We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Golden Beach 64004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to this small boutique Hotel which was well laid out, clean and very quiet as it was the last week of the season for Golden Beach. We were half board and like all the other reviews have said the food was brilliant. Champagne at breakfast every other day was also a nice touch. Drinks are on the expensive side but there are plenty of tavernas nearby to choose from. Only two small criticisms one being the bed which was very hard and the loungers on the beach are very uncomfortable.

I have to mention the transfers which went with military precision well done Thomson! Would recommend this hotel highly to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday in lovely surroundings with excellent food and very friendly staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    16
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
125
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July 2013 for a week with Thompson. A lovely place for a completely relaxing holiday.
Room : I emailed the hotel a few weeks before to ask if it was possible to have a quiet room away from the bar. On arrival we found they had obliged and given us the room furthest from the bar, which was excellent , with tea and coffee making facilities and fridge for guests to use. Room was cleaned daily with a turn down service mid evening as well.
Pools and beach: pools were very well maintained, clean and uncrowded. Always got a sun bed easily and attentive staff were on hand quickly to put up/take down umbrella as required. Beach was very good, sand and clear water. Plenty of sun beds with smiling waiter service to the beach .
Food: we did the half board offer with the thought that we might eat elsewhere on a couple of nights, but we actually ate there every evening. Menu was a set 5 (4 really ) courses. Bread and dips first followed by a soup, then a starter which was served with a large mixed salad - contents and dressing varied each evening. No choice of soup or starter just have it or don't. Main course was always a choice of meat or fish, and then set dessert- again no choice. This is not a criticism though. The food was always well prepared, tasty and in ample quantity (i generally skipped either soup or starter depending what was on offer as I couldn't eat both) just one evening that the main course was a little disappointing, other than that it was very good with excellent service and attention to detail.
Breakfast was served all morning and had a wide choice occasionally including sparkling wine if you wished. Fresh cooked omelettes were also available. And the coffee was good as well!
If you do need to eat something at lunch there is a lunch menu on offer or other places to try along the beach. Little supermarket (out the front of hotel and straight on until just past the camping ground) sells fresh fruit, cakes, bread etc we used this a few times for lunch snacks.
The journey: it took a while to get there...flight, then taxi transfer to ferry with cases going on the coach, 45 min wait in a cafe on the sea front 50 mins on ferry, 30min cab with luggage retrieved from the coach at the port in thassos. But all went smoothly and we did book this hotel cause we wanted to go somewhere away from it all!
If you want a holiday where there is nothing to do except spend time with each other, read, eat good food,drink and sit in the sun then you will definitely enjoy this hotel. The staff were all excellent and could not be faulted - every one was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. This was the best holiday !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good location on a magnificent beach. Staff friendly. Authentic Greek restaurants nearby. Clever Eco sewage treatment filtered via a reed bed that passes through the middle of the hotel grounds...doesn't smell. Excellent breakfast available from 8am to 12 noon. This is topped up continuously and never allowed to become tired. Fantastic breads.
My wife paid for a plunge pool room with sun loungers These were in the shade every daylight hour.(overshadowed by a block of rooms).
The round bath was not in the bathroom, but in the room itself. Usual blurb about towel use/saving water in the room, yet this bath had a 5 foot diameter at the narrowest point. The bath was also dangerous to climb out of...less mobile guests would have great difficulty.
The bed was also round...quite a novelty.... but this was as hard as Thassos marble and my legs kept sliding over the edge.

Room Tip: Avoid room 706 and most plunge pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the alexandra boutique hotel last two weeks in sept
Food fantastic both at night 5 course meal and a fantastic breakfast including champagne some mornings
Come here if you want to chill out and relax which is what we did
Only downside pools looked great but were freezing hardly saw anyone in them
Thassos closes down last week in September so the resort was very quiet last week of sept

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013 . booked this hotel for a surprise birthday trip for husband. He needed to relax and relax he did. He loved it.
It did take most of the day to travel, but it was part of the holiday, with excellent travel arrangements by Thomsons. Everything on time and ran like clock work. We had a private taxi to the ferry, with time for a drink in between and a lovely ferry trip across the lake to thassos.then another private taxi to the hotel.
We had a private villa, with our own outside area, with a small private jaccuzi / pool. Really nice just for the two of you. (Very romantic) Just a small few yards from the sandy beach, so nice with mats placed for walking on to the beach.lovely beach sandy and blue water, and warm. Lovely views, with beach beds. Very clean beach, just a few pebbles not much to talk about.
Our room had a huge square bath, too big to even fill, a round bed and a kitchenette for tea and coffee making facilities or if you wanted to cook a snack. Very different to what we were expecting. really blew us away.
the outside views were kept beautiful,and a lot of attention to detail even in the evening with candles and white muslin cloths draped across the sunbeds.
The facilities in hotel reception staff very friendly, greeted us and was there 24hrs for any needs. Even when we left we we personally seen off by the hotel management..
the restaurant staff very attentive and the food was excellent. Could not fault the food at all.So much choice. The only down side was that even though they had a piano they had no piano player. So no evening entertainment to talk of. And the bar drinks a bit pricey. some guests found outside entertainment /bars etc. but we decided to sit just relax on sofas in bar area. Very good for couples. Would come again.

Room Tip: Suite rooms villa rooms with private pool , so relaxing and comfortable and private. Felt very perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Alexandra Boutique for our honeymoon, and we were lucky enough to get half board for just an extra £3 for the fortnight!
The 5 course evening meal, served from 7pm is normally €40, and is superb, if not a little too much to handle every night.
Men must wear long trousers in the restaurant each evening, something that is not mentioned in the Thompson brochure or on the website at the time of booking.
The service in the restaurant cannot be faulted in any way, and Gregory looked after us fantasticallŷ each evening that we dined there.
We booked a suite and were shown to a lovely room just across from the main hotel (502), we had a slight view of the sea, but mainly overlooked the 2nd pool area and spa entrance.
We were upgraded to a private plunge pool room after 1 week (room 705), which was also excellent, although the pool and loungers did not get any sun until later in the afternoon.
The beach is just a 2 minute walk away, lovely clean fine sand, crystal clear warm sea, hardly any hawkers, but the sunbeds could do with renewing in my opinion, they were very uncomfortable, and we resorted to buying an inflatable LILO to put on the beds to make more comfortable.

There are plenty of restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes walk of the hotel, Envalion and Vigli were 2 of our favorites.

House wine in the hotel started at €15 per bottle, but found that other drinks were quite expensive, if not immaculately served!

The main pool area has several 'floating' double mattress sun-decks, which were mostly always empty during our stay, maybe because the beach was so good, or the pool water was several degrees cooler than the sea?

A few points that would make the Alexandra absolutely faultless , without complaining, would be to have a full length mirror in the bedrooms, more hanging hooks in the bathrooms for robes/towels and new sunbeds on the beach.

I would definatly not hesitate to visit the Alexandra again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra golden boutique from 1st to 15th September. Do not read the negative reports, they are all positive. Well done to Thompsons for the very smooth travel arrangements.Just time for a glass of wine in the sunshine while waiting for the ferry to transport us to Thassos. Very smooth crossing and taxi waiting for us to take us to the hotel. We did upgrade to a full sea view room (309) which was well worth it. Lovely upstairs room with a good sea view. We had a lovely warm welcome from reception. We were looked after for two weeks by tremendous staff who would bend over backwards to help.Constantina certainly runs the hotel like clockwork. I can't praise the staff enough and feel that I have to mention George who works in the beach bar.He smiles from morning to night and really made our holiday. Nothing was a trouble to him. The beach was lovely and the water beautifully clear.

We stayed bed and breakfast. We ate some evening meals in the hotel which were really beautifully presented and of the highest quality. There are numerous places to eat outside of the hotel. I would recommend Enavlion where we went several times.

Don't worry about the weather in early September, it was beautiful averaging about 27degrees. We were worried as we had been told that it could be cold being northern Greece.We did have a storm one evening and a little cloud at times.

All in all a very restful holiday, don't come here if you are looking for nightlife. would certainly recommend Thassos.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra charge for a sea view.Request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.