We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Romano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Real de Catorce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio Romano
Save
You added Refugio Romano to your Saves list
Calle Iturbide No.38, Real de Catorce 78550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Real de Catorce
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was wonderful accommodation for visiting the area. And, if the place wasn't special enough, Luciano is a fabulous cook and we had delightful meals while we stayed. It was absolutely a highlight to sit up on the top deck and watch the town goings. I can say this accommodation was as amazing as the tunnel coming into town! Rooms were very clean, lots of warm blankets in case it got cold at night, and there was a working garden to wander through which I enjoyed. Seeing what could be grown here was great, especially the heritage multi coloured corn. I feel confident recommending this accommodation and I'm also sure that you will enjoy the very interesting proprietors.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had the opportunity to go to Real de Catorce with my gf and we decided to stay with Lucho and his wife, the place is awesome, has a great view and the food is delicious, my gf is vegetarian so it was a very good option. Everything went as expected I also read all the reviews before choosing the place and I'm very happy with the final decision we took as it is as we all describe it, a fantastic eco-hotel. Very very recommendable place to stay if you visit Real de 14.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The owner is a great italian chef! The food was made with fresh ingredients and very tasty. We had pizza, pasta, and for breakfast real honey. The location is also good, not so easy to get, but close to everything. We definitely would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Luciano and his wife have made a wonderful retreat with Refugio Romano. Delicious food, beautiful views, large, clean romos and friendly service! Real de Catorce is a delightful destination, not so easy to get to but worth it. I will definitely return to Refugio Romano. (Pizza and pasta are wonderful!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very cozy and friendly place!
I highly recommend the entire restaurant menu.
Lucio and Mayra produce everything(food) from his own Garden. Very tasty and elaborated Italian food! The home made jelly is a must.
We had a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

You will feel transported as you drive through Real De Catorce and arrive at the Refugio Romano. Nestled on the hillside of this old mining town, this 3 room hotel boasts of Italian warmth, and breathtaking views. Its very quiet and secure, and the owners welcomed our kids and our dogs, making us feel right at home. If you stay, you will enjoy comfy beds, hot showers, lots of space and home-style ammenities. Be sure and enjoy an authentic Italian meal made fresh by the owners during your stay. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a tiny, 3-room hotel, so I would consider it a bed and breakfast.

We had the orange room which was a great size for a family of four. The only "negative" aspect of the hotel is its location. You have to walk a lot if you want to get anywhere. However, its location was a plus for us because the view is amazing. The food was great, too.

You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Romano

Address: Calle Iturbide No.38, Real de Catorce 78550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > Real de Catorce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Real de Catorce
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.