We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no problem and why not?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nafsika Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nafsika Hotel to your Saves list
Nafsika Hotel
Agios Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
leeds england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“no problem and why not?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

if only all hotels had the attitude of this one speros the owner and his family and staff can literally not do enough for you.
their philosophy is simple look after the guests like family feed them the best food you can all organic and fresh local produce, downed with reasonable priced good quality wine in spotless surroundings knowing whatever you ask however busy they may be their reply will always be either no problem or why not?
though after many visits to this hotel we look forward to our stay whatever time of year we go our holiday will be made so much better by the true affection these lovely greek people show in their welcome to us.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    27
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
89
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Nafsika hotel is an extremely friendly and fun. A must visit if you come to Corfu. The food is the best around try there dish of the day always a winner. Book up and see for your self.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We were looking for a small friendly typically Greek hotel for a relaxing week's holiday. We found exactly that and much more at the Nafsica.
Like every body else we found the food excellent. We usually book bed and breakfast so we can be selective as to where to have our evening meals. We had planned to eat elsewhere if necessary but there was absolutely no need. We didn't want to miss out on Theodora's home cooking.
As for waiting for breakfast, the only time we had to wait (and that wasn't long ) was if we ordered something cooked, but what would you expect for freshly cooked food!
Vangelis,George and Chris were always cheerful and friendly (even with toothache - hope it's better George!). Nothing was too much trouble. As for Speros - During the evening meal he was attentive to everyones needs as well as ensuring a smooth operation and stopping for conversation when he could. At the end of the evening he was good company at the bar chatting into the small hours.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, towels changed every other day and always hot water. We had no complaints.
San Stefanos is quiet but not dead. Wander around the centre but make sure you go a bit further towards the beach to find the Nafsica, you wont be disappointed

  • Liked — greek food and hospitality
  • Disliked — leaving to come home
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bbrighton Sussex England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed at the Nafsika for the first time in June 2007, booked this hotel after reading all the reviews, to be honest did not expect it to live up to expectations, due to the very reasonable cost, but were we surprised, from the moment we stepped off the coach.

The luggage was taken from us and transported to our room, we had time to freshen up, then Speros the owner went through his speech, informing us how the hotel operates, all very friendly and informal.
As the day progressed things got better and better, the staff were just so friendly and helpful.

The highlight of the day was dinner, in a lovely setting, looking at the sunset over the sea, the menu arrived we were spoilt for choice, and unusually for a couple of euros extra the choice was even wider.
When the food arrived, we were again amazed by the quality, all the food is fresh and home cooked by Theodora (Speros's mum) the flavours just blew me away, I like to try tradditional Greek recipes, whilst on holiday but this was something else, this lady is a serious artist in the kitchen.
This is our seventh different Greek Island holiday, and I must say I have never tasted food this good anywhere.
Couple this with the friendliest service you will ever find in Greece and you feel you have hit the jackpot, Theodora, Speros, Vangelis, George, Chris, the barstaff, and even the cleaning lady conjour up a certain kind of magic that you would hard pressed to find in a five star hotel.
The resort of San Stephanos is relaxed, and very very pretty, something for everyone, we will be going back.

  • Liked — Theodora's cooking and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed at the Nafsica after reading several, mainly excellent, reports about it. We were not disappointed! We were met by Spiros the owner, and our luggage was immediately taken to our room. From then on he remembered our Christian names and used them for the whole fortnight. We soon felt as though we were friends and not just guests. On occasion he appeared to be a 'moody' Greek but pre-occupied was a fairer description I think. He was always pleasant and sociable with us. Where else have you been where the owner of the hotel bought you a drink, and on more than one occasion too! The rest of the staff were equally as friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble for them. The half board option worked very well. There was always a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses plus salad and dessert and if there wasn't enough choice on that menu, for a few euros more you could order anything off the a la carte menu. We never felt the need to do that. Theodora's cooking was traditionally Greek but every meal was delicious. Most days we returned at lunchtime and had our lunch there as well. The hotel had a rustic charm to it! The bedrooms were quite basic but comfortable. The bathroom was fine but the shower had a mind of it's own! Sometimes it would vary from cold to scaldingly hot within seconds. No thermostatic valves here! Dangerous for young children. My opinion was that both the bedroom and bathroom could do with a good 'bottoming' and this was at the start of the season too. The pool area was always very clean with plenty of sun beds and shades no matter what time of day you chose to use it. The bar area was very pleasant and comfortable and the prices were very reasonable. Eg a Metaxa brandy or an ouzo and lemonade were priced 2 euros. A litre carafe of very gluggable wine in the dining room was 7 euros. The position of the hotel was excellent, just across a quiet road to the beach and 100 metres to the supermarket. The main drag was a few minutes walk away. You could go to bed at night assured of a good night's sleep, no noise with the patio doors shut or just the noise of the sea with them open. Beware of the mozzies! On one night, several of us ladies with bare legs got quite a few bites. Insect repellent a must! San Stefanos is a lovely, quiet resort with some wonderful walks and stunning scenery. Would we go back? You bet! Would we recommend it? Definitely, if you want somewhere that is still traditionally Greek with a charm of it's own

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere and excellent food
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Nafsica. As per some previous reviewers, we chose this hotel on the strength of previous recommendations on various sites.
We were not disappointed. The hotel 'does what it says on the tin'!
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was available and the maid service was first class.The pool was just right. Plenty of sunbeds and quiet enough for us.
The food was so good that we never eat anywhere else. Don't think that is because we are unadventurous. We have visited places in Greece more than 30 times in 20 years and have eaten in back street grocery/coffee shops in the mountains of Crete to the 5 star hotels of Rhodes. Theodoras cooking stands with the best if you want to taste Greek food as it should be - simple, geniune and the best of local and fresh ingredients combined into a variety of dishes to suit all tastes. If you stay elsewhere in San Stefano, leave the 'bright lights' behind and take the short stroll to Nafsica. It's worth it and the prices for food and drink are the best in town.
Speros and his staff are more than friendly but do not impose if you wish to stay on your own. I am not one of those people who want to be part of the 'in crowd' at the bar or the pool and Nafsica was just right for us. We will return to Nafsica, as many others do, but not at the expense of missing out on all the different places yet to explore in Greece.
San Stefano has a great beach and good walks in the hills around but when you return to Nafsica you will get great food, good service and a warm welcome.
Thanks again to Speros, Vangelis, Chris, George and Carolina.

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

I have read the reviews commenting on Speros, the owner of the Nafsika. We have been to the Nafsika twice and I do partly understand what everyone is hinting at. Speros does speak to some people more than others but I honestly believe it is because so many people return and have become friends. He is ever watchful of the hotel, always checking, always on alert, always making sure everything runs smoothly. No Mean Task when the restaurant is absolutely full to bursting with not only residents but lots of others too! He told us he devised the hotel menu intending to include everything on the ordinary menu at some time over the fortnight, not as a two tier system but one that works best for residents too The food is consistently fabulous.was. I asked him once what Theodora's special pudding was - he told me she had not made it for a while. Two nights later he came and said Theodora's pudding was now on! That was the action of a caring and thoughtful host, trying to do his best and BOY WHAT A PUDDING! Speros is less 'flamboyant' than Vangelis, Costas and George (some of his waiters) and can appear aloof but take the time to get to know him. Or look at the way the hotel is run, feel the ambience, experience how comfortable you feel; then you realise just what a good job Speros does and why the Nafsika gets repeatedly fantastic reviews. The proof is in the pudding - fantastic traditional piece of Greek heaven!

  • Liked — the friendliness, cleanliness, location and fantastic food
  • Disliked — the shower cubicle
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nafsika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nafsika Hotel

Address: Agios Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you choose to stay at Hotel Nafsika you're choosing to stay in a charming, family-run hotel that enjoys a wonderful location. But that's not all. It also offers up a locally renowned Greek taverna (restaurant) and a level of service that will make you feel like a member of the family in no time at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Nafsika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nafsika Hotel Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nafsika Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.