We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just lovely!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garbis Villas & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garbis Villas & Apartments to your Saves list
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Lourdas | Λουρδασ, Lourdas 28100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Just lovely!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

So glad I chose this place for the first week of our holiday in Kefallonia.
The villas were modern, clean and spacious and just 2 steps from the edge of the pool.
Great views over to Zante from the terraces/balconies where you could sunbathe, have a meal "al fresco" or just sit and do nothing but admire the view and tranquillity of the place.
Lots of really good restaurants within 15 minutes walk.
Perfect distance for the digestion!
The nearest beach was a very steep walk back uphill which even my 15 year-old son said was tiring but as we had our car with us, we normally visited beaches further afield so not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having had the luxury of a private villa with friends last year, we were slightly apprehensive about having an apartment and sharing a pool with others (will it be noisy, will there be lots of kids, will we have any privacy etc etc) but we needn't have worried. Garbis Villas, after weeks of searching online, turned out to be the perfect option. You would not think there were 13 apartments, as it was very quiet for the majority of the two weeks and if you wanted to keep yourselves to yourselves, you could. The drive from the airport was very straightforward, thanks to the fantastic directions that Nick Garbis sent through in advance and Irene the owner was there to meet us on our arrival. She showed us into the one bed apartment, which she had stocked with water, tea, coffee, cake and a lovely fruit salad. Ten minutes later she appeared with ice cream sundaes for us (SO delicious) and left us to check out the stunning view of the bay below and Zante in the distance, from our secluded garden terrace. The accommodation was kept spotlessly clean by the lovely Alexandra, everything was in working order and the pool area was always immaculate. Irene is a very kind and hospitable lady, occasionally appearing with offerings of coffee and cake, or ice cream and she always asks if everything is OK, but then she leaves you to it, striking the balance just right.
The little village of Vlachata was a five minute stroll up the hill and we ate in most of the tavernas, before finding our favourites which we then returned to a few times. The best, in our opinion, were: Olive Lounge, La Mer and Casa de Blue. Petros supermarket has everything you could possibly want in terms of food and toiletries etc and their freshly baked croissants and bread rolls are great.
Lourdata beach, a steep 15 minute walk down the hill (or a five minute drive) is good, but if you hire a car there are some really beautiful coves and tucked away beaches not far away (try Koroni and Spartia). Snorkelling was fun, lots to see and generally the sea was lovely and calm and always warm enough. Myrtos beach is a bit of a drive but well worth it as it is so beautiful.
Express car hire was the best value I could find online and the car was fairly new and nippy enough. They picked us up on our arrval and took us to their office next to the airport and we dropped the car back at the airport before our flight home and they were there immediately to take it off our hands; no hassle, no problems at all.
On our last day Irene let us keep the apartment on for a few hours past the 10am checkout time, as we had an evening flight.
All in all, a fab holiday in every way and I can highly recommend Garbis Villas if you want a peaceful break from it all.
NB: If you don't like cats (I love them) bear in mind that there are a few at Garbis Villas- if you do like cats and you book to stay there, please look out for a ginger cat we all call Garby- he's very affectionate and would appreciate a bit of food and company!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Garbis Villas is too good to share with other people otherwise they will want to come as well!
We have just returned from Garbis and would have welcomed the airline going bust, a strike at the airport......anything to delay our leaving. We had a wonderful time. As seasoned travellers we pay a lot of attention to Trip Advisor, but till now we have never actually got around to writing a review. So here goes;
We are a semi-retired couple who treat ourselves to good 5* only holidays and do not need to look for bargain-basement deals.
We flew from Bristol and arrived in Kefelonia mid-day. We got a taxi from the airport (35€) and were surprised to find that despite being 25 minutes away, the driver instantly knew the address. When we arrived at Garbis Villas, Irine Garbis met us and showed us to our accommodation. We had a one bedroom apartment with sea view and overlooking the pool. Essentials were in the fridge and within minutes Irine was back with some Greek coffee and sweets. This was to set a trend throughout our week, of daily offerings of Greek coffee and treats. She is a lovely lady. A retired jeweller (the best quality on the island) her sons run the shops and she lives in one of the apartments herself and generally looks after everything on site, but is never intrusive. The apartment was not huge, but perfectly adequate for us. An indoor seating area which we never used, a small kitchen of sink, fridge and 2 ring cooker. Not for major cooking, but fine for our pasta and sauces and making sandwiches. The bathroom is a toilet, basin, hairdryer and shower. The bedroom has a good sized bed, the usual furniture and was very comfortable. This opened out to our own patio which was quite private and in the shade. We were concerned about the website saying it was in the shade, but boy, were we glad it was! Stepping out from the patio, we were in the sun and very close to the pool. I think there are more loungers and chairs than people, so no problem there. The pool was fantastically clean and tested every day by Irine.
The local beach is not far but down a steep lane which is difficult to return up on a hot day.
We were told to expect hot weather (it never dropped below 31c and we are told reached 46c) so we rented a car from Express, a local renter in the village which is 10 mins walk away. We had the tiniest of cars (but perfectly ok to tour the island and with aircon) and make sure you haggle a bit. We got a great deal which included leaving it at the airport at the end.
All the beaches we visited are beautiful, but if you intend to swim, pack some water shoes as on most you have to walk over stones to get to the crystal clear waters.
We sometimes found it very relaxing to just sit on our patio in the evening soaking up the view and eat a very basic supper, but several nights we ate out. We chose the Olive Lounge, within walking distance, and stuck with it all week. The food was as good as any multi-star restaurant in the UK, but not for the same price. We found a 2 course meal with drinks and wine varied between 29€ and 35€, total bill for the two of us! A real bargain, English well spoken and really nice owners.
The island is still quite un-comercialised without lots of grockel shops selling tourist junk....such a relief. There are actually few hotels. Of course there are the usual mini-market shops selling everything for holiday-makers and locals alike. We never felt we were ripped off.
Will we return? Yes of course, and back to Garbis, unless you lot have got in first and booked it all up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The location and view are gorgoeus. It rained a lot when we were there and we still couldnt believe the view. Great restaurants nearby. I think the best part is Irene herself. She is one of the nicest people I have ever met. Her son (i cant remember his name) was very helpful in recommending things to do.
The only drawback is the small bathroom, but it really isnt a big deal. We didnt go to Kefalonia to sit in the room.
We dream of going back one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at Garbis villas for 2 weeks in July / August (2 adults 1 child aged 8) and were thrilled to know that it was everything we expected it to be. We chose this place on the basis of location and previous reviews - we didn't want to travel in the dark on not so good roads to get to a more distant place. (20mins from the aiport). Accommodation was clean, of a very high standard and suited our needs. Alexandra did a great job of cleaning daily and changing beds at least 3 times a week. Irene and her family who own the villas are friendly and helpful. Like other reviewers it was lovely to have greek coffee brough to your apartment in a morning along with a variety of cakes, biscuits and croissants (all adorned with freshly picked flowers). The pool area is immaculate with plenty of sun loungers, chairs beds and sun umberellas. The pool has a shallow area approx 1.2m pool - moving to a depth of 2m+. even though all the villas were occupied it didn't feel busy and on numerous occassions we were the only people around the villas all day.

The location is good for a variety of restaurants 5 - 10 minute walk (Olive Lounge, Spiros, La Mer and Greek Island), all of which we highly recommend. It is a 10/15 minute walk to the beach if you take the mountain goat track!! otherwise by road expect at least a 20 minute walk. Beaches nearby are ok but slightly further a field (2 - 3 km) are two great beaches of Trapezaki and St Thomas - both of which are sandy and shallow for a long way (great for young children) espcially snorkelling and to see the fish trying to nibble your toes!

We were tempted (like a previous reviewer not to say anything about this wonderful place and keep it to ourselves). A couple of times people dropped in to see what the villas were like - on seeing them the people were immediately jealous! It may be more expensive that some of the other properties around the are but we feel well worth the extra cost for higher spec accommodation and location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Garbis Villas are wonderful - just a few apartments facing the gorgeous sea view and around a pool. The live-in owner/manager is lovely and always happy to help, everyone is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Lourdas is not the most exciting place on earth, but when you are staying somewhere as nice as this, it doesn't seem to matter. Short walk from the supermarket and tavernas, but a bit of a killer walk down and back to the beach - I recommend the bus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I have just come back from a week in Kefalonia where we stayed at the Garbis Villas in Lourdas. What a great place to stay! There is a fantastic view from the apartments down to the beach and across to Zante, you could easily spend your whole holiday on the patio and in the swimming pool area just looking at this view. The rooms were very pleasant and the owner, who lives there, was very friendly and helpful. This was our fourth visit to Kefalonia but this was easily the best place we have stayed at. Both the Villas and Lourdas were quiet, beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garbis Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbis Villas & Apartments

Address: Lourdas | Λουρδασ, Lourdas 28100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lourdas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the South of the Island and only 20 minutes from the Capital of Argostoli there is one of the most captivating resorts on the island, the majestic Lourdas. On the hill above Lourdas Beach stands Garbis Villas, one of the most welcoming and beautiful complexes on Kefalonia island. Magically set in between the lush green mountains and the dazzling blue Ionian Sea, surrounded by wonderful gardens there are four villas with a large pool. Staying at Garbis Villas will give you the sense of total relaxation and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garbis Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbis Villas & Apartments Hotel Lourdas
Garbis Villas And Apartments
Garbis Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbis Villas & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.