We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thumbs up for thassos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anastasia Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anastasia Studios
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Golden Beach, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Golden Beach B&B and Inns
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“thumbs up for thassos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just come back from 2 weeks at the Anastasia studios w/c 2/9/2012 ,1st time in Thassos. Journey to the apartments no real problems ,short coach trip from airport (10 mins) then the ferry goes on the hour so short wait off the coach and then the ferry took about 35 mins to cross to Thassos town ,we went to the air conditioned part of the ferry had a beer & chilled ,pick up the coach again & after 30 min trip arrived at the apartments no problem. with a warm welcome from the hosts shown to our room.The room is basic & clean ,the only moan with the room was no real work surface to prepare food ,you have a sink with a drainer & you use the drainer as the work surface,bathroom is a wet room so take the toilet rolls out before you shower ! None of these problems were major & we adapted & made it work. The room has a kettle,toaster and air con & safe which had a cost ,but we didn't need the air con & i didn't feel the need for the safe .we didn't have a bad meal all holiday so try the tavernas that look nice to you. The beach is at the bottom of the street and sunbeds for hire for the day at 5 euros for 2. A trip to definatley go on is the 4 village tour on the local land train very good value for 11 euros for a days trip.we hired a scooter for a couple of days & was the best fun ever & a good way to see the island it cost me between 20-25 euros including insur ! be aware though you can only get 3rd party insur so i was extra careful on the bike but i must say the greek divers were very considerate & careful .there was 1 disappointment we wanted to take the water taxi to Thassos town which goes just once a day ! at 4.30 pm we went to catch it but it never turned up ! so we caught the bus instead 2 euros . thassos town is good for shopping & has a nice harbour we had a lovely meal in Simi taverna watching the sun go down,buses stop at about 6pm so we got a taxi back which cost 17 euros.One thing to mention is at around 7pm (sept) the sun went behind the mountains it suddenly becomes cool & sometimes specially if there was a breeze off the sea you could do with a cardie or something like that.all in all we had a wonderful hol & would recommend these apartments & golden beach resort. PS Dimitris BBQ is great.

Room Tip: on late summer hols ladies pack a shawl or something ,nights can sometimes be a bit little bit chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Anastasia Studios several times. It is perfect for us. It's usually August when we visit and very hot so the 2 minute walk to the lovely beach is ideal. The studios are clean with the usual simple Greek kitchenette. Very reasonably priced beach tavernas are within a short stroll. A couple of our favourites are The Green Sea (towards Skala Potamia), Fedra (Golden Beach) but there's so much choice. Go to Viglis in Golden Beach for the fantastic view over the bay and the 60/70s music/dance night on Fridays can be fun. This area is quiet, has a fantastic beach and simple beach tavernas so it's perfect is all you want is a relaxing easy going holiday. The buses are easy to use (buy your tickets in the local shop before travelling) and although there are some other great beaches in Thassos, we like this one the best. The nearby mountain village of Panagia is worth a visit. Ignore the Tripadvisor picture as this isn't the Anastasia (needs changing)! See travellers' pictures for views of these studios.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a really friendly welcome at the Anastasia Studios, which are situated in a great position, a very short walk to the best section of Golden Beach, down a good path from the upmarket Alexandra Golden Beach Hotel across the road. Here on the beach the sunbeds are looked after by the father of the owner and cost €5 for two beds an an umbrella for the whole day. The sea here is beautiful and clear and the sand lovely. A nice stroll along the beach towards Skala Potamia brings you to great restaurants for lunch overlooking the beach, in particular the Green Sea which was our favourite. At first glance the apartment seemed in need of some refurbishment, but there was everything we needed, the beds were comfortable and we soon felt very at home. Most importantly the room was kept spotlessly clean. The lovely modern bar area at the studios was great and nice for an after dinner drink as there aren't many bars around - we ended up playing cards there which was fun but not exactly wild! This is a quiet area but perfect for a totally relaxing beach holiday. Skala Potamia is busier and a bit more lively, and is an easy short walk away (bring a torch for walking back along the road at night) but we were glad we weren't staying there. The beach there is much busier and more pebbly with sunbeds several rows deep and more kids playing. From your sunbed near the Anastasia you can buy drinks and snacks from passing traders and we both had a massage on our last day which was really excellent. We hired a car for a trip around the island one day which I am glad we did, we loved Skala Marion and visited Theologus and stopped at Aliki and Paradise beaches, but we still thought that the section of Golden Beach close to the Anastasia was the best. The sea was gentle and a lovely temperature, great for a game of frisbee. There are watersports such as paragliding and bananaboat rides at the far northern end of the beach but these didn't interfere with our relaxation at all - we were just aware of them on the horizon. Overall, the perfect place the read, relax and eat some good food. A bit of refurbishment inside the rooms wouldn't go amiss, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from a fortnights holiday at this great little hotel , found it to be in a fantastic location cloce to the beach and a wide selection of Tavernas.

It is a family run hotel and the owners Anastasias and Dimitris we found can not do enough for you to make your holiday as memorable as possible.

The Island and resort impressed us so mush we are just off into town to book again for next year !! We have never ever returned to the same place before , but we really do feel like we have found heaven on earth.

This is the jewel in the crown, the real deal !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a nice week's stay at these studios. We were allocated the ground floor studio at the front so no privacy at all on the patio area and no view. Self catering is very basic and one of the hob switches was stuck and cudnt be turned. Bathroom and toilet is a wetroom and hazard for falls for those not used to wet tiled floors. NO SWIMMING POOL strongly suggest tripadvisor to remove the misleading picture.

On the positive, comfy beds and very clean room with daily maid service and linen change midweek. Dmitris is a great host and pulled off a fantastic BBQ. But what makes the property worthwhile is its proximity to one of the best stretches of the Golden Beach which is only 100 mts away. It is the quitest stretch as there is a 5 star boutique hotel opp studios. The beach gets very busy on either end as there are loads of locals and eastern european tourists, the bit in the middle near anastasia is very quiet.

Would stay again but for the fact that a higher floor room or sea view room is not guaranteed. Would have given it 3 stars but just for location deserves an extra star.

Room Tip: As suggested rooms at the back and sea view rooms would be best to make most of this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our second visit to these lovely studios. Excellent location, simple but clean rooms, bed a little firm, typically greek. Special mention to the lovely cleaning lady who works very hard). Dimitri and his family are the most friendly and helpful hosts. George (Dimitri's father I think) often gave us gifts of tomatoes, cucumber and figs, delicious and most appreciated. BBQ every Friday night - lovely food cooked by Dimitri. It was a nice way to meet fellow guests/friends, (hello to Phill and Wendy,Corinne and Trevor and Eric and Sheila - hope to see you again some day at the Anastasia).

Spent almost everyday at the beach, weather was fantastic. Ate at Finikas and Playa D Oro in Golden beach (Finikas was the better of the two), Kramboulos in Scala Potamia (very busy and had enormous portions of delicious traditional greek fare), Elena in Panagia (very tasty roast chicken and lamb on the spit - good value). Excellent pastry shop in Panagia on the corner opposite Elena's.

Fabulous location, accommodation, hosts, weather and food - just what we needed!

Cannot fault this little gem in Golden Beach and will be back to this corner of paradise soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at side are quieter and have sea view from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

First of all I need to say that these apartments do not have a swimming pool as the picture on Tripadvisor shows, but they are so close to the beach that one is not needed, and these are self catering, not B&B, that is the Anastasia which is in Skala Potamia, but the other photos on Tripadvisor are the correct ones for Anastasia Chrissie Amouda, Golden Beach and which is in Thomsons / First Choice. The beach is gently shelving, even 30 metres out it was still only up to my waist, and after the first few feet of pebbles, it is just sand underfeet. The Anastasia are between Skala Panagia and Skala Potamia, one can be walked to in 10 minutes and there is a little fun train that takes you to the other in the evening for 4 euros return, and they do a 4 village trip for 11 euros, brilliant day out. There is only one row of sunbeds on the beach so not overly crowded, but even in the first week of August there were always empty ones, unlike both ends of the bay which are busy. This part of the bay is the quietest, there are sand dunes to cross to get to the beach whereas there are bars and loud music at both ends of the bay up to the waterfront. The sea water is beautifully clear and warm. Most weather reports for Thassos say that it doesn't get as hot as other Greek Island, being the most northerly, but it was 44 degrees for a number of days, even the 2 minute thunderstorm didn't help much, only jumping into the sea every half hour did the trick until it cooled slightly in the evening.
The owners at the Anastasia are brilliant, have a drink at the bar in the evening and you also get melon and sometimes ice cream as well off Demetrios. His father, George, is on the beach and takes the money for the sunbeds, 4 euros, and also comes to the Anastasia to hand out tomatoes that he has grown.
The whole area is typical Greek, not at all touristy. The favourite form of transport seems to be to hire a quadbike, and as there is only one main road that runs all around the Island of Thassos it is hard to get lost.
Back to the Anastasia. These apartments face the sun, so you will need to pay for air-con, which, at 5 euros a day if half of what I've paid at other Greek apartments. There are only 15 apartments in all which was great as everyone got to know each other. There is a sunscreen to draw across to keep the wasps out and they have screens that you wind down to keep the sun out totally when you go out. The landing and the side landing on the left both have irons and ironing boards and masses of books to exchange. The beds were comfortable and the whole apartment block was really clean. The only downside was that there was no real worktop in the kitchen as the 2 electric rings were next to the draining board top, but as we only had toast and cornflakes for breakfast this wasn't a problem, especially as eating out was so cheap. My average Greek meal with a drink cost only 9 euros, and I had budgetted for my usual 20 euros a night. There are several tavernas in the close vicinity and each one is excellent.
A lovely holiday made all the better for having such lovely, helpful hosts.

Room Tip: Top floor facing east have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anastasia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Studios

Address: Golden Beach, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Golden Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Anastasia Studios 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anastasia Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anastasia Studios to your Saves list