We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Golden Beach 64004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from the most amazing holiday. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel so welcome. The reception staff on arrival were very friendly. When we were shown to our room we were extremely happy, our private pool was much bigger than expected and came in very useful after a very hot morning at the beautiful beach. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent, I couldn't fault anything and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We are already looking into returning next year. A special mention has to go to the hotel manager, she is lovely, so attentive to all her guests. She even took the time out to take some photos for us one evening.

We can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: Room with own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
132
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drunen, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of days in this wonderful hotel. Hotel and hotel grounds are very well maintained, the private beach with service is great but it is first and foremost the more than friendly, competent staff that makes this hotel a real pleasure to stay at.
From the warm welcome at reception, the attentive service by restaurant and bar personnel, housekeeping and maintenance staff this hotel ticks all the boxes for a great, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week's half board holiday to celebrate my birthday at Alexandra Golden Beach Boutique Hotel. We would reiterate all the recent reviews - from being greeted at the hotel as we got out of our taxi, to being accompanied to our taxi to the airport all the staff were excellent. On arrival in our room we were met with a wonderful birthday cake, courtesy of the hotel management. The location is terrific, the beach is very close and our routine quickly become beach in the morning, lounge by our pool in the afternoon, walk alomg the beach for drink and then back for evening meal. If there was one thing we'd change its the huge quantity of food we were presented with on the fixed menu. We don't usually ever return to the same hotel again, but with this hotel we will definitely make an exception. This is great place to relax, unwind and recharge the baterries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Alexandra Golden Boutique hotel having spent a week there half board .The whole experience from being collected from the airport to departure was excellent.
Upon arrival my wife actually did a happy jig she was so impressed with the hotel and its fantastic surroundings. The staff are so friendly/ helpful/ and just nice people . special mention must go to the receptionists Carina and Alexandra nothing was too much trouble for them. The food can be a little overwhelming 5 courses every evening , however the quality was fantastic we just skipped a few courses. If you fancy a change of scenery in the evening there are loads of nice local bars and Tavernas , (Stefarnos 200m away is very friendly)
Overall a lovely place to spend a week or two we shall be back .

Room Tip: sea views are lovely , and you can hear the waves at night !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here in 2011 for 10 days and loved it so much we returned in Sept 2012 for a fortnight.
The hotel staff are beyond friendly and are very good at their jobs.
The food was gorgeous although we found the breakfast got slightly boring after two weeks.
We went half board the first time but we didn't on our return visit as we wanted to eat out at different places more.... we are really glad we did!
Try eating out at the local tavernas, they really are amazing!! The 'wedding cake' restaurant/hotel was AMAZING.
And the local kebab place down the road was brilliant.
The rooms are cleaned twice daily, although one night we had to have our room debugged as it was swarming with horrible flying ants!! Not nice.... but it was quickly taken care of.
The pool area is gorgeous, and most days we would have the whole pool to ourselves.
One criticism would be that there isn't much going on in the hotel in the evening, and you tend to find yourselves at a bit of a loose end!
Also, the wasps at breakfast are a real pain if you are going in late August beginning of September!
We loved the fact it is adults only - meaning you can have a really relaxing holiday withought screaming kids jumping around the pool!
Visit Scala Potamia for a night out - it has some great bars - one called QUEEN BEE , really good music and excellent service.
Overall - this hotel is brilliant, I wouldn't have any quarms recommending it to friends and family.
And we would love to return if we get the chance in a couple of years time if the reviews stay glowing!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you read the reviews of this hotel you get the impression that it is paradise and by Greek standards it is. It's a lovely hotel, which is spotless and the service from the waiters, chefs, maids and reception staff is second to none. The quality of the food is also excellent. As it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a grand suite for 4 nights with its own pool and then moved to a bungalow with its own plunge pool for the rest of our holiday, all for no extra charge. Very nice touch by the management so thank you. Having no kids screaming around the place also made the place relaxed and gave it a touch of poshness, if I dare say it. Not a lot to do in the hotel at night other than to sit and drink a few cocktails and chat to other guests, an occasional guest singer/piano player which was nice, but then there are also some nearby tavernas etc to go and entertain yourself at.

Outside of the hotel is okay but not the best Greek experience in my opinion. Going left or right to the resort took you to the tavernas and beaches, but some areas had a touch of holiday park feel in places, eg: dodgem rides and stalls in Skala Potamia. Also a fenced off camp site about 400yds away never impacted on our holiday experience but may put some off. It was full of Romanians and Bulgarians when we were there, followed by a bikers weekend festival at the end of our stay, which to be fair was the first time they had one of those on the island, but best be aware if it is to be repeated in the future..

The island itself is lovely and green and fairly low key. Didn't seem to have the mad buzz about it like some other Greek islands! We hired a car for a few days to get around and stopped off at some remote beaches to have a swim etc. We also caught the local bus to the island's capital to do a bit of shopping and see some mountain villages as it passed through etc (2 euros each way...bargain). Singing with the local school kids on the bus was fun! The trips on offer were good fun too and gave you a chance to experience the island also, eg; Zeus boat trip and the Jeep safari.

I have travelled around Greece a lot and I would say that if you want luxury, peace, quiet, excellent service and cuisine, then this hotel is hard to beat. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra Golden Boutique 16-23 September and celebrated a wedding anniversary while we were there. It is certainly not a cheap option - the price is similar to a week in the Caribbean really at approximately £1,000 - but it is a lovely hotel with great staff and you do feel genuinely spoilt when staying there.

The Thomson taxi transfers are very good, well organised and get your holiday off to a good start. Reception at the hotel excellent, smiling faces and any query sorted out. The hotel itself is immaculate, quite designer style and spacious - we loved the set up.

Our room was number 308 with full sea view, worth requesting rooms 307 - 312 (?) if you have booked a basic Junior Suite - which reminds me the suite is actually a largish hotel room, nicely done, but only a room not a suite. Thes rooms come with a good sized balcony for sitting out on and get full sun from early morning to early/mid afternoon.

We went half board as we were not sure how many tavernas would be open in late season, there were some but Thassos is definitely winding down for the winter by the third week in September. We were happy with our choice of half board as the food was terrific, although large portions. Some people did skip a course as the 5 courses could be daunting for some. Overall the half board option was extremely good value for money.

Breakfast served until 12 noon - wonderful, no need to rush.

Beach is great by the hotel, nice sand, lots of loungers and all very relaxing. A buzzer by your lounger to press for drinks orders which are then brought down to the beach for you - talk about being pampered.

One minor niggle - the shower flooding the bathroom floor, just needs a better screen or the existing screen made watertight. If the management are reading this, please look at this over the winter, it would make all the difference. The bed was also a bit hard for me but not for my husband - apparently the Greeks like a firm bed.

Yes there are wasps about in September, they are smaller ones and less angry than the wasps at home, but if you have a phobia about them you would have a problem.

Finally we will return, this hotel ticked most of the boxes for us, and we went home wishing we could have stayed another week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.