We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapetanios Apartments
Save
You added Kapetanios Apartments to your Saves list
Agios Stefanos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just got back from corfu. well maintained apartments but basic,very clean with room service every day . Bar staff .Spiros top class man and would do everything and anything for you, welcomed us in and enjoyed the time spent at the pool. night time Yannis took over who is just as welcoming but felt guilty when walking past bar to go somewhere else. have eaten here ten years ago and food was outstanding, but disappointed with the food this time as very basic and some guests said they were microwave meals. meal cost from 3 euro's to 10 euros but found you get more for your money in the town( little prince..t bone steak 8 euros..also have greek dancing every night). cheaper to eat out than to buy food.butter 3 euros, milk 2 euro's etc.
owner of kaps very helpful at first helped us with shopping bags but never spoke again just walked past you like a grumpy old man. others said same as well.
would we go back.yes but when the kids are grown up as not much for them to do.

Room Tip: make sure you don't have mobility problems because hills will wear you out. hire a car for 25 e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent apartments. I read alot of reviews saying the walk was horrendous up/down hill - (coming from someone tat will jump in their car to go to the supermarket that is a 10 min walk) I found both the walk up and walk down fine (with or with heels/booze). Views are lovely from the pool and the staff are lovely and friendly. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for the last week of the season (late Oct 2012) with Thomas Cook. All those comments about the super friendly staff are spot on. My husband had lengthy chats each morning (whilst I slept on!) about the Greek economy, the impact of the economic crisis, the Greek way of life, he 9and hence I!) learnt a lot about the island. All those comments about how friendly the staff are made me wonder if it could be genuine but it really was.
The hotel is simple, clean, well run; the 2 bed suites are very spacious. As already mentioned, the ones in a separate block are not so good because they feel a bit isolated from the hotel and the dog noise in the night is awful. We got moved to a different room after the first night with no fuss. This also had a better bathroom and kitchen (2 fridges!).
Overall I couldn't speak highly enough of the place. Food was nice too, and we are quite fussy.
It must be said that anyone who doesn't like dogs had better pick a different resort, my first trip to a Greek island so I don't know if they're all like this. They were friendly but they were everywhere. Didn't bother us except for their rowdiness at night, roaming in cheery packs and scrapping, but if you really don't like dogs it would have bothered you I think. Oddly no dog poop anywhere which was good!

Room Tip: Main hotel not separate block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this place as we were not expecting too much to be honest.

We were dissappointed with our original room when we arrived on the Monday, but we were told that we could move as soon as another room was available by the manager Thassos. True to his word he did this and our second room No 21 was much, much better.

The view of San Stefanos from the pool area is great and we spent many hours lounging around it chilling out and talking to other guests, in the end we had quite a little community after a couple of days.

We ate at Zorbas nearly everynight and met up with many guests from the Kapetanios as we had told them how great Zorbas was. We also met many guests from Romanza which is up the very top of the hill. A good time was enjoyed by all, especially the restaurants last night of the season which had Greek dancing arranged by Pavlos and his staff. A big thank you to all who made this such a brilliant night.

San Stefanos is a lovely place to go if you want to chill out, so if you want night clubs its probably not for you. Relaxation and good food is what you will find here and some really lovely people and fabulous views and sunsets.

A word of warning if you are not as mobile as we are, you may struggle with the hill to the hotel, so you may need to hire a car, also mosquitos are a real big problem here so bring the usual sprays (with deet) etc as its very expensive to buy locally. We never usually get bitten, but were here so be warned.

We had a couple of BBQ's at the Kapetanios arranged by the manager Thassos and helped by Dominic which were superb and for 5 euro a head a bargain, the second one was hysterical as we had a massive downpour halfway through, which resulted in nearly everyone ending up in the pool.....Brilliant!!

We did find the drinks in the bar to be more expensive than anywhere else, so we drank elsewhere, either at the Condor or Thomas Bay Hotel which surprisingly were cheaper.

Room Tip: There are older style rooms which we had originally which are small and a bit dated, their is a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week in these apartments, rooms are very clean and maid comes in every day, The place was very quiet as the resorts start to shut down for the season towards the end of October, but Yannis at night and Dominis during the day on the bar kept everyone entertained, also the bar food is very good and Yannis makes a fab cocktail, just a 5 minite walk to a lovely beach and some very good resturants in the village as well, a lot of them were shut but we would recomend Condors, the owner and his wife and son are very nice people, also had a great meal at Ozzie Oil, will go back to Kapetanios

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks self catering holiday in these apartments. What can we say, it was fantastic and we will definately be returning. The apartments are basic but exceptionally clean. The maid came into the apartments every day to do general cleaning and changed the bedding and towels every other day. The staff (Dom and Yannis) made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Going in September was the ideal place to relax and the weather was hot!!!! The resort its self was lovely and there was no overcrowding on the beaches, plenty of room between the sunbeds. There is plenty of choice to eat and I can honestly say we never had a bad meal. The Little Prince, Beachcomber and Zorbas are definatley worth a visit. Then maybe a visit to Condors to end your night with a little entertainment. Overall it was a fabulous resort/holiday and we will defiantley be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend booked the Kapetanios quite late on a cheap deal through Thomas Cook so we were expecting basic but we weren't worried as-long as it was clean and we had air con.

Well we arrived in Corfu (flight went very smooth) hopped on the transfer coach went through some resorts such as Sidari that we were very glad we weren't staying at (very British crowd; egg & chips, karaoke, go-carts etc) and we finally got to Agios Stafanos (or San Stef as most people call it) it did take ages on the coach due to the route the tour operator choose (about just over 2 hours transfer from the airport) but we were so pleased when we arrived.

There is an old block as-well as two new blocks and sods law we were in the old block; yes it was very dated and our balcony looked over the apartment owners house but it was spotlessly clean and our air con and safety deposit box for the week only cost 45 euro which we thought was very reasonable. There were a couple of issues with our room the shower (usual Greek style with a curtain that doesn't fit and that floods the whole bathroom) went from hot to cold to blasting out to next to no water, there wasn't very much lighting in the bedroom (especially by the dressing table) so I had to make sure I put my make up on before the sunset so I could see what I was doing and the wooden slates on the beds weren't attached so my boyfriend sat down and almost went through the bed as the slates slide out. But all that said it was fine on the plus side we'd only paid for a studio and we got an apartment.

The owner and Yiannis and Dominic who work the bar are lovely and can't do enough for you they really made us feel at home (Dominic used to work in a coffee bar and makes fantastic frappe, cappuccino & black coffees). The pool area is big with plenty of sunbeds (fabric ones not those hard plastic things), it has big trees so there's shady and sunny areas and again the pool is really clean. The food at Kapetanios was really good and great value for money (the homemade burger is huge!) we vegged around the pool during the day and eat lunch at the Kapetanios for the whole week (very lazy I know).

Cost wise the hotel and the area were extremely cheap we came back with euros left over; on average an evening meal in town (two starters, two mains, half a litre of the local wine and a big bottle of water) was 30 euro.

Restaurants we tried over our 7 night stay; Ozzie Oil, Minstrals, Beachcombers Bistro, 2 Star, Olympia and Zorbas. We would definitely recommend Ozzie Oil (food is a fusion of Ozzie & Greek cooking and is absolutely delicious) but you will need to book as it gets really busy (just pop in and see the owner to book a table), Olympic was also really good (local sausage is fab), Beachcombers Bistro was nice (if a little pretentious) but good food, Minstrels was ok but I wouldn't recommend 2 Star or Zorbas (food was average nothing special).

Bar wise we mainly went to Bar 38 Yiannis behind the bar is lovely and a real laugh ... then we tended to go back to Kapetanios and drink in the hotel bar with other guests and Yiannis (good times).

We went to the beach which is huge with fine soft sand though the sea does get a bit rough; we were advised to be careful of the under current as this can get a bit strong and a couple of people had drowned this season. In relation to the beach you will hear Kapetanios referred to being up "cardiac hill" it's a tiny hill and you're in town in no-time unless you have health or walking problems you'll have no issues with the hill (little tip if you're going to the beach look out for the sign for Havana Beach Bar on the way down the hill you can cut down to the beach this way save walking all the way into town).

We had a great holiday at Kapetanios we normally hire a car and go out exploring but we were happy to just relax around the hotel pool reading and swimming (which isn't like us) and i think says a lot about what a nice place the hotel is. We met some lovely people at the hotel who have been coming year after year and that also speaks volumes. We have been travelling to the Greek Islands for years and have stayed in various accommodation but we would highly recommend Kapetanios!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapetanios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Apartments

Address: Agios Stefanos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kapetanios Apartments Hotel Agios Stefanos Nw
Kapetanios Apartments Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.