We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Painted Boat

The Restaurant at Painted Boat
12849 Lagoon Road, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Madeira Park
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the resort (which is a great place to stay - definitely recommended) with family visiting from the UK and decided to check out the restaurant with promises of a 'waterfront fine dining experience'. Yes - it was certainly waterfront and an experience but definitely not fine dining. The service was slow despite the restaurant being barely a quarter full, the food when it arrived was lukewarm and the lobster entree was terrible, cold and inedible. Both lobster entrees were sent back.Credit to the server who complied with the request and had the grace to look suitably embarrassed.

Perhaps there was a different chef as we did eat at the restaurant mid-week during the shoulder season. Based on the pricing and menu descriptions I expected far better quality - however the whole experience came across as pretentious and underwhelming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate one dinner there. The dining room is well placed with a view of a small harbour and marina - nothing spectacular but certainly better than a wall of trees. For a large lodge we were surprised that we were the only diners in the place for the entire evening. As such we got pretty good service from the lone server, who was pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable and informative. The chef's signature dish is a lobster dish with half a lobster tail, a claw and lobster tortellini. I had it, and wouldn't recommend it. My wife had the halibut and quite enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fixed prix menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Their winter fixed prix menu is a great deal and is sumptuous. Delicious food and classy presentation. This modern restaurant with deck is on the water with a great view of sunsets. Top notch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I visited the Painted Boat while on a visit to the Sunshine Coast. It is a lovely location and the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even my non-foody husband loved the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I saw some of the reviews in relation to the portion sizes and I don't want to state the obvious, but gourmet food rarely arrives on your plate in large quantities.

We each had an appy - I had the avocado and crab roulade and my husband had the mixed greens and the presentation and taste of both was amazing. The ingredients were clearly fresh and the dressings and drizzles artistic and tasty. For the main, my husband had the halibut and gnocci and I had the lamb loin and ravioli. The lamb was cooked to perfection and my husband really enjoyed the fish.

Dessert for my husband was the chocolate ganache and I opted for the cheese plate. Again - both delicious.

Best of all - hands down - was the service. Patty was warm and friendly, engaging and spot-on in relation to not hovering but giving us enough attention to make us feel cared for.

Is this a place you go and expect a cheap meal? No. Would we go back again? Definitely!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Painted Boat also viewed

Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
 
Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast
Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Restaurant at Painted Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Painted Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.