We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2013 at the Hotel Nafsika” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nafsika Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nafsika Hotel to your Saves list
Nafsika Hotel
Agios Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Easter 2013 at the Hotel Nafsika”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a week at the hotel and we had a lovely holiday, enjoying the Easter celebrations which included parades; bands; pot smashing and candlelit vigils (oh .. and delicious suckling pig!.) We were returning after a few years and noted the improvements to this small family run and friendly hotel made since our last visit. Speros, the owner/manager was welcoming, kind and accommodating - even ferrying guests to Avliotes for the local events. He was an informative and entertaining host. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed lovely, well cooked food and great company. The early season was a good time to visit this beautiful island and the Nafsika provided a good base for us to explore it.

Room Tip: Sea view option recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    27
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
89
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm a bit late in posting this review .... a few years late actually. But I wanted to now add my voice and review to all the others posted here. (The webpage demanded that I select a date of visiting - it was before the earliest option - but I had to pick a date or else the review would not get accepted).
This hotel is just lovely ... friendly, welcoming with excellent service from staff who remember your name .. and not to forget the wonderful home cooked food that you'll get served here.
My friend and I ended up here (thankfully) after being taken to a god-awful place in Aspro Kavos right down south in Corfu. Fortunately, my friend knew of Speros and his hotel ..... the rest, as they say, is history.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

near beach waiter service breakfast and dinner lazy lunches by a well stocked pool bar with views of the blue sea, and nothing too much trouble for the owners, who remember your name, yes its a bit like family with the friendly atmosphere and smiles as broad as a face allows, you feel good and you feel well, you eat traditional greek food and you can laze or travel the area great location for the north of the island, love the place choose sea view , open the french windows and wake up to the sound of the sea gently lapping the sand and snooze for another hour, return you will.

Room Tip: hire a car and visit the area dont forget to visit the harbour and church a gentle walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel May 2012 and cannot recommend it enough. I am amazed at some of the comments about Speros. I found him a charming and helpful man.
The Nafsica hotel is a gem. Completely Greek, wonderful food and exceptional staff...... a true Greek taverna, not modern or plush but homely, comfortable and a wonderful Greek retreat.
I am returning June of this year and truly cannot wait.

Room Tip: Rooms are adequate and well aimtained, Best rooms have a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I come to this hotel twice a year and absolutely love it. There is a lovely family atmosphere, delightful staff and delicious Greek food. It is so lovely to have traditional Greek dishes , all freshly cooked rather than bland, nondescript food which does not have a national character. Speros who owns and manages the hotel is lovely, he has a wicked sense of humour and speaks perfect English. I always come away feeling refreshed and rested, a great little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKTON ON TEES
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our first time in Corfu the wife and I,decided to opt for the Nafsica this due to percentage of positive reviews which have been posted.
On arrival our first impression was one of disappointment,one can only make comparisons with family run hotels which we have previously visited in the Greek Islands,all things considered the Nafsica seemed rather dog eared,however,the general standard of hygiene was acceptable and most of the decore issues can be resolved with a good clean and repaint,regardless of our observations we proceeded to go about the daily pleasure of enjoying our vacation and to our delight we discovered some of the best people we have encountered both staying guests and staff alike,as the days went by the atmosphere and ambience of the place began to effect our jaundiced eye and changed our initial point of view.
As mentioned in previous reviews the evening meal on the half board is offered at a pricing point and is very good,a wider choice from the set menu is offered at a suppliment which we never tried due to the good standard which we already received, the exception being the breakfast which was rather poor in content,but as we are not big breakfast people this made no negative impact on our personal preference,the breakfast waiter Stefanos burns as he blisters as he bursts with charisma and enthusiasm for your holiday expectation and life in general,love the guy and wish him well,this sentiment also includes all of the staff who displayed a natural aptitude for hospitality a virtue rarely witnessed in the hotel trade in my opinion.The guests which patronise the Nafsica seem to be like minded and are attracted to the sleepy laid back atmosphere which San Stefanos delivers with easy charm,every body interacts regardless of status and we personally found all to be well mannered and agreeable a big thank you to Bob and Sheila from Essex we enjoyed your company and vehicular tour of the island.
In summary,The Nafsica is probably representative of the standard in San Stefanos the resort and surrounding area is very pleasant indeed,calm and relaxing with its golden wide beaches and shore side cafes one can forget the mediocre humdrum of every day life and let the world rotate in your absence,would we return to the Nafsica no, but we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just back from a great holiday at the Nafsika hotel in San Stefanos village. Superb location close to the beach. Very hot for time of year and was great for walks on the beach and in the sea.

The accommodation was typically Greek with double bed, bathroom with shower cubicle and balcony.

We stayed on a half board basis and after reading previous reviews (food being repeated and small portions) thought we might eat out a couple of time during our stay! Well we ate in every night with only one night having the dessert as to full after a choice of three starters, a salad then a choice of three main dishes, there is always an option of something from the main menu at a very small charge.
I suffered from a bit of gout during my stay and Spiros the owner was only to happy to cook me something not on the menu which would be better for me, most evenings we had wine and we left it to Spiros to chose it depending on our choice of food. The wine list varied from €8-€30 and we where never given a bottle over €16.

As both myself and my wife have visited Corfu over the last twenty five years or more we have a soft spot for San Stefanos which was only reassured by staying at the Nafsika. Spiros was a superb host along with all the hard working staff. Stefanos at breakfast was superb and always had a smile and joke for you as well as always making sure everything was ok.
In the evening Chris and Billy where excellent in the restaurant always attentive and nothing was a problem, Patritsia behind the bar was lovely and always had time for a chat.

The rooms where kept clean by Elena who done a superb job, not only in the rooms but through out the hotel, overall the hotel was superb with it still retaining the feel of going to a traditional Greek taverna every night.

We met some great people there ( Terry & Carrol, David & June ) and hope to see them again.

Would we recommend this hotel to others? Well yes if you like traditional Greek food, accommodation, superb location and friendly staff then the nafsika is a top choice, If you want five star luxury or large hotel canteen food then this won't be for you, if you've never been to Greece and are looking for the getting hard to find traditional way of life then the Nafsika is a superb choice.

Many thanks to Spiros and all the team and hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 and 10-14 are see view rooms but at the time we stayed did not get the sun, we stayed in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nafsika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nafsika Hotel

Address: Agios Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you choose to stay at Hotel Nafsika you're choosing to stay in a charming, family-run hotel that enjoys a wonderful location. But that's not all. It also offers up a locally renowned Greek taverna (restaurant) and a level of service that will make you feel like a member of the family in no time at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Nafsika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nafsika Hotel Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nafsika Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.