We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful thassos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel George
Save Saved
You added Hotel George to your Saves list
Chrissi Ammoudia, Golden Beach 64002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful thassos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we went to thassos stayed at the george hotel small & friendly on golden beach the hotel & stavros & his wife, you cannnot fault the breakfast was v good the rooms cleaned every day very friendley place to go the beach was brill very clean the whole place was good plenty of places to eat very laid back .also the ferry ride to get to thassos was fun part of the holliday. would like to go back at some point .

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room it was lovley at the back garden veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Hi
I am not sure if anyone will read this now that Thomson have pulled the plug.
I for one am very sad that the George is closing.
My wife and I have been travelling to Thassos for many many years and stayed at the George on quite a few ocassions.
Why do people keep returning to Thassos? it's because of places like the George and people like Stavros and Karen who run them, they work extremely hard for the little money that Thomson gives them.
I have read the posts on hear and see that many people have had the experience that they went for, but a few who have not, Cornflakes!! well stay at home, draft beer, get a life, is that all you can complain about.
When on Thassos we make a point nearly everyday to pay a visit to the George for a few beers, it must be one of the best bars on Thassos, let alone Golden Beach.
I know Stavros & Karen have other ventures but I for one will miss the place and Golden Beach will never be the same again, The George was one of the original Hotels of the resort and i just hope that someone will offer a new contract.
I wish all the best and sucess to both Stavros and Karen

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Friendly, welcoming, easy going place to stay. With just a short walk to the beach and restaurants it made for holiday heaven.
In fact we loved it so much we're desperate to go back but can't find anyway of booking you either directly or with a holiday company....please, please respond Karen,we're having withdrawal symptoms!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have just retutrned from 2 glorious weeks in Thasso where we stayed at the Hotel George. It was just what we always look for when we hoilday in Greece and it surpassed our expections. A 10 minute stroll to beautiful Golden beach is very relaxing and you must experience the delicious cuisine at 'Playa Dora' & 'Finikas' (Playa Dora being our personal favourite) you can walk further on towards Skala Potamias for a larger selction of taverna's but these two are a must try. The Hotel George is a lovely peaceful place to stay, set in an olive grove which is charmingly, traditionally greek. It's full of a huge variety of vegetation, wild flowers, herbs etc, truly beautiful! The hotel proprietors Stavros & Karen are very friendly and regaled us with many amusing stories, its very sociable of an evening where a lot of the guests seem to gather for a chat and a night cap to finish the day. Nothing was too much trouble for them in order to make our stay as relaxing as possible. The rooms are on the small side but that's the norm in greece in the main but it was more than adequate for our stay and spotlessly cleaned everyday (except Saturdays). The added touches of slip mats in the bathroom and a shower curtain are a master stroke (as we know only too well that Greece isn't particularly health & safety aware :-) and it can sometimes be quite treacherous when leaving the shower to step onto slippery tiles, so a definite plus point for us. The large balcony offered commanding views of the spectacular mountains and also a sea view through the trees albeit in the distance.A large refrigerator is situated on every floor to keep all your drinks etc in which is very useful. The Air conditioning was the cheapest we have come across in the 15 years we've been holidaying in Greece, which was an added bonus. Breakfasts were more than adequate offering, tea or coffee, a glass of juice everyday, a boiled fresh free range egg one day, and a generous helping of delicious brown bread is on offer everyday, also preserves and butter, a continental breakfast, and the most delicious greek yoghurt and honey i've ever tasted, on certain days, so all in all a nice variety, I have to admit that I was relieved that the usual stale cereal you often get abroad wasn't offered, as invariably cereals abroad taste inferior to our own and that coupled with condensed milk just makes for a breakfast that would be left untouched, so well thought out by the owners. If like us you love everything that is quintessentially greek then the George Hotel is the perfect destination for you. We love it so much in Thasso that we're now thinking of buying a holiday home there at some point. Thanks Stavros and Karen for making our first stay in Thasso such a wonderful experience and i'm sure we will see you again xx

Room Tip: If like us you like a double bed then room 10 is the one to ask for, i'm not sure if there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenStavros, Owner at Hotel George, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
What a lovely review!
But sadly this year was our swan song - Thomson have cancelled our contract for 2012, so all those who have booked already will not be able to come. Stavros and I are very sad about this, but it is out of our hands.
We would both like to say that we feel genuinely honoured to have met so many kind, interesting and funny people over the 18 years the hotel has been with Thomson. We will miss all the regular faces so much; it was wonderful to be part of you lives for the few weeks each year that we shared together. It kept me (Karen) in touch with England, and socialising with you all in the bar made all the endless cleaning (!) worthwhile. We had such laughs, and if we talked long enough we could put the world to rights. Now we won't see you we will worry about how you are doing! You may have started off as customers, but quickly became friends.

I'm not sure what we will b doing in the future as Thomson has told us so late in the season that it is difficult to find other agencies open to negotiate with. But please, if you are back in Golden Beach in the future pop in and say hello! Our email is george.goldenbeach@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to Hotel George and thought we would add a review following recent criticism about room size. We had not remembered the rooms as being small but do agree that they are a little smaller than most Greek studios. Why had we not remembered? Because they are adequate [I am 6ft 1inch and my wife is taller], have a nice balcony and, like most visitors, we spend little time in the room other than to sleep. Although B&B, Stavros and Karen provide large fridge/freezer for five to share, a communal kitchen that has all one needs and a BBQ. The hotel is very clean [rooms cleaned 6 times a week] and is within easy, flat walking distance, about 400m, from the beach.
We were there for 2 weeks and, even with change overs, 9 of the 10 rooms were occupied by return visitors. Could you ask for a better recommendation?
Golden Beach is a quiet, laid back resort with several good restaurants. Sotiris, just before the jetty at the north end of the beach, has the best value fish [“port fish”] that I have come across on about 20 visits to the Greek islands.
A great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the George last September and couldn't wait to go back at the end of May. The George is a well run hotel, situated on the edge of Golden Beach, it is clean and well cared for, a perfect little spot. It is not far from the beautiful sandy beach and clear blue waters of the Aegean, it is also just a short walk to the local tavernas, with their tempting menus. The fresh fish is always good. Stavros and Karen are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble, you just have to ask. Great evenings in the George bar, with lots of laughter mainly from conversations with Stavros and Karen. We are just sorry we are not able to be there this September. However, we will be back in May 2012 as there is nowhere to beat Golden Beach, and we can't think of anywhere else we would want to be..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

wont go on:

lovely place, clean, bright, breakfast good choice and lots of it. could not ask for nicer owners who look after you, nothing is too much for them including a late night lift if needed!

our first visit to this island and this is now the only hotel we will stay in!

I will recommend this hotel everytime.

Thank you to Karen Stavros and the kids, hopefully see you next year!!

Room Tip: ask for a bacon sandwich!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George

Address: Chrissi Ammoudia, Golden Beach 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Also Known As:
George Hotel Golden Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.