We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel But beware of the hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ermones, Ermones 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel But beware of the hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Check in easy and very efficient,Staff in all departments of the hotel are very helpful.Rooms were ok and cleaned every day we stayed in room 373.After check in you are taken to your room by car or buggie because the hotel is laid out on a steep hill so the first thing we did was walk down the road about 100 meters from the hotel entrance is a car and bike rental not the first one you come to the second one opposite the bus stop the were the best value.The roads around Corfu are pretty good and easy to either ride a bike on or drive a car.One recommendation if you get the chance do book all inclusive we booked half board and found drinks on the evening quite expensive.The meals were ok and good choice the waiting staff excellent.Night time entertainment was outside by the swimming pool again this was ok.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room which was good and for watching the stunning sun sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    265
    79
    22
    5
See reviews for
40
672
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

just back from one week break last minute I read some mixed reviews before going let me say this is a first class hotel very well run food choice excellent as are the rooms and service I travel all over world wide and it amazes me that people found petty faults I say to them get a life and to you try this hotel go all inclusive a bargain

Room Tip: ask for lower room numbers if you want to cut out the steps upto the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What an experience - no complaints - facilities excellent - staff amazing nothing is a problem for them. Food superb and waiting staff so good at their jobs.
Stayed in room 552 - luxury - dressing room, small toilet, lounge (leather suite, we'd screen tv, small dining table), bedroom (king sized bed, wide screen tv) bathroom - his/hers sinks, shower room/toilet.
Outside - own pool, sun terrace - with sun beds and patio area with dining table, garden area too -
Went for our 20th wedding anniversary - today is our second last day - already looking to come back - who wouldn't ???

Room Tip: 552 - pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is nowhere even close to a 5*.

We stayed one week all inclusive. It was worth it as drinks were expensive in the hotel and Ermones is pretty desolate.

We stayed in a junior suite which was nice enough but nothing particularly special. The socket fittings fell out of the wall when you removed plugs, the sliding doors to the ‘lounge’ area would not stay open on their own, three was a particular ‘knack’ to locking the balcony door (took us 3 days to work it out!), there was a layer of dust on our sofas and a mystery cream coloured stain, there was no iron provided and the shower was absolutely useless; scalding hot to freezing cold in an instant with a poor water pressure. We were provided with fresh towels every day. Unfortunately, on more than one occasion, our towels had holes in them.

There wasn’t a decent seal on our door so we ended up with an extra guest in our room in the form of a 4” lizard. We also had to plug the bottom of the door when it rained one night as some rain water ran in.

The cleaners had a habit of clearing crockery and glassware out of guest rooms and just leaving it in plants or round the side of the guest rooms, sometimes for days at a time.

We found reception staff unhelpful and rude at times.

Food in the restaurant was nice but extremely repetitive. I can’t praise the waiting staff enough; they are very attentive and friendly.

The bar staff were hard work. We felt like we were an inconvenience when we asked for a drink. Waitresses took orders when you were sitting at a table but we found that this service was slow too. However, we couldn’t fault the drinks that were part of the all-inclusive.

Thankfully, we didn’t need to use the elevator more than a couple of times – what a ridiculous contraption! The worst thing about it was the fact that on some floors one of the compartments wouldn’t open. We had to climb up from the lower compartment to get out when we went to the beach bar.

The lighting was nowhere near sufficient to get back to our room from the bar/restaurant. We had to walk along a very dark path where the bushes and plants were all so overgrown that we had to walk in single file. The lights were along the ground every 4mters or so and only lit a small area. The path was cracked in places and you couldn’t see the warning makings in the dark. I absolutely hated walking back to our room because of this.

We decided to go for a massage in the spa, despite the extortionate cost. The room was cold (as were the therapists hands!) and the massage didn’t last the 60 minutes as advertised, it was closer to 45 minutes. The shower head was broken in the changing rooms for the spa too. Another disappointment.

We have stayed in two other Atlantica hotels in Greece in the past two years and booked this holiday based on the previous experiences we had. This hotel is nowhere near as good as the hotel in Rhodes or Kos.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. We spent a LOT of money for a luxurious week away and came home feeling exceptionally disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 708 - a junior suite. If you get rooms starting 6 or 7 you don't need to use the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having read a lot of reviews before going to this hotel, we were a bit worried about what we might find. We needn't have been too worried because we had a very pleasant time.

We did, however, have a few minor issues upon arrival. The first room we were shown to had twin beds when we'd booked a double, but this was quickly rectified. The room we ended up with did occasionally have slightly smelly drains, but again the reception team did sorry this out whenever really raised it as an issue.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is located on a very steep hill and it would not be suitable for people who do not like /can't climb stairs. The lift is very slow and unless we were coming up from the beach area we never bothered to wait for it, preferring to walk up the paths/stairs instead. That said you could request a room in the main building if you do have difficulty walking.

The view, scenery and pool area are superb. We never really struggled to get a sun bed, but we often did drop off towels before breakfast. The Bar was well stocked and there is a good variety of cocktails on offer. If you make friends with the bar staff they really look after you. It seems the evening entertainment is on a 7 day cycle which could become tiresome if you are staying for 10/14 nights.

We found the food to be excellent with a good variety of dishes to choose from every meal time. The house wine was also very drinkable and they do half bottles which worked well for us at dinner.

We booked all inclusive and I would definitely recommend the all inclusive option because the drink prices were very expensive and there are not a great deal of other places to go out in the local area.

We had a bit of difficulty organising a courtesy room 24hrs prior to checkout and in the end had to use the small changing rooms in the spa. This was disappointing because we had taken the time to request a room the day before (in fact we'd asked two days before and were told you could only request 24hrs before checkout!). It's a shame that they could sort out this relatively simple requirement.

Overall, a nice holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

arrived home 2 days ago after spending 7 days here.
First impressions was "wow" when the coach pulled up at the reception. Check-in was efficient and we were whisked to our room by a porter in a golf buggy. Again "wow" factor when first seeing our room. We'd booked a room with private pool/patio area.
Room was clean and bedding/towels changed regularly
We upgraded from HB to all inclusive which was a plus - no problems getting drinks at all.
there were problems, the odd power cut and the loo cistern failing to work intermittently but these were sorted out quickly.
Reception staff/Restaurant Staff (esp Pavlos, Maria and Vangellis and Agni) were worth their weight in gold - nothing was too much trouble.
Some days we used the furnicular - yes it creaked and was slow but we were on holiday so not really in a hurry. When it was raining (and yes it poured with rain on some days) then we'd asked Reception for transport to Reception.
Linda worked hard drumming up support for daytime activities and these were fun.

All in all we had a restful week's holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a private pool then its a room on level 2 (500s) However if you don't (and in Octob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hi I cant believe the comments people are writing about this lovely hotel !! We stayed here for our honeymoon in september 2013 im sure things havnt gone down hill that quick !!!! (You wont get 100% in Greece) we have stayed in hotels in Greece before which have been very basic. This hotel isnt basic. Staff are lovely cant do enough for you, It depends on what you want from holiday, Ermones is very quite, nothing around few hotels one bar one shop and thats it. its a do nothing and relax holiday with great scenery ,nice walks yes the beach is a little poor and could do with attention but all you need to do is hop on a bus 5 mins down the hill and you will find amazing beaches for just a few euros .

I know a 5 * star hotel should have perfect beaches but remember its greece you will not get everything !!!

Hotel is very clean and tidy, yes the steps are a nightmare if you have any disabilities DONT BOOK YOU NEED TO BE FIT

Food is very good breakfast 1st class they know have to look after you, and make you feel special.

The pool is lovely and clean and yet again everyone is very friendly.

What makes this hotel is location, friendlessness and service .

Cant wait to re visit look forward to seeing Grand mediterraneo soon.

Room Tip: Be fit when booking a lot of hills and steps to climb not for elderly people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa

Address: Ermones, Ermones 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa Corfu/Ermones

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.