We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna George

Taverna George
Ermones 49100, Greece
+(30)2661094506
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Ermones
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: traditional greek food and fresh food
Bawtry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Greek hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Alexandros or George as everyone seems to call him is one of the friendliest people I have ever met. My wife and I stayed in Ermones last week at a nearby hotel and used the Taverna Maria, as it is now named every day. We visited early evening drink, preferring the atmosphere and beautiful view of the sea to the hotel bar. We also had lunch, in fact spent nearly all day there, on three occasions and enjoyed some very good salads. It really is a lovely spot and the hospitality that the owner and his lovely wife offer is really quite amazing. Thanks Alex for making our holiday, we really did enjoy your Taverna.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Last night holiday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Perfect end to a perfect holiday! Delicious food, great hospitality and a beautiful setting. Prices are very good too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“George and his beautiful wife!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This review is a bit late having dined at George's in September 2013. We were staying at the Grand Mediterraneo Hotel & Spa, on a half board basis, however preferred George's wife's culinary delights!

George makes everyone feel welcome in his restaurant and it is worth popping in to meet him and of course his wife. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the view of the sunset is worth the ride on the funicular railway. Going down for cocktails at night and then a stroll along the beach was great! We loved it!

George is a brilliant host and a friend to the animals in Corfu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had some lovely lunches here while staying at the nearby Grand Mediterianna Hotel & Spa. The food was excellent & George himself was serving & greeting the costumers, I had 3 lunches over the 2 weeks i was there on holiday. I fully recommend the Sea Bream which was freshly caught every day. The local beer was great value at 2 euro & was refreshingly cold on a hot day. I,d recommend this Taverna to anyone what stays in Ermones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good, fresh, traditional food. You can go to the kitchen and choose what do you want to eat. They show you fresh meat, fish and seafood to choose

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna George also viewed

 

Been to Taverna George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.