We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hotel Which is Raised to Something Else by its' Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Bay

Save Saved
You added Thomas Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomas Bay
Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Agios Stefanos
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“An Average Hotel Which is Raised to Something Else by its' Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Thomas Bay for a week before a cruise. For the price paid, we hadn't any complaints. We had a room overlooking the pool (314) which seemed to be more spacious than most of the others, the bed was very clean and comfortable.The only negatives from my perspective were the plastic runners on the stairs. They need re-affixing and are a trip hazard. The food was pretty much as described as other reviewers, but was completely edible. The whole place, especially the pool and garden area was immaculately clean. OK, it was definitely 3 star, but the enthusiasm, hard work and good humour of all the staff raises this little hotel to something a bit special and it's obviously a place where many people want to return time and time again, which speaks volumes.

Room Tip: Rooms above the main lounge area are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    63
    43
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
167
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After completing a week on a cruise we were ready for a quiet week. It certainly was that. The pool was delightful, very clean and a big shallow area, ideal if you are not confident in deep water.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Waiting staff great. Good English spoken by all. Evening entertainment.. 2 quizzes, 2 lots of bingo and 2 lots of karaoke and 1 live band playing 1950s to 1970 s in a week. Shame it was billed for 10 pm but didn't start until 10.20.
Accommodation ok, paid extra for air con which was too cold and you couldn't change it so had to turn it off and then on again. Public areas were too hot in the evening, (35 deg day temp whilst we were there) not all fans were operating.
Food was ok but would class as tourist menu. Nice it was all waiter served. Large portions.. Breakfast toast /bread jam and either yogurt or fruit salad. We paid for full English on last day €2.50 extra but wish I had ordered egg on toast. BBQ on Thursday night by the pool, nice touch.
Beach good, small resort, felt safe.
Awful journey from airport, lots of Hairpin bends with sheer drops!
Had lunch at Athena hotel, sea view and shade. Grumpy man with his children being very good waiters, however good pizza, burgers and tuna salad, and Amstel, good prices too.
Sky sports on in reception and free wifi.
Would we go again? Probably not as everyday was the same, could have done with some relief from sunbathing..a game of boules on the beach or darts would have appealed to many I think.
But, a great week to recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: Not on the front, some tribute bands in the bars played til 1 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just been on hectic cruise for a week then second week went to the thomos bay. Very welcoming staff, one big happy family. Most of the people who were in the hotel had been there many times. It's perfect for some one who is unable to walk far has you don't need to everything is close by, and they have some rooms perfect for them too. Thank you for a very nice stay the food was very nice always tasty and made fresh sometimes the choice was not much to select from but not a problem to us.

The rooms are spacious and very clean the atmosphere is great and the staff are very helpful great pool.

The carrot cake is to die for, and the barbecue was very good.

Will be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side sometimes on the front can be a bit noisy from the late bars across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff are brilliant and are so enthusiastic considering they work such long hours! They are friendly and helpful and always greet you with a smile and chat. The hotel itself is pretty basic, as said in previous reviews the choices for breakfast are very limited and the dinner is basic. The food in the local restaurants is cheap enough to eat out every night. The room was big and cleaned everyday and the bedding and towels were changed regularly. The shower was lovely, hot and powerful but the shower curtain stuck to you and the bathroom was always flooded after having a shower. The hotel is quite close to the beach and there are nearby restaurants and bars but it is a relatively quiet area. The hotel has evening entertainment including karaoke, bingo and quizzes which isn't to everyone's taste. Overall a lovely clean friendly hotel, just a shame the food lets it down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although officially a 3T my wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The accommodation was adequate but spotlessly clean, cleaned daily. Towels and bedding changed every 3rd day.
All of the staff from reception to the bar and restaurant were extremely courteous and friendly.
Watch out for Christos in the restaurant.... wicked sense of humour. Food was fine if a little repetitive. Great atmosphere every evening with local entertainment and in house. Pool and pool area again spotlessly clean and plenty of seating and sunbeds.
Our first visit to Corfu but a repeat not out of the question as we enjoyed it so much. We were in room 311 situated over the veranda at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am genuinely shocked and disappointed to see that as far back as 2009 this hotel was getting the same review that I am giving it and it is still being offered by Thomson?! Equally there have been no changes made by the hotel to rectify the issues mentioned.
Firstly I will start with the very limited positives. The restaurant waiters and the bar staff are very friendly, efficient and attentive. They all work incredibly long hours and yet always turn up to work with a smile. They really do save the hotel and I am sorry because the review is not a reflection on their hard work. The exterior of the hotel, i.e. seating area out front and pool area are very well maintained – if only this carried through into the rest of the hotel.
Where to begin on the negatives? Upon arriving at the hotel, while myself and my boyfriend were first in the queue to check in the ‘regulars’ were given preference and looked after before us. We were shown to a room on the lower floor which was something akin to a hostel room. We asked to change rooms as when booking we had requested a second floor room and this was greeted with a hesitant, disgruntled response. Eventually we were begrudgingly given a room on the second floor which was marginally better. Neither rooms had a double bed and numerous times when we sat down onto the beds there was a loud bang as the planks of wood on which the beds rest fell away –this will happen as they are not nailed down! The bathroom was similar to a paddling pool after each shower, it was have been as effective to shower without the curtains as the bathroom was soaked either way. There were no fridges in the rooms which was disappointing also.
Next onto the hidden charges! We were extremely disappointed to learn upon arrival that air conditioning cost ‘only’ 5euro per day. Only! We were staying for two weeks and had not factored this into our finances. Equally we were told that breakfast could be ’upgraded’ to a full breakfast (i.e. one sausage, two rashers (cremated), beans and two oil drenched fried eggs) for only 2.50E. Aside from the fact we were staying two weeks and this would be costly for a couple we were under the strange illusion that having booked half board a full breakfast would be offered to us. This is shameful on behave of the hotel and Thomson to allow this money making fiasco to continue and not alert customers before their stay.
And so to the food....Having stayed in a similar cost hotel in another Greek island on a half board basis we were expecting an extensive buffet for breakfast....no such luck. You could order either: a small bowl of fruit (tinned fruit cocktail with a miniscule amount of fresh apple on a good day!) or yogurt with honey or cornflakes drenched in milk (as most people are seemingly incapable of allocating themselves milk). This was accompanied by a cup of tea or coffee and per couple, two slices of white bread which had briefly seen a toaster and two rolls. I have already outlined the perks of ‘upgrading’ to a full breakfast. For dinner you were given a choice of three starters, five mains and about eight desserts (which never changed). The main courses were rather suspiciously always drowned in sauce of some kind, which upon closer inspection of the meat was in an attempt to disguise the dubious colour of the low quality meat. We would have loved more variety and a more Greek feel to our food but the reality was the food was being produced on mass and at speed and attention was not paid to presentation or unfortunately quality. Equally we had always finished our starter by the time our drinks arrived as this was the pace at which the food was churned out.
A word of warning! If you are booking trips with the Thomson rep – don’t bother. We experienced a mixture of misinformation regarding travelling times for trips and pick up times and this really isn’t acceptable for the amount of money you pay for the trips.
Bearing all this in mind I can’t understand how all this low quality, low budget experience has gone unnoticed by the regulars who are continuing to give the hotel rave reviews. I can only assume it is because the group we saw spent most of the time at the bar. If you want a hotel with finesse, comfort and attention to detail this is not for you. Equally the large groups of regulars make for incredibly noisy, ill mannered neighbours. Thomson, for your promises to ‘listen to your customers’ this is clearly not happening when the problems I have mentioned are listed in a review from 2009. I now understand why regulars are looked after because clearly new customers aren’t valued in the slightest.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floor at all costs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just got back from Thomas Bay. This was our 16th time at the hotel. We always find the all the staff friendly and helpful. Christos the head waiter is a great laugh and very witty always willing to get you whatever you want . If you want egg on toast, boiled eggs or even a fry up instead of the continental breakfast you can but you do have to pay for it. Dinner is 3 courses with 3 different things on each course and always big portions. but if you don't like what's on the menu they will get you something else. Nico the head waiter and the other bar staff are equally as helpful. Heather and Eileen the receptionists are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are basic but as you only sleep in there it's all you need. We always ask for a room facing the pool. We always have a brilliant time and will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, when you book ask for rooms over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thomas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bay

Address: Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Thomas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Bay Hotel Corfu
Thomas Bay Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.