation team dancing.. All other nights were just the Animation Team who although they did their best were to be honest very amateur to say the least and seemed to be making it up as the went along... In fact one night the guests entertained them selfs by having pig pong competitions etc.,

So would I recommend this hotel..?

Pros:
Fantastic sea views
Very friendly helpful staff
No sign of the squits
Animation team are funny but for the wrong reasons


Cons:
Cleanliness
In need of major refurbishment
Food could be a lot better
Entertainment needs investment
Need to be half man half mountain goat to get around the complex


The staff could not do enough for us. The Animation Team were so bad it was funny.. But they did their best with what they had..

So I can only recommend this hotel if you are one of the following....

1,French

2,Getting on in years but as fit as a butchers dog who's happy to entertain them selves.

3, lastly.... an aspiring Animation Rep with a massive ego...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

For two ( 2011 and 2013 ) years I spend my summer vacation in this hotel ,me and my family.
Every time we had a great time at this hotel and the stuff was very nice and helpful. All desires that we had have been promptly resolved by them.
The location and view of the hotel are very beautiful. The rooms are very clean ( housekeepers etered every day ) and the main restaurant also very clean and weel aspected ( with diverse food and driks ). Never had trouble digesting food along our holiday in this restaurant , which happens quite frequently in other hotels.The main pool is quite large ,weel positioned and has a well stocked bar. The entertainment team does a very good job and do not feel time passes. We will certainly return next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, particularly those with access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa

Address: Nissaki 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Nissaki
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nissaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Corfu Hotel Nissaki
Sunshine Vacation Hotel Corfu
Sunshine Vacation Resort Corfu
Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa Nissaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Corfu Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.