We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and clean,,,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapetanios Apartments
Save
You added Kapetanios Apartments to your Saves list
Agios Stefanos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely and clean,,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

we have just returned from a week staying here...it is a lovely ,clean and well kept place..rooms cleaned every day..clean towels etc...the only thing i didnt like were the beds...very hard but thats what you get in greece!
the road or hill up to the apartments can get a bit tiresome in the heat but by day 3 we got used to it,,we just took our time and gazed at the sea view!!!! lovely ...
we went at a quiet time so we had the pool all to ourselves some days...the pool bar serves food all day which we had and we didnt have a bad one.....the staff were lovely especially fiona who started at 4pm...we had chats every day.....just a lovely place and would go back!

Room Tip: email the apts and ask for a sea view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I visited these apartments for two weeks in the school holidays in 2010. We had a two bed apartment for 5, however the 5th bed was a converting chair-bed in the kitchen. Luckily as my children were 4 and 5 at the bed was ideal for them, however don’t expect the bed to be of real use to anyone older than 10! We moved it into the 2nd bedroom as there was plenty of space.

The apartments are bright and very spacious with a very good bedroom. Although the kitchen is very large don’t expect to do much cooking in there.... The facilities are basic to say the least, which was a very big disappointment and not what we expected from a Thomas Cook accommodation (though I notice they have been moved to the slightly more basic Manos partner brochure now). There was a very basic work top oven with 2 rings and that was it. OK for toast, boiling up a bit of pasta and maybe grilling cheese on toast but that’s it! We ended up eating out most of the time as preparing a meal for 5 was pretty much impossible. The pans were the cheapest you could buy and no food preparation bowls or oven proof ware. Cutlery was equally poor.
That said we had a pleasant balcony with views over the bay. The air-conditioning was very effective, but I think we paid at least an extra £50/week for the privilege. The bedroom were well equipped and spacious, though the beds were rock hard.
The whole place was immaculately clean and spotless with apartments cleaned on a daily basis and I cannot fault the cleanliness of the place.

The swimming pool was equally clean and very well appointed, and the bar open all day serving food and drinks at a reasonable price. We ate here a few times and it was acceptable, although some items like chicken burgers were pre-formed, processed junk and best avoided. Things like omelettes and Greek salads were lovely though.
The location is up a very steep hill and not for those with any degree of physical walking impairment. The beach can be reached within 5 mins, but this is down a very steep beach path, with questionable handrails and uneven steps. Agios Stefanos, or San Stefanos as it is also known is an odd place. It’s been hit heavily by the recession and there are a number of closed shops and restaurants in the centre which isn’t very attractive. The overall quality of food in the resort is also dire, except for a few notable exceptions such as Ozzie Oil and Town Pizza and the two local “Gyros” (kebab) shops. I remember getting served tinned chicken meat at “The Little Prince” restaurant – need I say anymore!! Also worth a visit is the bar at the top of the high street, with regular cover acts – bit tacky but very busy and good for a laugh. My family loved it and we saw “Abba” “Robbie Williams” and “lady gaga” whilst were there. Also family friendly so the kids had a great time staying up late and watching the live music! Shop around for breakfast too if that’s your inclination – full English can be had for 4euro with tea/coffee.

I don’t quite get, what others see in San Stef – it’s a bit rundown, the restaurants are very average in general. The beach is lovely, with some great beach bars, but the sea is quite wild and appears to have a strong undercurrent. Even my teenage step son struggled in it and he’s a proficient swimmer. There is nothing there that would compel me to return unless I got a cheapo last minute holiday. There are a lot of other nicer resorts in Greece, but San Stef is OK if your expectations are not too high!

The rep Jasmine was very irritating. We are very quiet people so found her intrusive style quite offensive. When sat quietly having adrink she asked us if something was wrong because we weren't loud and bawdy.

On a final note, dont book your trips through the Thomas cook/Manos. Opposite the bottom of the high street, next to Tasty Corner (also a v good cocktail bar next to this!) is a very good local travel agent (San Stef travel I think) It's fronted by an English girl and they have a good selection of trips at a lower price.

Room Tip: Bring tea/coffee with you - local shops v v pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just returned (20th June 2011) from the Kapetanios Apartments and I can honestly state that we were very impressed with the apartment, the apartment complex overall, the lovely owners, fantastic Fiona (running the bar) and the laziest, loveliest dog in Corfu, the charming Robbie.

My wife and I are very well travelled around the Greek Isles, with all the direct flight ones and quite a few flight plus ferry ones to boot, so we are well aware of the range of accommodation. There was nothing more we could have required from our accommodation at the Kapetanios, it was excellently equipped, spotlessly clean, roomy, masses of hangers (wife made me add this for all you ladies !) and the bathroom would put 4 and 5 star hotels to shame.

Everyone we met from the owners and thier two daughters, the lovely Fiona in the bar and pleasant maid, were friendly, informative and welcoming. Robbie is a great addition to the team (11 year old sort of English Setterish size) who can be found sleeping in various shady spots around the pool/bar area or off out for a late evening stroll.

The food and drink offered were very good value and I did not find a large beer cheaper anywhere within the resort and within reason, trust me, I did try. The location is 3 mins walk downhill to the start of the main drag of restaurants/shops/bars etc and whilst it is a tad steep, the elevated position and views from the pool area and rooms make it very much worthwhile.

If you have already booked these apartments, rest assured that you won't be dissappointed and if you are thinking of booking them, hopefully this will help your decision one way or another.

We hadn't stayed in either the apartments or Ag Stefanos before, but should we return to this area again we would head back to Kapetanios without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rms 15 to 18 would give great views of Ag Stefanos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel was excellent value for money. The location was perfect for us. We liked being slightly up the hill, the view was fab and the walk was no problem , it helped work off all the delicious food we ate. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. Really liked Manthos, the oldest taverna in San Stefanos.
Good walk to and from the beach too! And what a beach...lovely, nice shallow waters and very clean. We spent some days around the pool when it was windier and that was great too, again very clean as were our rooms. They were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and sheets every other. Great job!
Thanks to Nico behind the bar for all the football chat and banter!! You're still not getting Simon's trainers!!!
All in all a fantastic two weeks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Excellent apartments, very high standard room facilities including Freeview TV.

Room cleaned every day, cleaner was excellent.

Quiet location with pleasant views.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

wonderful holiday.Didnt see much of family owners,but there if needed.Rooms cleaned very well every day,towels and bedding changed every two to three days.Although hotel was full it was veryquiet especialy at night Plenty of sun beds and room around pool.Everywhere was kept spotlessly clean.Thanks to Nikos our friendly barman who kept us entertained.A realpeaceful hotel ideal to recharge your batteries.A steep walk up the hill from the town but helps keep your weight down.All in all a truly lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

best holiday for a long time .the apartment`s was clean,the maid done a great job.Neco be hind the bar spot on,pool, food etc fab. only one bad thing the hill climb from the town back to the apartment`s is no good if you have any walking problem`s .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapetanios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Apartments

Address: Agios Stefanos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kapetanios Apartments Hotel Agios Stefanos Nw
Kapetanios Apartments Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.