We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Golden Beach 64004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach
Rainford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra golden boutique from 1st to 15th September. Do not read the negative reports, they are all positive. Well done to Thompsons for the very smooth travel arrangements.Just time for a glass of wine in the sunshine while waiting for the ferry to transport us to Thassos. Very smooth crossing and taxi waiting for us to take us to the hotel. We did upgrade to a full sea view room (309) which was well worth it. Lovely upstairs room with a good sea view. We had a lovely warm welcome from reception. We were looked after for two weeks by tremendous staff who would bend over backwards to help.Constantina certainly runs the hotel like clockwork. I can't praise the staff enough and feel that I have to mention George who works in the beach bar.He smiles from morning to night and really made our holiday. Nothing was a trouble to him. The beach was lovely and the water beautifully clear.

We stayed bed and breakfast. We ate some evening meals in the hotel which were really beautifully presented and of the highest quality. There are numerous places to eat outside of the hotel. I would recommend Enavlion where we went several times.

Don't worry about the weather in early September, it was beautiful averaging about 27degrees. We were worried as we had been told that it could be cold being northern Greece.We did have a storm one evening and a little cloud at times.

All in all a very restful holiday, don't come here if you are looking for nightlife. would certainly recommend Thassos.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra charge for a sea view.Request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
99
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed early September 2013, 7 days half-board.
The hotel has a fabulous location, 30 seconds from the beach. The beach is really nice, soft sands, clear water and just a few pretty pebbles here and there. The beach is well maintained with no rubbish to be seen when we walked up and down it.
The hotel is maintained very well and looks amazing, especially at night when they light storm lanterns. The pools are spotless.
The staff are all very helpful and polite. The rooms are well specced and towels are changed frequently through the day.
Food is great, we struggled to eat the 5 course dinner every night and had to skip some courses, just too much food for us in one sitting. Breakfast is varied and well stocked.

Everything was top notch so I'll just list the small negatives:
The small Gym is poor, the cardio equipment is creaky and mostly broken.
The tv had no english channels at all.
My wife had a spa session (hot stone massage). She advised it was nice but lacked anything special for the 80 euro cost (no music during the session for example)
A lot of the sunbeds by the beach are starting to fall apart and are quite uncomfortable to use.
Hotel drinks are pricey.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would recommend this boutique hotel based on our experience.

Room Tip: With the pools and the beach a stones throw away i'm not sure rooms with private pools are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel has one of the best locations we've stayed in as its on the best beach in Thassos and also has its own private section on Golden Beach (if ever a beach was ideally located its this one!). Hotel cannot be faulted and is beautifully laid out around original olive trees and has a stream running through it (complete with turtles!). Food excellent -7 course menu had us beat most nights- but gents pack your long trousers. Service very attentive - push a buzzer and there is also waiter service on the beach!

Room Tip: We had a side room -no sea view but with own pool which was useful for cooling down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went for a beach walk one morning and went in to find out if non residents could eat here the staff were very welcoming - you can eat here, dinner was from 7pm - you could eat a la carte or 5 course set dinner and you didn't have to book (it was August.too) the only request was gents wear long trousers. We went a few nights later, dinner was lovely a memorable meal in a lovely setting with super attentive staff yes it was expensive 40€ a head and wine cheapest was 15€ a bottle but we really enjoyed our evening it was an experience the meal was superb I had lamb as a main and it was beautiful it was a real treat and although we were non residents we were made very welcome a completely different to the beach side tavernas and other restaurants at Golden Beach enjoyed our special treat very much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rarely visit the same place twice but loved our holiday at the Alexandra Golden Boutique so much that we decided to return this year - a brilliant decision!!
We had such a warm welcome that we felt relaxed as soon as we set foot inside the hotel. A lovely touch was a bottle of wine welcoming us back, we were very touched by this.
The hotel is so peaceful with every member of staff making sure that your holiday is perfect. The adults only policy is a major factor of our decision to stay at The Alexandra Boutique, this means that you are able to enjoy hotel and beach in peace.
This year a new addition is a beach bar, we spent time relaxing here every day with drinks and/or lunch - the club sandwich is fantastic! Breakfast is wonderful and is served from 8-12 with a varied choice every day. we always ate at 8am and loved the quiet start to our day.
Every area of the hotel is spotless and luxurious, cleaners and maintenance staff do a wonderful job.
I would like to make special mention of George - what a wonderful young man, an asset to the hotel! Also Katerina, so friendly and efficient.
This year we had two couples' massages and I highly recommend this- absolutely gorgeous.
There are a number of restaurants both in Golden Beach and in Skala Potamia. Our favourites were Playa d'Oro, Finikas, Green Sea and Karambousa.
Skala Potamia is a bit busier than Golden Beach if you prefer this.

We hired a jeep for 2 days, this is worth doing. Highlights of our days were -

- a visit to Kastro to see the House of Bones - also visit the only taverna for an interesting chat with Kostas
- a relaxing afternoon at Agios Iannis Beach with a delicious lunch at the beach bar. This is a gorgeous cove with beautiful clear water
- Thassos town including a visit to Costis the potter- this is a must do, he has some gorgeous pieces, all hand made in the pottery

The Thomson's rep was James. Welcome meetings are often rather tedious affairs but James did an excellent job. We were very impressed with his local knowledge and he was so helpful, leaving a little tip for enhancing your holiday most days at reception.

We may break the habit of a lifetime and return again next next year!!!
Well done Alexandra Boutique - absolutely first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra Golden middle of May 2013 for my husband's birthday. It was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. All the staff work so hard to make your holiday wonderful - and it truly was. We stayed in a sea view room and yes the rooms are not massive but they are not tiny by any means. They were immaculately cleaned every day which is what matters.

The al a carte food was amazing. So delicious. Cooked to perfection. I skipped the soup most days as the portions are huge and this was no problem to arrange. At breakfast you had plenty of choice from cooked food, fruit, cold meats and cereal etc. You must try the fresh omlettes they were so fluffy and yummy!

The location is heavenly. Beautiful and peaceful. There are more restaurants and bars a bit further down the beach if you like things a bit livelier. The beach has a section reserved just for guests meaning no children therefore was soooo relaxing. We loved the pool are too. Plenty of sunbeds and the staff bring your drinks to you.

The staff really make the Alexandra Golden. We were greeted on the steps on arrival and they spoilt my husband for his birthday. We enjoyed a couples massage which was very relaxing and not that expensive. I highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back. 5/5 every time.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at beginning of July and having come last year were worried that it may not be as good. However, our worries were in vain as we had a fabulous stay and although there had been some changes of staff, the service was as friendly and efficient as ever. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone, from the Receptionists, Corinna & Alex to the Maids and maintenance men.
As last year the travel arrangements worked like clockwork and it was lovely to have a taxi rather than sitting on a coach with various pick up points. The rep, James was accessible and helpful. we hired a car for a day which was great and enabled us to sample more of the Island although we were quite happy lounging on the beach where there was always a welcome breeze. The pools are very clean and never busy so no problem with sunbeds and everywhere is so peaceful especially with no children around!
We had room 605 which was lovely and overlooked one of the pools. Good size, although should be noted the standard rooms booked through Thomsons described as Junior Suites are not suites but just a decent size room. There is a fridge, kettle with teas & coffee and a decent size balcony with comfortable table and chairs, ideal for a drink before dinner.
The food as last time was AMAZING. We got a special deal and stayed half board and enjoyed every single dinner. The chef is so imaginative and we had a different menu every night for 2 weeks. Apparently they have had a few complaints that it is too Greek! Unbelievable if that is the case. If you want chips or potatoes with every meal then you will be disappointed but for good quality, fine dining this is the place to be. The service by Gregory & Simos is great and this year they have Yannis to meet & greet, a very competent team.The wines are fairly priced too and we enjoyed the House white at 15 euros a bottle.
Breakfast too was great with an amazing choice. I think I read a review where someone said they got bored with them. I cannot understand this as there is everything you could possibly want, cereals with extra dried fruits & nuts, different breads, hot foods such as omelette, fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms, pancakes made to order, fresh fruit platter, yoghurts, ham, salad, cheeses. Tea & coffee is brought to your table so no queuing at machines and champagne every other day.
If you enjoy peace & quiet, excellent service, lovely beach & pools this is the place for you. If you want entertainment every night and chips with your meal, go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms 307-312 face the sea, out from the hotel. 604-606 also have good seaview and overlook pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.