We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Santer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Santer to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Santer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alemagnastrasse.4, 39034 Dobbiaco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Dobbiaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This hotel is so physically beautiful and so well planned that I think almost anyone would enjoy staying here. We stayed in the newer building and the room was very large and very comfortable. Inside the door was a vestibule with hooks and a bench for outerwear and shoes, just like coming into your own home. (I love hooks) The hotel thoughtfully provided nice tote bags that came in handy on a trip to the grocery store and to lug our ski boots one day.

One of my favorite things is a toasty warm bathroom in a cold place and the radiant under floor heating always ensured warm feet. Heated towels rack, gorgeous fixtures. (you won't want to leave the bathroom!) The plentiful toiletries were way too strong smelling for my personal liking.

Our room had a nice seating area and a door leading outside to a private table and chairs overlooking the ski center and the mountains. Photos can not really give you a sense of just how great it is, how lovely the views are and how convenient the ski center is. After arriving, we walked over, rented equipment and that was that! We did purchase our trail passes at the hotel during check in; very simple, very convenient, a very good system.

The dining room was lovely and the first course salad bar (salad room!) offered many choices of almost anything you could imagine. The food was very good, again, there was something for everyone and menus changed daily. It was wonderful to have a glass of wine and then not have to worry about driving. One night's menu featured "The Big Cake Buffet," see the photo.

The hotel is 96% perfect and the last few % are mostly me being picky. wifi, hmmn... okay we are used to faster instant everything. The outdoor pool was just warm enough to allow one to be outside in but a lot of it is taken up by an odd bubbling bench along one side so actual swimming isn't possible. Plus, due to its size and popularity, it gets a bit crowded, even more so when the children flock in. The bench gets crowded although I think it is a cultural thing to want to sit in tepid bubbles, warmer than tepid, really, but not super warm.
The indoor pool was deserted; I think because it wasn't quite warm enough to be enticing. (the indoor pool where I swim in winter is kept at home is 83 degrees, so I am more used to that and I do think that is a fairly normal indoor pool temp in the US) One cultural difference that I will never understand is the European penchant for sitting around indoors, in public spaces, in bathing suits, on chaises or circular beds, reading or sitting and being. The rooms surrounding the pool and saunas were always full of people relaxing like this. Lolling. (bemusing)

The following were annoyances: one evening the turndown staff neglected to check the toilet paper and tissue box in the bathroom: both had run out. (should not happen in any hotel but especially not in one of this caliber) Or, the fact that we were not reminded upon check-in that we had paid for "half board", which we did not remember and therefore missed our first dinner, having gone elsewhere for dinner instead. Grievous was their reluctance (outright refusal at first) to accept American Express upon checkout when that had been one of our booking criteria.

However, the place is wonderful and so is the staff. We truly enjoyed our stay so much so that we plan to return.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Landro Lodge (named for lake Landro) are enormous, modern, spacious, comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    43
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
35
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

Our room was excellent--large, comfortable, well maintained, with large bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Food and service were excellent. Great location, especially for cross country skiing, with the Nordic center virtually in their back yard. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchcombe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Superb accommodation. Fabulous food and excellent service.
On top of that a relaxing spa to come back to after a day out cross country skiing!

Access to tracks are right outside the hotel, but bus stop also, so you can travel out by bus and ski back.

Would recommend as a place to stay any time of the year, but only if you want a bit of luxury and some excellent food!

Room Tip: Good to have a room at the back, overlooking the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A beautiful hotel steeped in the Dolomites, with a gorgeous view of the mountains from the outdoor-heated swimming pool and terraces, superb food at the restaurant and an excellent Spa and wellness area with different kinds of sauna and wonderful alpine massages and baths.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay!!

OK, one or two minor annoyances, but easily overcome.

Service: friendly, helpful, attentive throughout, and all too happy to meet our special health related requests

Room: Great! Superb view of the mountains over the Nordic skiing centre. Nice balcony, good bathroom although a bath, rather than a shower, would have been even better.

The hotel is very close indeed to a busy road with some heavy lorries - and motorbikes galore. We asked in advance for a rear room, having seen the photos, but you could still hear the traffic, AND were woken several weekday mornings at 6.40am by chainsaws. But hey, we could have gone somewhere else without these problems and had far worse in every other respect, and ear plugs sorted it! We slept very well indeed!

Dinner: very enjoyable. Being on a special deal it was a fixed four course menu. It helps if you like meat! But they were happy to provide a fish alternative, and the first salad course could be a main meal replacement if none of the other dishes suited! And every dish we had was enjoyed.

Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel of this type in an area like this and there were plenty of sitting areas indoors and out for relaxation with a good ambience.

The Wellness Spa was also good and reasonably priced for the area. Plenty of sunbathing grass and with small indoor and outdoor pools.

The hotel layout is quirky with lots of twists and turns, but accessibility didn't seem to be a problem. Good garage too for parking, although a little pricey.

Breakfast was very good although we never got to the bottom of whether boiled eggs were charged extra or not. We were told they were, 5 Euros an egg, which is ridiculous if true, but then the two we'd had before we learnt that weren't charged for! Good choice of fruit, breads, breakfast meats, salads, jams and drinks, with a waffle station too.

Cleanliness: Perfect.

Location: excellent (unless you don't like the proximity to the road). Absolutely great walk up to and around Dobbiaco Lake. Not too far from the centre of the village either. San Candido and other resorts and Dolomite highlights are all reasonably close by.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room at the back or take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

the room was really big and beautifully arranged, with a small balcony and view towards the mountains. We ate a wonderful dinner at the restaurant - we recommend the venison! The breakfast was extraordinary - a lot of very nice fruit, special cheeses, etc. Everything inside is in a traditional style - it really makes you feel at home (in a really luxurious way). Everyone was nice and helpful. We were especially impressed with the waiters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking for a hotel with easy access to the Dolomiti and thanks to other reviews we selected the Santer Hotel. We were very happy with the Hotel from the moment we arrived. It is traditional in style - lots of wood and traditional in service. Really felt like a family business. As it was low season (may) and unseasonably cold, it wasn't very busy and we were given an upgraded suite. The room was large, the bed comfy and a nice size balconly overlooked the Dolomiti and the outdoor heated spa pool. In addition to a full set of bath towels, our spa needs were also looked after - including a separate towel for the spa, a bathrobe and slippers - to get all this down to the spa area, 2 large tote bags were also in the room. I did want to take one back with me but chickened out in the end.

We weren't sure of our plans so we didn't book the full board option but were told at reception that we were welcome to eat in the ala carte restaurant which had late opening times. Due to a change in plans, we were back earlier than expected so we did eat in the restaurant and it was one of the BEST meals we have ever eaten!! The produce was local, fresh and beautifully cooked and presented. So good that we had to go back the next night as well! We had deer, lamb, chicken, veal, pork, tagliatelle, ravioli, wild mushrooms, chicory, forest berries and would have more if we weren't so stuffed!! The service was friendly and even though I tried to use Italian - they were very happy to translate and even tell us the history of the dishes we selected - including some local ways of serving.

Another added bonus was the wellness area. The outdoor pool turned out to be a pool sized hot tub. It was a treat to be able to lounge about in hot bubbly water while looking out over snow covered mountains. Within the 'chalet style' relaxation area were a little sauna (more in the 'nude' zone but we didn't venture there) and 'hay' bed, a salt inhalation room, a juice bar and lots of beds and loungers. There were 2 different fire places but none were in use in May - it must be a spectacular place to chill out in winter.

We will make every effort to come back to the Hotel Santer - for the sevice, the comfy rooms, the wellness area and most definitely THE FOOD!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Santer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Santer

Address: Alemagnastrasse.4, 39034 Dobbiaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Dobbiaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Dobbiaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Santer 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel Santer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Santer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.