We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Lounge

The Olive Lounge
Vlachat, Lourdas, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 restaurants in Lourdas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately we only managed to eat at the olive lounge once this year but have been going since it opened, it has got better year by year and liana's enthusiasm to make the place a success really shows. It is not intended to be a Greek taverna, as there are plenty available, but if you want good food with a great setting at a reasonable price then this is the place. The downside of this success is that it is now necessary to book rather than just turn up, but that's no great issue, as long as you know. Don't miss it

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    275
    76
    25
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Devine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Outstanding in every way! My finance proposed to me here so this will always remain special and we shall be going back there when we marry on Kefalonia next year :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had two meals at this restaurant during our one week stay....on both occassions we thoroughly enjoyed our food and, in fact, the whole dining experience. The owner is passionate about providing good food and service and it shows. Would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Contemporary smart restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place stands out and has a stylish feel to it with cool music and atmosphere. Food was excellent and had a well thought-out menu that compelled you to have three courses! Service was very good and the owner was passionate about her food, demonstrated by her descriptions of the dishes. Only minor blip was we were seated near the bar where a Coca Cola refrigerator seemed to be in need of maintenance as it rattled but honestly this didn't detract from an enjoyable meal. We would have returned but were spoilt for choice from the other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate twice at The Olive Lounge and very much enjoyed our meals both times. Not particularly traditional Greek but very good all the same - my seafood spaghetti was possibly the best I have ever had - and the service was brisk and attentive. The Olive Lounge is deservedly popular but this does mean that booking is vital unless you're happy to wait a fairly long time for a table! The owner Liana does come across as quite forceful and a bit intimidating so not necessarily to everyones taste but apart from that I'd recommend coming here at least once whilst visiting this lovely island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Lounge also viewed

 
Lourdas, Cephalonia
Lourdas, Cephalonia
 

Been to The Olive Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.