We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the food but relaxing!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thomas Bay to your Saves list
Thomas Bay
Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“shame about the food but relaxing!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just arrived back october 2012 with partner. The resort is for older people who want to relax and get abit of sun. Very nice and clean hotel sheets were changed every two days. the last review said it all in a handfull. The dissapointment about the hotel was there were signs up do not used the towels in the bathroom for the floors but after having a shower the floors are wet and dangerous so we have no choice but to use them. Had to keep begging for soap no shower gel fridge kettle ect in room Not much english talking tv channels for you to watch. What can I say about breakfast We paid for half board through thomsons (shame on you thomsons) and got two slice of toast, cheap rubbery cornflakes bowl of fruit and a cup of tea were they used their hands and gave you one tea bag if we wanted a full breakfast we had to pay another £2.50 more could not belive it! it was the same thing every morning dinner was quite fulling but the same desert every evening. The food all tasted cheap and low budget like they were bugeting. I came back thinner than anything and it suppose to be a break away. The drinks ect was expensisive we drank out staff always walk around and watch you to see if you are bringing any food/drink from outside especially nico. Staff was nice enough and gave false smiles like they had too. Be careful what you do in your room or carry the cleaners report everything to the managers and reception we got one towel cleaner reported it and they wanted us to pay for the towel (erm they suppose to be dirty!!!) Sorry I went there it was boring especially for the poor old dears. It was a very quiet resort the beaches were lovely no good shops around so we caught the bus to sidari (30 min) and corfu town centre (one and half min) which had good shops bus stops outside the hotel fares are cheap around three euros. Overall I went to greece it took two and a half hours to get to hotel from the airport we were exhausted but one thing i must give them they gave us dinner when we arrived late around eleven at night thanks but you wont be seeing us there again.

Room Tip: pool and front veiw is good. Its not cheap there you can see that the greeks are stuggling the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    73
    43
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
186
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Returned three days ago after a lovely relaxing week.
From meeting Heather on reception to leaving to come home we found all the staff very helpful and friendly.The rooms and public areas were always spotlessly clean.
The standard breakfast is simple but enough to give a start to the day. Snacks are available all day and the evening meals tend to follow a Greek trend but are very large and tasty.The kitchen would prepare something different if the menu was not to your liking.
There was always sun beds available at any time of the day - maybe in high season there may be more demand, but the hotel was almost full during our stay.
The area is brilliant for walks and getting lost discovering new places.The beach is very good with a place to go "skinny dipping" if you have a mind to walk to the far right end.
There was some form of entertainment every evening albeit Quizz or Karaoke. Best of all it is a Child free hotel and thats priceless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York england
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived after weeks cruise, Heather on reception was most helpful and gave immediate help re complaints regarding luggage from the cruise. The hotel is lovely and clean, staff throughout are most helpful and with a smile. The staff also are very efficient both in the bar and dining room. Overall the food is good, with a decent choice. Breakfast is standard continental but for 2.5 euros you can get a full english if you want. they also had a deal as the hotel was half board, there was an offer of 55 euros for any five days in the week to have lunch consisting of most items on the menu plus a glass of wine and a beer. The swimming pool is very clean although the sunbeds seem to be right on top, space was a bit limited. The beach was a 5 min walk and is great, the sea was so warm for september. There are obviously a lot of people there who go back many times. You will always get a warm reception and we had a great time
We had a room overlooking the hotel & there was a bar directly opposite with music, if you go to bed early (but why would you) expect a bit of noise, but it closes down at midnight. A very enjoyable and relaxing week, hotel entertainment was ok

Room Tip: Rooms over the entrance get the noise from the bars across the road so if you want quiet ask for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Thomas bay hotel review - go b&b not half board

Location very good, centre of town. Can bs a little noisy if your are in a room in the front of the hotel. 4/5

Rooms are excellent, daily clean and twice weekly linen change. The house keeping staff even tidy my shoes into row!! Only downside no fridge, so keeping things cold is diff. Very clean clearly staff take a lot pf pride in the hotel. 5/5

Staff very friendly and genuine, they seem to warm up to you during your stay. Great personalities all staff lovely!!4/5

Food is very basic. Thomson must be paying the Thomas bay hotel very little as the food is dire and is different from food served to paying customers  Did not enjoy the meals very much at all. Veg tends to be tinned, nice potatoes, rice overcooked or hard and the main dish. I suffer from allergy to white bread and had to buy my own bread for breakfast! The food really let's the whole hotel down.1/5
Despite the staffs attitude and lovely nature, the food is generally crap and the dinning experience is some what interrupted in the form of a flat screen tv in centre focal point of the dinning room, normally playing the news in the morning and skysports news at night - not all English love football!!! 

One morning we found in our (tinned) fresh fruit salad foil and another evening my wife choked on cling film in her Greek salad. 

my advise would be to go for the chicken shish kabab and greek salad and avoid eating there any other nights!! Had water melon one had ants in and was very warm. Nice touch a side order of ant!!!

I would love to invite a food critic to eat as a guest at Thomas bay hotel!!!!!

Food will make you choke and make u want to be sick!!!
 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel and absolutely loved it. Its clean, pleasant and right in the middle of the village. The staff are a good laugh and very polite, Aris, Stefanos, Nikos and Nikos were great, we even went out drinking with them after hours and found our Greek dialect hilarious... Cant recomend this hotel and the perfect village of Ag. Stefanos enough, its a perfect Greek experience for those who havent been to this amazing country

Room Tip: We had a balcony overlooking the main street which is pretty quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Thomas Bay on the recommendation of a family member who has stayed several times and we weren't disappointed. It may only be a 3 star hotel with clean and basic rooms but it is definately above average with helpful, friendly staff who go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay (Heather and Irene on main reception are particularly welcoming). The food was fine, nothing was too much of a problem catering for a vegetarian (me!) and the restaurant staff were very cheerful. The whole place had a relaxed feel about it and whilst the resort itself is small and quiet, it was exactly what we needed before winter begins (not sure it really ended mind you). We are seriously considering visiting again next year with more family members. Definately a little gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

had agreat time at this hotel staff very friendly with a lot of guests who come back year after year n ot four star but comfotable and an amazining beach down the road will def go back, food at breakast was a bit boring but you could pay a tiny bit extra for an omlette or english breakfast,evening meal was very good with different choice every night .the pool is brilliant with plenty of loungers you can hire towels if you dont want to take them .

Room Tip: not on ground leval opposite dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bay

Address: Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thomas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Bay Hotel Corfu
Thomas Bay Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.