We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views and Excellent Services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dionysos

Dionysos
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dionysos
Golden Beach 64004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views and Excellent Services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were lucky to get a room from, where I can capture amazing pictures of sea. Balcony was my favorite place at the time of sun-set. Rooms were big, nicely decorated, but bed was not good. Overall hotel facilities were excellent. Staff was calm and helped us always with a smiling face. Great palce to relax! I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel has an amazing view from the lobby and the owners are friendly. However, it was not enough to convince me that it was a great stay. My bedroom sea view was partially obstructed by the main house roof. It was clean and simple, and the bed was really hard.
One day we came back from the beach and our bedroom door was unlocked so we had to complain with the owner. The breakfast was very basic, few options, with instant juice. We were not told about that shuttle bus mentioned in other reviews; we were OK to go up and down the hill 2x a day, but it is definitely not an option for those who are not fit.

The Golden Beach is wonderful and we were very lucky with the weather. I would love to go back one day, but I would definitely choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Well what a wonderful place Thassos is!
Not just the hotel but the whole place, the holiday starts as soon as you get to the Port for the Ferry across, Luggage all taken care of by lorry!
Hotel, Clean good size rooms[For Greece] All rooms have fantastic views across the small fishing harbour and the sea, I went here with my ex partner Stella and we had such a wonderful time, it was both sunny, Hot, and Romantic, Excellent breakfast people were so very nice! Greece may not be cheap anymore but its so old fashioned and takes you back in time i have spent so many wonderful holidays in the Islands and its just such a romanitc place. I hope the economy will pick up and we can all go again without all the problems of the Euro 'Oh for the days of the Drac!'

Room Tip: Very Good but no air con [Fans only]
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Under Lyme
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

This hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfasts wonderful, and every room had a superb view out over the sea from it's very high vantage point on the hill in Golden beach. The couple who manage it, Greek husband, Yorkshire wife are extremely helpful and kind. When we were there, we had very bad storms and could not get down to the village for dinner as the hotel is approx. 8 minutes walk down and 15 back up the steep hill. The manager ferried all of the hotel guests down to the village and back to eat, even if they did not want to eat in his hotel at the bottom of the hill, which I must say, was the best anyway. You could eat and listen to the waves breaking on the rocks below. Bliss. I would warn anyone who is not 100% fit to avoid this hotel. They do run a shuttle bus at certain times in the day but if you miss this, the walk up to the hotel from the village, especially in the heat of the day is quite an ordeal and if you have a room on the top level, you have masses of steps up to it. I have to say we were out of breath and shattered when we got there. We moved down to the 2nd level on our 2nd week, what a relief not to have that climb and we had just as good a view from our lower room. You can walk along the beach to the next village in about half an hour either along the beach or along the lanes which is very pleasant but, for anything else you have to get transport, scooter, car or bus up over the mountain to go anywhere else and we found two weeks were too much without going out of the village. We had a scooter for a week and toured the whole island. Most of the tour company's excusions involved having to travel off the island back to the mainland which we found offputting. Also we had a plague of wasps which according to locas happens every so often when the spring rains do not wash away the wasp nests. We could not walk along the beach, sit by the swimming pool or on the balcony or eat outdoors whic totally ruined our stay and for that reason, we will never go back there. I am sure we were unfortunate to pick the year that this occurred but it has put us off for ever.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2004

Excellent hotel facilities. Clean environment. Rooms of high standard. Quiet beach with many restauraunts to choose from scattered along the sea front. Excellent place to chill out, read some books, snorkelling, and generaly have some time for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionysos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dionysos to your Saves list