We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B with wonderful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Hotel
Kaloudi Anna, Golden Beach, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B with wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a late booking with Thomson and we were pleased to find a locally owned small B&B that only accepts adult bookings. Family run, it is kept spotlessly clean and the welcoming owners will do whatever they can to help you have a good time. The hotel is up a gentle hill about 10 minutes stroll from the beach and tavernas - this gives it the most fabulous view that we loved.The walk helps you digest the wonderful meals available in town and prevented me from putting on too much weight in a week!

This is a small Greek island, it is quiet and friendly, almost as though you have stepped back 20 years in time. Go for a peaceful, pleasant break, not for riotous nightlife. We had a brilliant time and if we were in the habit of returning to hotels, this would be high on the list (many others do return regularly)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had such a lovely holiday, best thing about this hotel is the views - absolutely stunning. All of the rooms face the view as does the breakfast area/garden. They all also have balconies/terraces. The owners are very sweet and helpful, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is from 8:30-10 and they have a bar with toasties/salads available through until the evening (closed for a few hours in the afternoon).

Travelled with Thompson as a package and the rate is fantastic for what you get from the hotel. It's such a bonus to have breakfast included and a great way to start the day overlooking the views. Breakfast was a buffet of toast, eggs, jams, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruit, granola, tea & coffee, juices.

The room was small but perfectly formed, all nice and clean, maid came once a day and towels replenished once during the week. Hair dryer, fridge, safe and TV were in the room. I think there was air-con which you can pay for if you want it but we didn't need it.

10-15 minute walk down the the beach and tavernas, the beach is gorgeous and very large. The walk isn't as bad as some people have made out, it's not like you're in any hurry, just take it easy and have a nice stroll! We walked all the way along the beach but the nicest end of it was definitely ours as it gets a bit rocky down the other end. Apparently it was the first week of the season when we went so not all of the shops/bars/tavernas were open yet but that was fine as there were enough for us and they all have so much variation. It was very quiet when we went which suited us perfectly. There are some watersport activities on offer further down the beach and there's lots of other things to explore on the island. We took a boat trip excursion from Thompson which was such good fun and a chance to see even more beautiful sights, they took us to a couple of other secluded beaches which really was paradise, swimming in crystal clear turquoise waters and white sand.

Weather was sunny and hot mostly with one cloudy day which we used to walk to a nearby town through the hills.

I've recommended the Blue Bay and Thassos to all of my friends/family who want to get away from their past paced life. Thank you Blue Bay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A last minute decision and what a brilliant one. This hotel is perfect. Superb view, lovely owners who can't do enough for you but will leave you alone happily if that is what you want. Plenty of places to eat in the resort with fantastic food.

Great walks to nearby towns, if you want to be bothered. Sure, the walk to and from the hotel is a bit steep in places and I wouldn't recommend it if you struggle walking much but it's SO worthwhile.

And that's all I'm putting. I felt I wanted to write a review because it is so beautiful but I don't really want many people to find this gift of a place as we want to go back and find it the same! I will keep my raving about the hotel to my close circle. Selfish, I know.

Room Tip: All rooms sea-facing with balconies so doesn't matter which on you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Alyson and Barry, Wakefield

First time to Thassos, we have spent many holidays in Greece, however not many will match this, the hotel is picture perfect, the people were lovely and friendly. what stunning views in such a stunning location. Plenty to do locally with a very good beech, really good food at reasonable prices, plenty of places to visit. The pace is up to you, from relaxing days to tour the whole island, but the hotel is a must, peaceful, relaxing, wonderful people who can't do enough to help, you need to book well in advance as its usually fully booked, not surprisingly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The most lovely location for a quiet holiday. Revisited after some 16 years. Little changed except the access road is much improved. The owners are the same and are always keen to help.

Went with Thompson and the transfer was well organised. I suggest that a car is of great benefit not only because the walk to and from the beach can be a chore in the heat, but it gives an opportunity to access the many lovely villages of Thassos, both on the coast and inland. We were lucky in that the hire rates had just come down (end of season) and the car was delivered to and collected from the hotel. The driving on Thassos is easy (compared with some other Greek islands!).

Aliki, Maries, Tripiti and Potos/ San Antonio beach are a must, together with some of the quieter bays to the north of the Island.

Overall highly recommended.

No need to recommend restaurants as the all have something to offer and half the fun is finding your own, but do look out the terrace restaurant at the Enavlion hotel, you might not otherwise come across it as it is back from the front. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got back yesterday. The hotel is locatated between Golden beach and Limeneria. 2 minutes to Paradise Beach, 10 minutes to Aliki which are the best beaches. We had the chance to see all around the island.
The girl named Vaso was very helpful and nice. She answered all our questions and helped us on every issue. The owner of the hotel was also a very nice lady. Also the price was really good!!
The owner has another hotel in Limenas called Captain's Beach Apartments. Very good location, very clean and nice also.

Thank you for cherished us a great holiday. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks here, terrific location and views from our room.
Friendly helpful owners, helped us with our greek!
Arranged packed lunches for us and an evening snack on occasions.
Rooms lovely, clean, plenty of fresh towels and hot water for showers in the evening.
Amused most mornings by 4 very cute, playful kittens in the garden!
A lovely relaxing place to stay.
Hired a car for a few days to explore, traffic light, no roundabouts or traffic lights!
Eating out, plenty of choice but our favourite was at Enavlion, great staff, service and food. 5 star treatment at 3 star prices.

Room Tip: All have sea room, ask for a high room if you don't mind extra steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Hotel

Address: Kaloudi Anna, Golden Beach, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Hotel to your Saves list